FirstPort Reviews

Updated 15 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
FirstPort Chief Executive Nigel Howell
Nigel Howell
89 Ratings
Pros
  • "FirstPort have been very supportive to me with work through the difficult time I am currently facing(in 24 reviews)

  • "It's a positive place to work with great people(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "My best job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Culcheth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working for Forst Port has allowed me to exercise my leadership skills in a safe and supportive environment. I feel that there are opportunities for progression within First Port and the management team are supportive of this. First Port are the leading property management companies this shows in the technology that they use and support that they give to the team.

    Cons

    I have nothing to say

    Continue reading

    FirstPort Response

    June 23, 2020Head of Talent

    Thank you so much for taking the time out to write this review. We work hard to make sure everyone has a positive experience, so it is a wonderful to read your thoughts on what makes us a great place to work :)

  2. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - IT Infrastructure Engineer in Luton, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time

    Pros

    Forward thinking and supportive. Management listen.

    Cons

    Nothing to speak of at the moment.

    Continue reading

    FirstPort Response

    June 11, 2020Head of Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It's important to us, that everyone in the business has a great experience and a positive start as a new colleague! Welcome to the team :)

  3. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Welcoming Company with Nice People"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I started with FirstPort just before we went into lockdown, they have been great at making me feel welcomed into the company despite not being the office to physically meet people. My line manager has been in contact every week, there was an informative induction plan and I have been assigned a buddy to help me with any queries.

    Cons

    Salary is a little lower for the job title but all things are relative when the environment is a nice place to work.

    FirstPort Response

    June 11, 2020Head of Talent

    We’re really pleased that you having a positive experience of working at FirstPort and your induction plan, line manager and buddy are providing you with the support and information you need. Thanks again for your comments, they really are greatly appreciated.

  4. "Was not appreciated in role"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at FirstPort full-time

    Pros

    There is no pros at all

    Cons

    Management treat you badly most days

    FirstPort Response

    June 11, 2020Head of Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we value honest feedback and are dedicated to making FirstPort a great place to work. I'm sorry to read you had a negative experience of working with us. We are always looking to improve and take all feedback seriously, so will be looking into this further. Thanks for sharing your insight and I wish you all the best for the future.

  5. "Appreciate the opportunity, but this company has a long way to go before they will retain their good members of staff."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Charge Accountant in New Milton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FirstPort full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues were great and just needed guidance.

    Cons

    Management are unapproachable, and untrustworthy HR breach confidentiality with their employees Study support was NOT available despite having it "approved". Out of 20 people that have applied I know of none that have ever had it actually paid for. Office morale was the lowest I have ever encountered due to poor management. Staff turnover is high that reflects the above.

    Continue reading

    FirstPort Response

    June 11, 2020Head of Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we value honest feedback and are dedicated to making FirstPort a great place to work. I'm sorry to read you had a negative experience of working with us. We are always looking to improve and take all feedback seriously, so will be looking into this further. Thanks for sharing your insight and I wish you all the best for the future.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible company to work for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time

    Pros

    9am to 5pm core hours

    Cons

    - you are expected to work beyond your core hours - The processes are mainly surface and there is little substance behind them - senior staff are inexperienced in property and can end up undermining the hard work of the site teams - HR are only people managers and do not offer any real support - they would happily lose good staff and promote others based on personal relationships rather than experience

    Continue reading

    FirstPort Response

    June 11, 2020Head of Talent

    I'm really sorry to read you are having a negative experience of working at FirstPort. It is important to us that our colleagues feel they are listened to and have the policies and processes in place to support them to deliver their role. Thank you for your feedback, we want to continue to improve what we do and how we do it, so it really is appreciated. I'd love to listen more, so please do contact me on Emma.Smith@FirstPort.co.uk.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "poor think twice before joining this company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    its a job puts food on the table

    Cons

    over staffed in management office under staffed in the work force

    Continue reading

    FirstPort Response

    April 6, 2020Head of Talent

    Hi, it's really disappointing to hear your comments. I would love to find out more and get some examples of what has led you to write this review. We work hard to ensure all colleagues are supported and have the leadership in place to enable them to feel like FirstPort is a great place to work. Please contact me on Emma.Smith@FirstPort.co.uk if you would like to talk further about this or raise any specific concerns

  8. "Liars"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Development Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FirstPort full-time

    Pros

    None at all they lie make mistakes do not recognise talent

    Cons

    No training Unless you are a graduate will offer you no future No training Lie and tell you not available High turnover of staff why because they pay awful Lack of opportunity Do not recognise your skills Fake company Even if you get internal interview They do not tell you the outcome Send you to the wrong interview You put in a grievance it gets brushed under the carpet

    Continue reading

    FirstPort Response

    May 4, 2020Head of Talent

    Hi, having just read your review, I wanted to clarify our position on progression, learning and development. FirstPort work really hard to make sure everyone in the organisation has the access to the development they need, be that professional qualifications via the apprenticeship levy, leadership development or technical training. Our Academy Online has a number of box sets available with videos, podcasts, e-learning and access to workshops and webinars. These are available to everyone. We have regular talent planning meetings to talk about career progression and moves for those who have shown an interest in developing their career, your monthly 121 is also a great time to talk to your line manager about progression. I am sorry this is not what you experienced. Please contact me if you would like to discuss further, thanks Emma (Emma.Smith@FirstPort.co.uk)

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Without question the worst job I've ever had"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Luton, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FirstPort full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Location was convenient for me There are some good people in the company who try to make a difference

    Cons

    Nothing ever gets done because... - The company is massively understaffed - people are generally underpaid so good people leave when they get a better offer - Departments are never held accountable for their failings - Bullying culture is predominant within customer services. They only care about answering phones, not solving issues. - Management generally avoid issues and talk about the future rather than the present

    Continue reading

    FirstPort Response

    April 14, 2020Head of Talent

    Hi, I'd love to talk to you more about your experience, especially your reference to bullying. We have zero tolerance on any form of bullying at FirstPort, and this is therefore a serious allegation. I would like to understand some of the instances you are referring to. Please contact me on Emma.Smith@FirstPort.co.uk

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great People, Positive Changes"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Team Leader in Luton, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FirstPort full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great, loads of knowledgeable people who are willing to help you and others learn and grow. Very diverse teams with people of all backgrounds, ages, experience and cultures. The hours of work are the best I've ever ever had for a customer service centre. The HR team is supportive and really friendly

    Cons

    Residential property management can be confusing at first, sometimes complicated but in the long term you learn allot and the understanding begins to match up.

    Continue reading
Found 137 reviews