Axway Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Axway Reviews

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Axway CEO Patrick Donovan
Patrick Donovan
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "All in all, the work life balance here is one of the best I have seen(in 15 reviews)

  • "Really nice office environment with great people(in 14 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Axway full-time

    Pros

    Cool products/projects to work on Talented team Good location Truly awesome HR and management Ergonomic work areas in most of the office Pretty view of the Royal Canal Best office coffee : ) Really nice office environment with great people

    Cons

    Can't think of any in particular. Perhaps invest more on new technologies the teams need to use.

    Axway2019-04-05
  2. "Full Stack Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Axway full-time

    Pros

    - Great stack of technology is cutting edge of the current state of the art - Flexible hours - You can work remotely 2 days per week

    Cons

    - Managers don't protect team and they don't explain why or the political reasons to do this.

    Axway2019-02-09
  3. Helpful (5)

    "A Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Axway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - nice colleagues - work from home policy

    Cons

    - strategy changes every few weeks - extremely siloed environment (teams master reinventing wheels on a daily basis) - very poor system and software engineering practices (stay away if you are keen to learn and advance in the craft) - red tape everywhere, bureaucracy, very slow moving (hey, it's French company!) - product owners and managers sound clueless in regard to software products development, modern... development techniques and engineering practices - too many people are suffering from "prima donnaism" - very high turnover rate

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    French management don't take advise. "They know best!"

    Axway2017-11-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company I worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Axway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good work life balance. Possibility to work from home 2 days per week Flexible working hours Nice tech stack. Java, Python, Docker, AWS, Linux People are very nice, I didn't hear any fights or shouting Company is listening to what people have to say and takes action Parties and nights out are organized regularly Dublin management is very approachable and easy to talk to. It feels like they are your... team mates.

    Show More

    Cons

    To meet some regulations required by some very important customers, the development process is slow. Too many steps until the code reaches production. Not clear what is the company mission.

    Advice to Management

    When communicating to employees use a simpler language. Try not to sell that much and make the message you try to transmit simpler and concise.

    Axway2017-08-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Axway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great experience and amazing people to work. Its a great place to improve your Agile, Java and DevOps skills. Good compensation.The best job I've ever had and the best place

    Cons

    Lack of training with the main office. Please do a better job communicating and demonstrating you are fighting for us as we are fighting for you!

    Advice to Management

    Improve the communication with the employees about the company future vision

    Axway2016-11-02
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Transforming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Axway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working hard to align a diverse portfolio into a congruent suite of products. Plenty of scope for career growth, travel.

    Cons

    A lot of legacy bureaucracy procedures and processes that need to be reviewed or abandoned. The diverse development centers can be a boon to creativity but they need to be managed better so that people believe they're all on the same team.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating the goals and make sure that it's more than just powerpoint slides. Keep the message consistent and reward the workforce as this goals are approved.

    Axway2016-01-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good people, great customers, coaching environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Axway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, great customers, coaching environment

    Cons

    Some technologies need to be upgraded for some products

    Advice to Management

    Better financial compensation package

    Axway2014-02-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great engineers but poor upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Axway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great engineering team with great PMs.

    Cons

    * Upper management keeps changing the goal post and asking for projects to be completed with reduced resources earlier than the original deadline. * Changing the metric for success is a constant. * Management lets go of very bright and talented staff but never trims the fat in management levels themselves. * Little to no chance to move up career-wise if you're not in the main office. * Sub-par benefits

    Advice to Management

    Stop hamstringing your engineers. Don't acquire another company and replace all their experienced sales staff with inexperienced clueless people. I've seen too many products get undercut like that too many times.

    Axway2019-10-31
  9. "Principal Presales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Presales Consultant in Paris
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Axway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Axway is an amazing place to work and I would recommend it to any of my friends. You are given immense freedom and trust to complete your work (without micro-managing). The people are great and the office is a very relaxing place.

    Cons

    Entreprise Franco-Américaine avec ces bons et mauvais choix

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Axway2019-10-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Principal Project Manager 

    I worked at Axway full-time

    Pros

    Good People and culture. Good set of products. Good benefits. Nice working environment.

    Cons

    Teams are located in many geographical areas. Challenging to find suitable time to all.

    Axway2019-10-17
Found 278 reviews