Aflac Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Aflac Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Aflac CEO Dan Amos
Dan Amos
387 Ratings
Pros
  • "The nice thing about this internship is the flexible schedule(in 104 reviews)

  • "You really can build your own business from the ground up with backing from a huge, great company(in 94 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sales in 100% commission based so if you are not financially stable this can be very difficult in the early days of creating a client base(in 154 reviews)

  • "No Base Salary, Bad Agents can give people a bad taste(in 109 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Producer in Rock Hill, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aflac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of training and good compensation

    Cons

    Lots of shuffling of positions

    Advice to Management

    Have a back up plan for when someone leaves a position

    Aflac2019-12-09
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Producer 

    I worked at Aflac full-time

    Pros

    The schedule is pretty good

    Cons

    Slow start to building BOB

    Aflac2019-11-25
  3. "I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Professional in Dayton, OH
    Recommends

    I have been working at Aflac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I actually love this company. The products are very good and I work on a great team. You can work as much or as little as you would like because it is your business. You get as much from it as you put into it. They have lots of training and you are not just put out there without help. I really appreciate the management. They also have a wonderful payment system. You literally can get paid two days after a... sale. Lots of bonuses too.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is commission only so it takes a little bit of time to get up and running. Make sure are prepared until your income starts coming in.

    Aflac2019-11-22
  4. Helpful (2)

    "This company has changed my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Consultant in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aflac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They give you the ability to get paid your worth and to work when you want and with who you want. Right out of college, I was looking at careers that were going to pay me $30-40k when I just spent $50k+ on my education...that wasn't going to cut it. I always work hard, no matter what my position or title, so I want to be compensated that way. This company gave me the ability to be compensated fairly based on my work... ethic. I also have had several opportunities to grow within the company and move into leadership. This company has changed my life and I wouldn't do anything different if I could.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only con would be that I wish there were more opportunities to learn from agents nationwide on a more frequent basis.

    Advice to Management

    Don't ever get rid of the incentive trips! Some of the most fun I have had with this company has been on trips.

    Aflac2019-11-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Document control specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Document Control Specialist 

    I have been working at Aflac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Monday through Friday 8-5pm Independent work for the most part

    Cons

    Workload can be overwhelming Favoritism Less advancement opportunity in department Minimum of 3-5 years before earning promotions

    Advice to Management

    Establish open door policy Be honest and truthful to employees Don’t sell employees a dream

    Aflac2019-11-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good training - good team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aflac

    Pros

    Ability to work hard can get you pretty far

    Cons

    It’s not aflac, just this kind of work is hard

    Aflac2019-11-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Columbus, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aflac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Value its employees overall, competitive pay

    Cons

    Internal hiring process is often times fixed

    Advice to Management

    Please don't take internal candidates through the interview process if there is no chance they'll get the job. Too many very qualified people going for posted jobs that management has already earmarked someone for. It's a waste of valuable time for those who take the time to prepare for interviews expecting to be considered fairly.

    Aflac2019-11-05
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Office Manager in Savannah, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Aflac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Be your own boss, ability to help people

    Cons

    Wait time to speak to someone at HQ for assistance

    Aflac2019-11-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Benefits Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Basking Ridge, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aflac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Motivated Culture Managers are all successful Managers are all helpful Flexible Schedule

    Cons

    It's what you make of it, it requires a lot of patience

    Aflac2019-10-27
  10. "Decent Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Account Executive in New York, NY

    I have been working at Aflac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good knowledge to have in any regard

    Cons

    Not the greatest culture/training; Need a different business model for retaining individuals

    Advice to Management

    Be professionals; Figure it out

    Aflac2019-11-11
Found 790 reviews