Altria Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Altria Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Altria Chairman and CEO Howard Willard (no image)
Howard Willard
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company but a declining industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Altria full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Compensation and benefits are good. Finally starting to embrace a flexible work schedule (somewhat).

    Cons

    Leadership communication is lacking. No sense of direction.

    Altria2020-01-09
  2. "TSM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Territory Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Altria

    Pros

    Flexible Generous vaca with option to buy additional week Autonomous Lots of opportunities to take on higher-level projects Fantastic benefits (parental leave, college loan repayment assistance)

    Cons

    The workload is becoming unmanageable. Change is constant, so people have grown tired of it. Many people are having a very difficult time adapting to the changes. Instead of working together, people are becoming more competitive with each other. This is a direct result of semi-regular lay offs. If someone does well, it’s a direct threat to them. If someone does poorly, they are direct threat to someone’s bonus. You can’t win. The culture isn’t good. People are very unhappy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Culture and morale is at an all-time low. Senior leadership fails to recognize this. They keep throwing solutions at us that don’t work. They ask for feedback, so we thoughtfully provide it only for nothing to happen.

    Altria2020-01-14
  3. "Solid opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst 

    I have been working at Altria full-time

    Pros

    Great place to gain experience with well-known brands

    Cons

    None that I’m willing to share

    Altria2019-12-14
  4. "Senior Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altria

    Pros

    Growth and development opportunities, volunteer opportunities, great benefits

    Cons

    There are frequent reorgs in the company

    Altria2019-11-25
  5. "Good Training in a Limited Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Altria full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good does a solid job with training Company Car

    Cons

    Your options for companies/ jobs within the tobacco industry are limited Limited promotional pathways Extremely long commute to large territories

    Advice to Management

    Better compensate for differences in commute

    Altria2019-11-26
  6. "Amazing!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altria full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, work life balance, best people, culture

    Cons

    None love this company

    Altria2019-11-11
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altria full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, great pay, company car

    Cons

    Too much busy work. Too many pointless conference calls. Products are in decline.

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to expand so fast and focus on what you are good at.

    Altria2019-11-07
  8. "good company .great working place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Bhetasi Ba Bhag
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Altria full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good company .great working place

    Cons

    there is nothing bad till now to be

    Altria2019-11-14
  9. "Innovative, Responsible Company with Incredible People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altria full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people of Altria are some of the smartest and best people to work with. I think the main reason this company is so successful in such a tough environment is the people. It also feels like a start up company with all of the innovation we are going through.

    Cons

    Your manager can make or break your experience. I had one bad manager that was eventually let go from the company. My other managers have been incredible. You have to be able to handle a tumultuous environment. I thrive in it and personally believe the experience is priceless for any other sales job you may have.

    Advice to Management

    Keep innovating and taking care of your people.

    Altria2019-10-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Old bureaucratic culture. Very male centric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Altria full-time

    Pros

    Budget for training and conferences

    Cons

    Leaders who are only safeguarding their jobs instead of caring about growth and innovation

    Altria2019-11-11
Found 782 reviews