Chill Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Chill Insurance Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
29%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Chill Insurance CEO Padraig Lynch
Padraig Lynch
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's a fun place to work and the sports and social provide good events(in 8 reviews)

  • "The staff and Team leaders work very hard, this is the low of the low of the companies(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "chill rotating door for employees out as quick as they came in(in 13 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chill Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great sports and social club amazing people to work with

    Cons

    None none none none none

    Chill Insurance2019-05-29
  2. "Web developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Nice people co-workers. Pleasant atmosphere.

    Cons

    Old fashioned ideas with regard to work from home and rigidity with times for a tech job. Was more like working in old school finance for a tech person .

    Advice to Management

    For tech employees take a look at how other modern companies treat them

    Chill Insurance2019-12-07
  3. "It's a start but no long term progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Sandyford
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Education Good start to contact centre and sales environment

    Cons

    Employees viewed as resources and undervalued

    Advice to Management

    None, they have a model that works for them and they're happy to stick with it. While that's the case no advise will be considered

    Chill Insurance2019-12-03
  4. "Great place to start career in Insurance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Agent in Sandyford
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 14 different Insurers: great insight into various products -Benefits (Health Care & Pension) -Sociable Working hours (Customer Service: 9-6 Monday to Friday) -Sports&Social- loads of nights out, Child friendly events, In-house quiz nights & Escape room team events. -Competitive, young fun environment -Training was great-I had worked in Retail previously doing till work but Jade was amazing at... training us. We spent 3 weeks in training with a mix of learning about Insurance and products that Chill sell. We took live calls with Jade in the Training Center before moving onto the floor. -Chill donuts wall filled with Krispy Kreme donuts I loved my team and was very sad to leave. I had plans to go travelling but would love to return to Chill if I move back to Ireland!

    Show More

    Cons

    -Parking is hard to find -Location- Sandyford can be hard to get to if you are not on the Green Luas line

    Chill Insurance2019-11-18
  5. "Chill has no chill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Compeditive environment melting pot of hyperactive selling of insurance

    Cons

    No chill at chill rotating door for employees out as quick as they came in

    Advice to Management

    Retain staff by treating them better

    Chill Insurance2019-10-30
  6. "Worst Job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Sports and social (but you can get an equally good s&s in most offices)

    Cons

    Honestly such a disaster to work for!!! I worked in customer care and I was told that I cared too much... There is no thought given to the customers at all. Managers only care about stats and not the quality of work. Managers refuse to take calls from frustrated customers, all this does is infuriate the customer more. I usally have quiet good mental health but I was really struggling when working in chill so I would... advise anyone to stay away.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Top management needs to do a total review of cc. Middle management can only do so much but there is not enough staff to deal with the high volume of calls

    Chill Insurance2019-11-28
  7. "Treat us like children"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chill Insurance full-time

    Pros

    None really. See comments below.

    Cons

    At Chill, there have been many requests to senior management to get rid of the disposable cups. The CEO responded saying that it wouldn’t work because we won’t clean the “keep cups” that would replace them. Jeez - if the CEO has no trust in his staff, then it’s a lost cause!

    Advice to Management

    See above

    Chill Insurance2019-11-03
  8. "One to remember"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Blackrock, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People you work with . Occasionally good craic and laid back Atmosphere in the place

    Cons

    If your looking for a career or progression this is not the place for you . If your looking Nobody takes ownership for anything from general staff up to team leads and middle management . Some agents talk to customers in a demeaning manner . Service department is understand and constant extremely Long hold times cause customers to lash out daily . A lot of unstructured processes . Only recently got pension and... healthcare last few months no sick pay and doctors letter is required for each day one is out meaning you get docked wages and have to go pay for a doctors letter if sick for one or two days . I could go on but frankly . The only reason one should look at a job in this place is if you are absolutely desperate and have no choice . A lot of changes need to happen for the culture of the place to become attractive for the RIGHT people to want to work here , but with that said they are probably happy with everything as it is . Salary is degrading also and Very hard to make a living if not earning commission .

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A lot of structural changes need to happen Processes in place Take care of customers Hire more staff where appropriate Keep staff happy - happy people better workplace Believe it or not you have a lot of unhappy staff that work their and bring their bad baggage to work effecting both staff and customers alike and it looks bad for everybody .

    Chill Insurance2019-10-17
  9. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are great,everyones friendly enough and it's one of the reasons I've stayed this long.

    Cons

    Huge/constant turnover of staff,no career progression,no sick leave pay,management dont care/incompetent.The list goes on.

    Advice to Management

    Do better.

    Chill Insurance2019-07-28
  10. "Insurance agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Advisor in Sandyford
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people working there are fantastic

    Cons

    Chronically understaffed, across every department. No trust in staff abilities. Pay scale is bargain basement.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your staff to do their jobs, pay staff what they’re worth, start treating staff as people and not a commodity.

    Chill Insurance2019-06-09
Found 67 reviews