3M Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

3M Reviews

Updated 24 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
3M CEO Mike Roman
Mike Roman
283 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Plano de carreira ruim, processos confusos(in 71 reviews)

  • "o e plano de desenvolvimento discutidos com o gestor(in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Good solid company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ethical, stable, collaborative, diverse, growing

    Cons

    Red tape, overly conservative, access to accurate data

    3M2019-03-01
  2. "Love 3M"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Santo Domingo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    3M is an ethical company where employees can feel sure of been social and environmental responsible. The company provides numerous opportunities for growth and development and constant change challenges the status quo a stretches people to do and give their best.

    Cons

    One may turn too focus on current and future career and not see / understand opportunities outside the company.

    3M2020-01-22
  3. "In this position I can put into practice my knowledge and improve in differet areas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior General Accountant in San Jose, San Jose
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can develop my knowledge and help others to improve therselfs in differen areas

    Cons

    This job requieres a lot of concentration and be aware of the details

    3M2020-01-22
  4. "3M review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great freedom to explore unique solutions Risk is tolerated Standard Work processes

    Cons

    IT in 3M is twenty years behind even a mid sized enterprise. Probably management thinks we make products and not data. The lack of a CIO position reporting directly to the CEO shows the importance 3M gives to IT.

    Advice to Management

    Have world class IT is as important as making world class products. Please invest heavily in IT to make up for the loss in productivity.

    3M2020-01-23
  5. "Working for 3M is like winning a lottery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Engineer in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    3M is a playground of opportunity. At 3M you only needs to ask for advise, for training, for advancement, for flexibility and it's yours. Your free to bring your unique viewpoints and opinions to any room in the company and not only be heard but are encouraged to be different and not conform to a preset idea of what you should think.

    Cons

    Careers here aren't linear so it can be overwhelming to decide where you see yourself going and how to get there. As with any big corporation politics can be difficult to navigate

    Advice to Management

    Improvements can always be made on communication as so much information can be coming at individuals it becomes hard to understand what is important to focus on.

    3M2020-01-21
  6. "Overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 3M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Benefits program,able to have flexibility when it comes to working from home when sick and incredibly inclusive to everyone working.

    Cons

    Hard to get into the company (long application process). Not easy to move around in the company when it comes to jobs ( you must stay in your position at least 2yrs)

    3M2020-01-21
  7. "Great Values & Well Looked After"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copilot in London, England

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance Great company and products (Leading) Safe job security (If on headcount)

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for progression & not great advice for progression

    3M2020-01-21
  8. "3M is an excellent corporate citizen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I appreciate working for a company that takes places a high value on ethical behavior by its leaders and employees, on diversity and inclusion, and on environmental sustainability.

    Cons

    Decisions sometimes seem short-sighted with focus on immediate results.

    3M2020-01-21
  9. "Good work life balance and friendly culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Meriden, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - 3M club events for employees - Good flexibility for work-life balance - Opportunity to learn new technologies

    Cons

    - Some proprietary legacy technologies that are challenging to work with (Domain)

    Advice to Management

    Less micromanagement with Scrum/Agile and focus more on the big picture

    3M2020-01-21
  10. "advanced Application Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advanced Technical Support Representative in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the friendly working environment, collegues and corparate system

    Cons

    How to evaluate the value of a employee? How to recognize and keep a valued talent?

    Advice to Management

    The 1st thing ist to define the job duties for every job title and clearly and conduct performance evaluation at the end of each year, especially marketing department. The 2nd is to consider how to form the maximum resultant force based on every effort made by everybody in 3M.

    3M2020-01-22
Found 2864 reviews
</>Embed