British Red Cross Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

British Red Cross Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 153 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Michael Adamson
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice Friendly Colleagues, easy to commute, good work life balance(in 6 reviews)

  • "Worked with some lovely well meaning people who want to make a difference to people's lives(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "They are after all a charity organisation(in 14 reviews)

  • "Support from senior management was weak at times(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great charity, full of wonderful employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Contract Development Manager 

      I have been working at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The staff - all really eager to help others

      Cons

      The I.T. systems were a bit behind the times

      British Red Cross2019-06-18
    • "Rewarding work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Production in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at British Red Cross part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great team and valuable work

      Cons

      A lot of priorities and all worthwhile

      British Red Cross2019-06-04
    • "sores operative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at British Red Cross full-time

      Pros

      brilliant people who do good work to help sick people

      Cons

      I have gained a degree in a field I want to move on to

      Advice to Management

      help people climb the corporate ladder always encourage staff to train and improve within the company

      British Red Cross2019-05-07
    • "Volunteer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at British Red Cross part-time

        Pros

        Great staff, gives you customer service and retail experience

        Cons

        Often there's nothing to do, can be quite slow

        British Red Cross2019-05-01
      • "Doing good work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Refugee Support 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        You are genuinely helping people and you're working with incredibly smart, talented, kind people from various backgrounds.

        Cons

        Pay is terrible, and jobs can be very stressful.

        Advice to Management

        Pay better!

        British Red Cross2019-04-11
      • "Could Engage More"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at British Red Cross part-time

        Pros

        They do great research; be part of your community.

        Cons

        No overall structure, so possibility of poor management by middle managers.

        British Red Cross2019-04-21
      • "Retail assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at British Red Cross part-time

        Pros

        Get to work with others as a team along with getting to know the customers

        Cons

        Not always having enough volunteers on

        British Red Cross2019-03-19
      • Helpful (1)

        "Friendly Staff but unorganised"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at British Red Cross full-time

        Pros

        Friendly staff and decent pay

        Cons

        unorganised training process and lack of connection with management

        British Red Cross2019-03-07
      • "Nice place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at British Red Cross part-time

          Pros

          Nice atmosphere and manager. Always something to do

          Cons

          None I can think of

          British Red Cross2019-03-01
        • Helpful (1)

          "Dated organisation with massive lack of diversity"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Great international and local work. Lots of emergency fundraising appeals. Great volunteers in the services.

          Cons

          No opportunity for progression or development. No diversity within the organisation. Terrible management

          Advice to Management

          Better organisation and support for staff. Make efforts to improve diversity of staff, many rooms are full of only white faces, is unacceptable and not helpful in moving forward and updating the organisation.

          British Red Cross2019-03-08
        Found 153 reviews