Carpetright Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 149 of over 155 reviews

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Carpetright Chief Executive Wilf Walsh
Wilf Walsh
82 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexibility / work life balance(in 9 reviews)

  • "Commission good incentive, good pay extra hours(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, if you get a five minute break consider yourself lucky, and expected to start early/finish late(in 11 reviews)

  • "No work/ life balance you're expected to work every Saturday and alternate Sundays(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Retail Sales

      Feb 24, 2020 - Sales Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice environment, opportunity to make money (it depend on your skills), good training, multicultural.

      Cons

      Work weekends, no career progress, commission is poor in comparison with competitors.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Could Definitely Improve

      May 12, 2021 - Deputy Manager in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Holidays, commission structure, helpfulness of staff and head office.

      Cons

      Hours, lack of upper management direction, disregard for staff safety during a pandemic, zero job security, health and safety issues, company is unwilling to upgrade or even update any of the stores in the ROI. The company practically ignores the ROI.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Carpetright Response

      Carpetright Ltd

      Thank you for your service and for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly take it on board. If you would like to discuss any further, we would value your input - please get in touch with us at glassdoorreviews@carpetright.co.uk.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Enjoyed my time

      May 8, 2019 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent commission Friendly staff 25 days holidays

      Cons

      None that i can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Unreal

      Dec 29, 2017 - Sales Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      All gone. Cutting commissions before xmas

      Cons

      Cut commission christmas week. When other companies are now giving their hard working staff a rise, carpetright are cutting staff,s wages

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      They let me down and I wouldn't trust them with anything.

      Apr 27, 2017 - Sales Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some staff are nice in other stores when covering. There are opportunities to gain more responsibilities and for promotions too.

      Cons

      They keep staff that are useless. No justice system whatsoever. Wages are bad. Expected to do way too much. No appreciation.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      AVOID

      Sep 5, 2015 - Assistant Store Manager in Mahon
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hard to find any. Made some good friends with other staff members. Feel sorry for them if they are still stuck working for this company

      Cons

      Where do I start! Money is terrible. Promises of non existent commission. More staff than customers. Company don't respect staff at all. All they want to know is how much you made for them. Closed a shop already in Ireland and more to follow if they keep up their business etiquette

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      wonderful company

      Nov 24, 2021 - Buyer in Basildon, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good salary family feel friendly team good hours

      Cons

      far from home parking space

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Carpetright Response

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your review! We pride ourselves on our culture of 'family' - thanks for your kind words.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      This is what a decent company should be like..

      Nov 17, 2021 - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Purfleet, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The People, The Support from the Team at all levels, Nothing is too much trouble, and the business is going places and has great investment.

      Cons

      Sadly have to pass probation in order to use the discount and need some flooring lol .... Nothing negative to mention from me.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Carpetright Response

      It's great to hear you're enjoying your role with us, thank you for your continued hard work, it is very much appreciated!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Nov 9, 2021 - Regional Manager in Eastbourne, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Commission scheme. Good with people/customer service, then earning potential is huge. Try to promote from within.

      Cons

      Many vacancies at present, so can impact on service. But team work is excellent

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Carpetright Response

      Thanks for your review!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people that bring values to life

      Nov 2, 2021 - Regional Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Its always the people of a company that bring values to life and I have found that in my team and the people around me. I have been supported on a more personal level when I needed It as a working parent and this is testament to a caring organisation. I have never worked with harder working, more dedicated front line staff than at Carpetright! I am often humbled by the length of service and commitment that store staff demonstrate. The company is fortunate enough to have some amazing investment giving us not just sustainability on retail stores but some exciting and progressive plans for the future.

      Cons

      Industry challenges regarding recruitment make resource issues difficult for training and support of our colleagues

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 149 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Carpetright Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Carpetright? Share Your Experiences

    Carpetright logo
    or