Boots Opticians Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Boots Opticians Reviews

Updated 6 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
35%
Recommend to a Friend
Boots Opticians CEO James Arrow  (no image)
James Arrow
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount and great access to products(in 18 reviews)

  • "good pay, good maternity leave time(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "The favourites can also have their mobiles on the shop floor, instead of in their locker(in 9 reviews)

  • "Not enough optics trained management(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good environmnt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Antrim, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A warm and frendly environment to work in, with lots of support from management teams and plenty of extensive training.

    Cons

    No overtime pay - time receive back in lieu instead but not always possible to take this until quite a long time later.

    Boots Opticians2019-10-31
  2. "Sick pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Optometrist 

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time

    Pros

    Health led opticians, patient caring

    Cons

    Stressful working environment, poor salary management

    Boots Opticians2019-10-17
  3. "Good training opportunities and good salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Consultant 

    I have been working at Boots Opticians part-time

    Pros

    • good salary • thorough training

    Cons

    • varying shifts • no set days

    Boots Opticians2019-10-09
  4. "Unfair and unethical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Boots Opticians

    Pros

    I can’t see any as the discount only makes product the same price as other retail competiters

    Cons

    Very sexist for men. Women constant make sexist jokes and level of staff treated differently. Eg optoms can do what they like. No bones so don’t know why they lost they do it’s a joke. Pay is lower than pound land or Boots retail and that’s shocking as the level of skill you need to work in optics

    Advice to Management

    Inconsistency between practices. Pore business decisions .

    Boots Opticians2019-11-06
  5. "Haksn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time

    Pros

    The team i worked with

    Cons

    management never had time for team

    Boots Opticians2019-10-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispensing Optician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to study and progress

    Cons

    Bad upper management, treat staff as statistics and will move people about to what ever suits them

    Boots Opticians2019-09-18
  7. "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Semi flexible hours, good variety of lenses to sell

    Cons

    Management is resistant to change.

    Boots Opticians2019-09-18
  8. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Optical Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good perks, no work pressure

    Cons

    Salary, bonus, uniform, flexibility, no incentive

    Boots Opticians2019-09-08
  9. "good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Trainee Optical Consultant 

    I worked at Boots Opticians part-time

    Pros

    lovely staff great communication and support

    Cons

    a lot of information to learn

    Boots Opticians2019-09-06
  10. "If you fit in with BOL you will love working here, if you don't then you may not stay for long."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Dispensing Optician in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company discounts are strong. Accommodating with hours if required. Family feeling within the store.

    Cons

    Dated systems. Feels behind the times compared with other high street opticians. If you do not work at fitting in with the company you may feel like an outsider.

    Advice to Management

    Regular feedback with constructive criticism is good to have, this is not done enough. If we had a paperless system the amount of staff required to fill paper records would be free to serve patients. Although there are plans in place to change this they are moving too slowly and we have fallen behind our competitors. The idea of building our own computerised database is good but in my opinion it has not worked and... we should outsource this to an existing provider with a proven system. There is a feel of if you do not think like BOL then you will not progress, no matter how good your ideas are to improve the store or company. There are good people who work here but I have stopped believing in the companies values.

    Show More
    Boots Opticians2019-09-06
Found 173 reviews