Box Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Box Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
67%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Box Co-founder & CEO Aaron Levie
Aaron Levie
330 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, great learning opportunity(in 39 reviews)

  • "Free food *if* you work in Redwood city(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is no 401k match and honestly Box can do better with making an initiative to do that(in 21 reviews)

  • "No 401K matching but awesome ESPP plan(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Product Manager 

    I worked at Box full-time

    Pros

    Box was a great place to work. Strong leadership. Interesting projects.

    Cons

    Middle management does not always provide clear direction.

    Box2020-01-15
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - CEO really cares about the culture, your growth, and opportunity - Lots of opportunity to network and get involved - Can create roles if you see a need for it and present it accordingly - Great on-boarding, lots of resources

    Cons

    - Can tend to promote people based of personality and not performance - Opportunity for diversity inclusion - Lack of management training - Culture and diversity is really emphasized but needs to be enforced -Have witnessed a few colleagues leave due to cultural slander and negative political experiences

    Advice to Management

    Do not just make diversity and inclusion training mandatory for executives, but middle management. Implement a clear form of evaluation for promotional opportunities. Do not talk down certain employees when they are not around. If there is opportunity for growth, pull them aside and address ways to enhance/grow.

    Box2020-01-06
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OBR 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, managers who care about your future and work life balance

    Cons

    No 401k match is the only con

    Box2020-01-02
  4. "Good, not great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Business Manager in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Box has a great culture. They hire friendly people and actively work to create a welcoming and open environment.

    Cons

    Frequent technical struggles hinder development. Productivity tools can be unreliable. Layers of bureaucracy have built up over time which slow down work without making processes safer.

    Box2020-01-16
  5. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great learning opportunity

    Cons

    None at all great place to be

    Box2019-12-31
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great Talent But Lacking Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Box full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best place I’ve ever worked for. Great manager. Great culture. I love coming into work every day and the flexibility it provides for me to work from home a majority of the time. Box really goes out of its way to treat its people right. Our Japan team is amazing. Austin is a beautiful office and team. All the Sales folks in the Mid-West are killing it.

    Cons

    They focus too much on making people happy which in turns makes people too comfortable. An environment that lacks accountability and execution. Fosters complacency.

    Advice to Management

    1. Hire more experienced senior leaders. As much as Box cares about internal promotions, you need to hire the best. 2. Give more equity. Nobody will continue to stay with a declining stock price 3. More accountability. Why do the Sales And Marketing teams seem so inexperienced and lazy? When sales and pipeline targets are missed, why isn’t any one feeling the pain? I’ve visited SF sales folks and they are watching YouTube all day long. Austin teams continually miss their targets and nothing happens. Europe is just terrible. Japan is just wowzers! 4. Why do we continue to keep the Vice Presidents we have when we are seeing no results? Is this the lack of Aaron’s experience hiring solid leaders? Why is Jeetu developing features that aren’t game changing. Not only can’t we deliver parity with other products, the new features are meaningless. Why isn’t Jeetu listening to the field? 5. Why is it difficult to be so darn profitable? Bad leadership! Our main office in California has so many roles that could be outsourced. Why do we have an Accounts Payable, Recruiting and Engineering team in the most expensive place on Earth? That’s a great example of making poor leadership decisions. But then you see these execs cashing in big RSUs. Again, nobody to blame since there is no accountability. 6. Teach the organization how to be mindful of spending. But then again, this comes back to experienced leadership. The teams in headquarters investing in tools but the processes never change. How is that good for anyone? 7. Nobody ever gets fired. Fire people who just don’t deliver. Get rid of all the Sales, Marketing,and Engineering fat that doesn’t deliver. Why are we so scared to hold people to expectations. This is an imbalance to the force and why top and bottom line numbers never improve. And management, yes I have raised this and because of no accountability, you just get upset employees who leave out of frustration. I really wish I could stay but its come to a point that until something drastically changes, expect more of the same.

    Show More
    Box2019-12-25
  7. "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time

    Pros

    Positive overall compared to other tech companies

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Box2019-12-10
  8. "Incredible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love working at Box because of the people. Box has done a great job growing and expanding while also keeping each employee feel like they are important to the overall success of the company.

    Cons

    - Like anything the product has it's challenges, mainly the pace of innovation - Given the pivot made from file sync and share to content management it has been challenging to keep the market abreast and updated

    Advice to Management

    - Find useless jobs that can be cut. Many people on the sales support and client services side can be reactive, there is an opportunity to consolidate. - Make some acquisitions that can immediately differentiate Box from the pack.

    Box2019-12-05
  9. "Box EMEA is world'd apart from Box US.........."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Box full-time

    Pros

    * Free food * Relaxed culture * Good benefits * Almost every software in the world has been bought for you

    Cons

    * Hardly anyone in EMEA sales across the board is near target * Huge amounts of change an attempts to restructure * Customers don't seem to like the product or want to engage sales * EMEA leadership.. well there really isn't any * Market place now moved on with Msft and Google

    Advice to Management

    * If you want EMEA to succeed hire some good Saas sales leaders * Would honestly say that selling the company as quick as possible is the best plan * Try to change the culture to a winning one

    Box2019-12-13
  10. "Box really invests in their people, people stay much longer than at competitive SaaS companies."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Box has many training programs and resource groups -Lunch is provided + snacks to grab throughout the day -Aaron is an inspiring CEO -everyone can really be themselves and from my experience I would say that they celebrate diversity -Also the people you work with sre young spirited and very intelligent -Box gives responsibility, trust and freedom in a right balance -there’s a good vibe on the workfloor -it’s a good paycheck -All the secondary benefits are there

    Show More

    Cons

    -the brand awareness in EMEA is not where you think it should be after being active for quite some years -not all teams works as good with eachother -The CSM department is structured with a tiering system as opposed to a lifecycle system, this -There is definitely some work to do in taking the TLC we give to our customers to the next level. -on Fridays the office can be empty

    Advice to Management

    -Keep investing in people, that’s why the majority of people are really enjoying to work hard -Put our brand more out there (ads on London City Airport) online branding. -The CSM department is structured with a tiering system as opposed to a lifecycle system, this makes that the majority of our scaling customers don’t get to speak to a CSM, which could lead to churn

    Box2019-11-16
Found 426 reviews
</>Embed