Genentech Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Genentech Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1884 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Genentech CEO Alexander Hardy
Alexander Hardy
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance varies greatly depending on your function or manager(in 109 reviews)

  • "Food isn't free but it is discounted so not much of a con at all, difficult to find non-contract full-time position after internship(in 93 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great to place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bioprocess Technician in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The culture and diversity is what stands out to me. Work hard Play hard!

    Cons

    Commute can be expensive and parking can be an issue.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of loyal and dedicated employees.

    Genentech2019-06-25
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Genentech full-time

      Pros

      Treats employees great and awesome benefits

      Cons

      somewhat silo and hard to move to different parts of the company

      Genentech2019-06-20
    • "Good place to start your career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Financial Analyst 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Genentech full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Reporting managers are very active and involved especially when having difficulties with other teams; senior FAs are mostly very nice people who are very productive and easy to work with.

      Cons

      treat the contract workers equally in terms of some very basic benefits, such as free shuttle and department events. Increase FT headcount.

      Genentech2019-06-17
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great benefits. Enjoyed the teams I worked with. Met a lot of great people.

      Cons

      Lots of layers of process

      Genentech2019-06-13
    • "Great company to work, too many layers for decision making"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Scientist 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Genentech full-time

      Pros

      Science driven, eager to incorporate cutting-edge technology

      Cons

      Poor management, too many layers for decision making

      Genentech2019-06-06

      Genentech Response

      June 19, 2019Sr. Client Strategist

      Great to hear your appreciation! We are working hard to nurture and evolve our culture and are happy to hear your experience overall was positive. It’s important to us that our people feel inspired and passionate about their work. Thank you again for your review!

    • "Great perks, poor management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Contract Logistics Coordinator in South San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great Benefits, Great perks ( gym onsite), flexable work hours

      Cons

      Management, politics, lay offs, parking,

      Genentech2019-06-20
    • "Great, complex work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Corporate Counsel in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Time and resources to fully explore complex important issues. Great, smart colleagues to bounce ideas off of.

      Cons

      Flat organization with no room for advancement.

      Advice to Management

      Pay attention to the quality of line management.

      Genentech2019-06-01

      Genentech Response

      June 18, 2019Sr. Client Strategist

      Thank you for your comments! We agree that Genentech is full of incredible, talented people and are glad that was your experience as well. We strive to hire and engage awesome people throughout our company. We want our employees to be heard, challenged, and inspired every day. Thanks ...

      Show More
    • "I worked there more than 7 years"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Associate Scientist 

        I worked at Genentech full-time

        Pros

        Very talent team, and supportive co-workers

        Cons

        not clear about how a decision was made

        Genentech2019-06-02
      • "Great company, great culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at Genentech full-time

        Pros

        Great company that still maintains great culture and work/life balance despite pressures to integrate with Swiss parent Roche

        Cons

        Integration with Roche has led some senior leaders to leave in lieu of being based out of Switzerland

        Genentech2019-05-21

        Genentech Response

        June 21, 2019Sr. Client Strategist

        Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Great to hear the positive input around integrating into the Roche Group. Since our founding, our culture has been a critical part of our DNA and always will be. Although some changes have occurred since the merger, we’ll never forget where we began ...

        Show More
      • "Great culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Technical Manager in San Mateo, CA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Opportunities for growth, work life balance

        Cons

        Loosing focus, talent retention is poor

        Genentech2019-05-21
      Found 1884 reviews