Compass Minerals Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Compass Minerals Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 111 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
4%
Approve of CEO
Compass Minerals CEO Fran Malecha
Fran Malecha
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay does not provide permission to treat people poorly(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good pay Great people at the lower levels(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "state of upheaval and instability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Compass Minerals full-time

    Pros

    good benefits and fair pay

    Cons

    influx of new upper management from coal industry, unclear direction, many valuable employees jumping ship, feeling insecure about "new direction".

    Compass Minerals2019-08-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Compass Minerals

    Pros

    OK pay and benefits is about only pro.

    Cons

    Poorly managed company, particularly at executive level. Now on third CEO in last six years. Creates a chaotic environment with lack of consistent and coherent strategy.

    Compass Minerals2019-06-22
  3. "Mixed bag at Compass Minerals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HQ Employee in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Minerals full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good dedicated people who want to do the right thing for their customers and co-workers

    Cons

    Current senior management seems focused on what is best for them (e.g. 25% salary bumps in 2019) rather than what is best for the company. Expert employees are ignored or stonewalled.

    Advice to Management

    New CEO should use first 3 months to figure out how many of his team need to be replaced to instill his vision for the company.

    Compass Minerals2019-05-24
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Goderich, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Minerals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for. The pay is good and the conditions are good too.

    Cons

    Some of the union workers don't want to complete their assigned tasks. Strikes are possible every three years if the union does not agree on a contract with the company. Some of the union workers do not like contractors. The strikes can be long and disruptive to the company operations, making the workplace more unsafe. Incompetent people get jobs in the engineering department.

    Advice to Management

    Fire all of the incompetent and lazy people.

    Compass Minerals2019-05-15
  5. "Qualified to lead, I think not."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Franklin, LA
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Minerals full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It's a good job to have.

    Cons

    Supervisors that don't know the craft they are to lead.

    Advice to Management

    You say you want honesty. Integrity. Yet once again you bring on a Supervisor that it's quit apparent is a sociopath, a lier, and not trained as they say. Other supervisors know this and the workers the same. This has got to show something is wrong by the ones above that who don't know or see the incompetence of the person they hired for that position. What is happening?

    Compass Minerals2019-06-11
  6. "Good pay dosen't provide people permission to treat their workers as sub-human."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Mechanic in Lyons, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Minerals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay dosen't provide people permission to treat their workers as sub-human.

    Cons

    No bonuses, no initiatives, no morale, absolutely horrible upper management, understaffed and overworked workers.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management treats hourly employees like lesser people. Learn how to lead and motivate people.

    Compass Minerals2019-06-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "no opetunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Minerals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay does not provide permission to treat people poorly.

    Cons

    Bigot in HR favors their own kind,

    Advice to Management

    Clean house, you are being conned.

    Compass Minerals2019-05-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not a place I would retire from"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Operator in Lyons, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Minerals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    decent pay,short drive from where I live

    Cons

    no bonuses, understaffed, terrible upper management

    Advice to Management

    give back bonuses and fill all the empty positions

    Compass Minerals2019-04-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn and grow. Lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Minerals full-time

    Pros

    High opportunity environment Fast paced Good pay and decent benefits

    Cons

    Lack of standards and policy High rate of employee turnover makes improving the business difficult

    Compass Minerals2019-03-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Antiquated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Compass Minerals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Compensation - and great benefits!

    Cons

    Good Ol Boy network. Not what you do but how well you schmooze. Awesome job if you're VP or higher. Don't worry about your numbers, they really do not care! Honestly, if you're a top 10 performer, you can do okay with CMP. But really, if you're a top ten performer, you can do much better elsewhere. I've heard it's much better at the plants away from corporate, and it's much worse in Overland Park corporate... offices.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Being very foolish and investing my 401k into CMP and now seeing my account value down 30% while the rest of the market rises, I would like for upper management to think about what it really takes to increase shareholder value. They have failed miserably the last 3 years!

    Compass Minerals2019-04-01
Found 111 reviews