Altria Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Altria Reviews

Updated 14 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
Altria CEO Howard Willard (no image)
Howard Willard
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altria full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, work life balance, best people, culture

    Cons

    None love this company

    Altria2019-11-11
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altria full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, great pay, company car

    Cons

    Too much busy work. Too many pointless conference calls. Products are in decline.

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to expand so fast and focus on what you are good at.

    Altria2019-11-07
  3. "good company .great working place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Bhetasi Ba Bhag
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Altria full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good company .great working place

    Cons

    there is nothing bad till now to be

    Altria2019-11-14
  4. "Innovative, Responsible Company with Incredible People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altria full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people of Altria are some of the smartest and best people to work with. I think the main reason this company is so successful in such a tough environment is the people. It also feels like a start up company with all of the innovation we are going through.

    Cons

    Your manager can make or break your experience. I had one bad manager that was eventually let go from the company. My other managers have been incredible. You have to be able to handle a tumultuous environment. I thrive in it and personally believe the experience is priceless for any other sales job you may have.

    Advice to Management

    Keep innovating and taking care of your people.

    Altria2019-10-28
  5. "Territory sales manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altria full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You make your own schedule

    Cons

    Job responsibility keep growing making it a lot to juggle

    Altria2019-10-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Old bureaucratic culture. Very male centric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Altria full-time

    Pros

    Budget for training and conferences

    Cons

    Leaders who are only safeguarding their jobs instead of caring about growth and innovation

    Altria2019-11-11
  7. "Good to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - TSM 

    I have been working at Altria full-time

    Pros

    Good job out of college

    Cons

    They do not offer any sort of stock program

    Altria2019-11-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Culture has changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Yor
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Altria full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of freedom and autonomy, base salary is solid, good benefits (company car)

    Cons

    Recently it’s become much more competitive and difficult to get promoted, promotions based on politics not ability, not much work life balance, overwhelming amount of time sensitive initiatives at the same time

    Altria2019-10-29
  9. "Good place to start a career in sales or have a long steady career in sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Altria full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Call on a territory so can have some flexibility when to start and end. Still needs to be a full work day and reasonable hours though

    Cons

    Need to be comfortable working in gas stations, liquor stores, tobacco stores. Unique environment

    Altria2019-10-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Benefits and Pay But Poor Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Altria full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great. Pay is great (in my opinion). Holidays and PTO are above average and the culture is not frugal. They will spend money on their employees. Most people are pleasant.

    Cons

    Work itself was quite uninteresting and management assigned work based on arbitrary factors, seeking to mold certain types of employees without considering what a person enjoys working on or their prior experience. Consistent on-call responsibilities and occasional weekend work at short notice. If you are technical and seek to work on code or interesting technical problems -- not the place.

    Altria2019-10-21
Found 778 reviews