E.ON Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

E.ON Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
E.ON CEO Johannes Teyssen
Johannes Teyssen
95 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 28 reviews)

  • "Positive messages from senior management tend to get lost as it filters down to frontline(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Well paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E.ON full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Well paid, good benefits, nice people (generally)

    Cons

    Unstable working environment, lots of redundancies. Uninspiring day to day.

    E.ON2019-11-11
  2. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Nottingham, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at E.ON part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good package and reward Flexible

    Cons

    Uncertainty and change due to market conditions. Reductions likely. Investment in data innovation low

    E.ON2019-11-07
  3. "A mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deployment Manager in Nottingham, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at E.ON full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salaries are good, many other useful benefits offered

    Cons

    Constantly striving for cost cutting which usually take the form of workforce reduction

    Advice to Management

    Invest in people

    E.ON2019-11-07
  4. "senior project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at E.ON full-time

    Pros

    challanges, vision, mission, concept, cooperation

    Cons

    sometimes slow decision making or no decision

    E.ON2019-11-05
  5. "Great culture, friendly people, interesting industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E.ON full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, friendly people, interesting industry

    Cons

    Needs to invest more in HR department

    E.ON2019-10-16
  6. "A good scheme - but has areas to improve on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Scheme in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E.ON full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Salary for a student fresh out of university Exposure - 4 rotations into different areas of the business so the opportunity to gain some good experience, although this does depend heavily on the areas you go into. My experience with a couple of them so far, I'd struggle to find the benefit and question some of the thinking of why it is a relevant area as it doesn't focus on development, instead more... repetitive admin type work (pro/con?) Some areas of the business really are fantastic, you'll see the different local cultures in each office and some of these really are great places to work. Once again, depends on where you're placed

    Show More

    Cons

    - Support - I have found a lack of support from E.ON, especially when struggling with my own mental battles, there's very much a good "image" of being supportive and inclusive however I couldn't say this has resonated with me personally. Quite the opposite really, even when escalating any issues or impacts, further decisions made by the business make things worse. - Communication - when changes are made, this is... communicated normally is a poor way for such a large business, for example blank calendar invites that don't give much away but then turn out to be something that really impacts you. Never really warmed up to changes or involved in decision making, yet asking for input or feedback of the colleagues who could be impacted could be really beneficial. - A blame culture does seem to exist, feedback is given/taken by many in quite a defensive manner. Potentially a symptom of a business which is facing it's own challenges in the market. Lack of consistency across the different graduate schemes, there is certainly preferential treatment and very different experiences dependent on what scheme you are on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Including your teams in the change, as opposed to decisions being made behind the curtain, then some blank calendar invite making a large announcement which doesn't land well. I've seen this first hand in several offices across the UK. Communication - see above. Linking in with those who manage the scheme on a regular basis, taking feedback on board from one graduate intake and act on this for the next, continuous... improvement.

    Show More
    E.ON2019-10-24
  7. "E.on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E.ON part-time

    Pros

    Great company to grow in

    Cons

    Everything is perfect at the company

    E.ON2019-10-09
  8. "Surprisingly dynamic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E.ON full-time

    Pros

    Relatively secure jobs, opportunities to work internationally

    Cons

    Too much talking about new concepts such as agile, too little understanding of what it actually means.

    E.ON2019-10-09
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategy and Transformation 

    I worked at E.ON full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supporting and trusting of staff. Good pay, flexible working

    Cons

    Below average IT systems and infrastructure

    E.ON2019-10-09
  10. "Working At E.ON"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Business Partner in Mansfield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E.ON full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Collaboration, Leadership, Empowerment, Great values, Care for their people

    Cons

    Uncertainty, Price cap, difficult to move quickly enough against smaller more agile competitors

    E.ON2019-10-09
Found 573 reviews
</>Embed