Base2 Solutions Reviews

Updated 14 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Base2 Solutions President and CEO Ron Hopkins
Ron Hopkins
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "More than lip service is paid to work-life balance(in 13 reviews)

  • "Challenging projects, great people to collaborate with, culture of constant learning/growing, flexible work schedules to some degree(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "This is not really a negative, but be aware if considering Base2(in 11 reviews)

  • "I'm usually at the client site (due to my job role)(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Base2 Is Not What It Used To Be"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Quality Assurance Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Base2 Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Profit Sharing Bonus is nice. Work-from-home flexibility is nice (now due to Covid). USED TO BE a great place to work when the company was smaller and could operate on their own. Now that they were bought by Belcan and are under their management - HUGE difference. Better read the Belcan company reviews on Glassdoor.

    Cons

    Company process for Job Performance/Reviews is terrible. They surprise you with criticism for small one-time incidents without any prior discussion with you. They don't train their supervisors on how to be a Leader. They have lots of "Talks" about Leadership - but they DON'T "Walk the Talk". People seem to leave for lack of opportunity for growth. Before hiring in with this company in 2015, I worked for a top corporation as a Lead Quality Assurance Engineer - leading an international group of 10 testers on large automated test projects (unfortunately the company moved). At Base2, I worked by myself on manual testing - I never had any growth opportunity (I think I moved backwards). This company also does a lot of "reorganizations" - every year I had a different supervisor.

    Continue reading

    Base2 Solutions Response

    July 27, 2020EVP & GM

    I am sorry about the experience you had at Base2. Although it is true that Base2 was acquired by Belcan, it doesn’t sound like your concerns are related to the acquisition. Although most acquisitions will result in some changes, for the most part there has been very little change with the Base2 acquisition. I hope this provides some perspective on the items you have highlighted. - Base2 continues to make the list of one of the best places to work, even as recently as June of this year. But we aren’t resting on those laurels and we recognize there continues to be room for improvement. Performance reviews are challenging, and we have worked hard to ensure that our review process is constructive for all involved. As part of our effort to continually improve in all aspects of our company, we have provided our leadership with training on performance management, and will continue to provide such training in the future. Our preference would be that no employee first hear about a concern in a written review. None of us would want to be treated that way and I believe we strive to ensure that doesn’t happen. - We do provide formal training to our leadership team and we work hard to continuously train and mentor all staff. We aren’t perfect, but we certainly try to be “Walking the Talk”. - We hire an experienced workforce for consulting. It is what our customers need. Most of our staff held leadership roles at previous companies and use those skills to help our customers solve their most challenging problems. We try to be very clear when we hire staff that there is a wide variety of work that we might be doing. It is also true that we are a small company. We have been continuously growing during our 8 year history and that has provided new opportunities for many of our staff. - We will never treat employees like a number. We are careful to make sure that any separation is a last resort that is only exercised when there are no other options. I am sorry that your time at Base2 didn’t work out. Ron Hopkins, EVP & GM

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Base2 Solutions full-time

    Pros

    The People, The Work, Benefits

    Cons

    Honestly can't think of one thing


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work - Hard Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Base2 Solutions full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Constant focus on what's right for the people They mean it when they say "People are our most valued resource". Really good people - I enjoy the people, and am proud to be part of the team Freedom to take the initiative AND rewarded for taking the initiative

    Cons

    It's very hard work, but reasonable hours. (This is not really a negative, but be aware if considering Base2.) I'm usually at the client site (due to my job role). Some of the client's environments well, suck.

    Continue reading

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    We try to keep the company as flat as possible. You won’t find a culture of micro-management at Base2, we couldn’t be successful if we did. We hire the best, empower them, and make sure there is a team of people to support them when/if they need it. It has worked since Base2 was formed, and we don’t envision any changes going forward. Thanks for the review and glad you are seeing those principles in practice.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Your job is at the mercy of their clients"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Base2 Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can get you temporarily placed at large employers for good experience.

    Cons

    Their office culture and business has declined significantly since being acquired by Belcan. Layoffs and project cuts are commonplace for almost a year. Projects move slow and do not offer much growth.

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    Thank you for sharing your perspective. At Base2 we take all employee input very seriously and it helps to inform how we behave and communicate. I am sorry that you are feeling this way about Base2 right now. I was very surprised to see this review because I don’t think it represents the current state of Base2. Please don’t misunderstand me, I believe Base2 has room for improvement, and we are always trying to do that. But this review speaks to a change in Base2 that hasn’t occurred. We were recently acquired by Belcan (Dec 2019), but we have been very careful to minimize the impact on our staff, culture and business. Our headcount is effectively unchanged from a year ago and we will financially outperform 2019 in 2020. In the middle of the COVID-19 pandemic, we are proud of those results. It is true that there has been some volatility across our customers and contracts, but that is primarily because of their business challenges and we have managed those changes well. Regardless, it is likely that we have not done a good enough job of communicating with this specific team member. We have an open-door policy at Base2, and many digital ways to connect. I would encourage you or any employee with concerns about the culture or business to reach out to me, so that we can discuss those concerns directly and try to find solutions. Base2 has and will always provide a safe environment (free of retaliation) for staff to express and discuss their concerns.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very good people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior S/W Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Base2 Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible work hours. Easy to switch projects,

    Cons

    Had to deal with some stiff clients

    Continue reading

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    Thank you for being part of the Base2 team and giving us some feedback.

  6. "Big company benefits; Small company culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisory Software Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Base2 Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of really interesting work, often on genuinely hard problems. More than lip service is paid to work-life balance. Low drama environment with great people who ask "How can I help?," instead of "Why do you want that?"

    Cons

    Not a good fit unless you're flexible on the type and location of your work. Most Base2 engineers work at customer's locations, so commutes can vary widely from year to year. Consultancy jobs require getting up to speed rapidly, often across a wide range of technologies; expect to fumble in the dark more than you're use to.

    Continue reading

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    We take a lot of pride in keeping the drama low. Whether in the Base2 office or a customer site, we have found focus and calm is the quickest path to get a project back on track. Consulting isn’t for everyone, and you have accurately captured some of the Pros and Cons. We try to make sure that every recruited individual understands the dynamics before they join Base2. No one wins when an employee is surprised after they start. :-) Thank you for the review.

  7. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisory Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Base2 Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Challenging projects, great people to collaborate with, culture of constant learning/growing, flexible work schedules to some degree

    Cons

    Haven't come across any yet!

    Continue reading

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    Thank you for the review and for joining Base2!

  8. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Base2 Solutions part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment that supports the employees so they can do their best for their clients

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Continue reading

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    Base2 exists because we have happy customers that understand the value of our services. Our secret sauce for happy customers is great consultants. Thank you for being part of the team.

  9. "Best workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Base2 Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They really care about their employees. Everyone is highly knowledgeable. Base2 has an atmosphere of learning, innovating and growing.

    Cons

    No cons. It's a great work space.

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    A consulting company is only as good as the people it is composed of. Thank you for the review, but more importantly, thank you for helping to find the great talent we have at Base2. It takes a lot of hard work to find those exceptional people.

  10. "Very Talented Consulting Team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisory Systems Engineer 

    I have been working at Base2 Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very capable software developers and systems engineers.

    Cons

    Moving to a consulting environment can be a major change for many people.

    Continue reading

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    Thank you for the feedback.

Found 57 reviews