Boots Opticians Reviews

Updated 22 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
36%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Boots Opticians Managing Director James Arrow  (no image)
James Arrow
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount and great access to products(in 18 reviews)

  • "good pay, good maternity leave time(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "The favourites can also have their mobiles on the shop floor, instead of in their locker(in 9 reviews)

  • "Not enough optics trained management(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Optical Assistant in London, England

    I have been working at Boots Opticians part-time

    Pros

    Kind and helpful staff

    Cons

    Systems need to be updated

    Boots Opticians2020-04-22
  2. "A fancy type of retail. But at the end of the day still another hamster wheel of the retail industry."

    2.0
    Former Employee - Optical Assistant 

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time

    Pros

    Money was good if you did this job alongside your own studies. Part time hours were good. As per retail, they were happy with the extra help so could pick up random hours. Some of the non-management level people were OK. If this was just a starter role for some temporary experience it may benefit you.

    Cons

    Showed strong work ethic and being flexible between branches for them. To no benefit to me. Bullying rife everywhere. So just realised this was the culture. They penalise you for any sick days from 2 years ago. Paper work on paper work to fill out if you were ever ill. Really intrusive things asked. They have policies with triggers to scare you into submission. Seemed at the time to be alot of men in management who like to have control over women. Had many occasion from male colleagues, mainly managers who made me uncomfortable. Two I recall, who kept asking me to come in my own time into the branch. Another who forced me out of my usual work routine so I didn't have to be around him. Management and non management had nasty streaks. Found sometimes management leering over certain staff members. Comments on what garments they were wearing, height and makeup ( Not relevant to role). Had a colleague allowed to access personal addresses and read them out in public to embarrass other colleagues. Stopped extra money on bank holidays and weekends. Became americanised, obsessed with pushing customers for unwanted sales. Pushed stupid targets on part time colleagues. The awful KPI's were very were riddled with pressure tactics. Expected to give own time at the end of the day free of charge. So much drama between colleagues, bitterness, because someone was dishonest the whole team having to get searched when you are leaving for the bus at the end of the day. Search your lockers every week at one moment. Due to issues in another department.

    Continue reading
    Boots Opticians2020-03-28
  3. "Fine"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Optometrist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Better than other multiples. Better benefits.

    Cons

    It's fine. Its work. Work.

    Boots Opticians2020-03-09
  4. "The pay and drudgery of retail but with the responsibilities and expectations of far better paying jobs."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Consultant in Hove, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not an irresponsible employer. If you have interest there is a little possibility to progress. Good attitude to customer satisfaction. No better or worse than competitors.

    Cons

    Managers can expect ct to be paid in the mid 20k area. Always want YOY improvement despite a slowing market so poor support and constant understaffing. Terrible software makes simple tasks take forever.

    Continue reading
    Boots Opticians2020-03-05
  5. "Good paying company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Under the umbrella of a big name

    Cons

    Staff members change quite often

    Continue reading
    Boots Opticians2020-02-28
  6. "Great Workplace"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Optical Consultant 

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time

    Pros

    Great Workplace. good benefits. rewarding job

    Cons

    None, as i enjoyed all aspects of the job. Suppose the only thing was progression within was difficult.

    Boots Opticians2020-02-19
  7. "Decent place to work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time

    Pros

    Lots to learn and the pay was decent

    Cons

    Last minute rota changes and understaffed

    Boots Opticians2020-03-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate Governance is the worst"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice work colleagues, pay is okay.

    Cons

    If ever there was something to prove that Boots didn't care about its staff is the fact that, despite clinical governance and the government telling to do so, Boots will not cancel non-emergency appointments. They've said ignore what you've been told and get as many people into the shop. But also, if you have to go off sick because you, or someone you care for, has coronavirus then you only get 7 days sick pay. Doesn't matter that you have to isolate for 14 days, only 7 days. Absolutely disgusting.

    Continue reading
    Boots Opticians2020-03-19
  9. "Excellent staff training and team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Optical Consultant in London, England
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy training programme and room to progress in dispensing.

    Cons

    Limited ability for management positions and head office roles.

    Boots Opticians2020-02-08
  10. "Optical Consultant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Optical Consultant 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Boots Opticians

    Pros

    1.Work colleges! If you get a store with lovely people 2.Some customers you build up a good relationship with 3. Easy once you know what you are doing 4. Was close to where I lived 5. My second store I ended up was more flexible than my previous store if I needed a doctors appointment etc 6. Management did help when it came trying to move up the ladder a bit more and were supportive when I needed to have interviews carried out 7. Did help me gain valuable skills that I need in any work place and generally has rounded me a as person and because I am young I think it was a good place to start to mould be into a good worker/college - will always be thankful for that. I wouldn’t be where I am today without the job.

    Cons

    1.Very underpaid for the job you have to do and the responsibility you have 2. Little to no progression at all 3.One rule for you but different rules for others regarding sickness absences etc 4. Can be extremely stressful when busy due to being understaffed constantly 5. the system you use is very slow and makes it difficult to actually do your job 6. Won’t protect you but would push you out if anything happened such as long term sick or a mistake 7. Some staff were very lazy and nothing was ever done even when experiencing my concern numerous times 8. Some customers can seriously be extremely rude more so in this job than any other I have had 9. Management seem to ‘disappear’ and sit in the office when you need them the most 10. Seem to try and undercut you on pay sometimes when working bank holidays and Sundays 11. Sometimes difficult to put in holidays if you don’t get in earlier enough 12. Make you feel guilty for having a sick day when you are genuinely ill 13. Management ‘forgot’ to process my expenses 14. Perks/benefits are gradually getting worse 15. Sometimes management would seem to try and pull the wool over customers eyes but I couldn’t do anything about it 16. Very money focused, daily targets and weekly targets which I totally Understand but for something you think would be clinical it’s very very money driven 17. Don’t generally get any thanks for doing something extra or any recognition at all yet very quick to pull you up on little mistakes and you feel bad for it 18. Constant staff surveys on how we feel which is good BUT nothing gets done ever about the feedback they receive. 19 I personally didn’t like the uniform. 20. Need more support for career progression from the get go. And general support for mental health. 21. Will ask you to go to others stores that are more than an hours drive away if they need extra staff, of course you can decline but I had to eventually go and do my bit

    Continue reading
    Boots Opticians2020-02-09
Found 197 reviews