3M Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

3M Reviews

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
3M CEO Mike Roman
Mike Roman
256 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexability , focus on work life balance(in 170 reviews)

  • "Takes care of its employees, once you're in you are solid, good benefits, extremely ethical(in 134 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Good solid company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ethical, stable, collaborative, diverse, growing

    Cons

    Red tape, overly conservative, access to accurate data

    3M2019-03-01
  2. "Salesoperations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst 

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work Good Environment

    Cons

    Improve their systems and upgrade

    3M2019-11-18
  3. "Rewarding projects with lots to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at 3M

    Pros

    It’s who you work with; and I work with a great team at a small site! Management visits one or more times each year and knows each of us by name.

    Cons

    Recent reorganizations have stalled a few projects. It takes guts to say “Let’s stop and revisit this decision” and introduces ambiguity.

    Advice to Management

    I see you working the plan. I’m excited to move forward. I remain cautious about the timeline with respect to my individual development plan and career opportunities.

    3M2019-11-14
  4. "Was great while it lasted..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Quality Coordinator in Maplewood, MN
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Well respected, professionally run company that has been around a long time.

    Cons

    If 3M has a weak quarter they respond by cutting jobs. I had my position eliminated twice in 20 months.

    Advice to Management

    Adding a policy that states that an employee cannot have his or her position eliminated more than once in any two-year period would provide some much needed employee job security.

    3M2019-11-15
  5. "It has its pros and it's cons like anywhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer Trainer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pros are definitely their benefits. You can't beat having excellent benefits. They also have many resources for you to get information. They pay well in just about any position you hold and they bring resources onsite sometimes which is great! They had a group that gave mammograms in their very nice and equipped RV.

    Cons

    If you are in production you sometimes have to work 12 hour shifts for several weeks and that becomes unsafe. You also don't get much notice. They may tell you an hour before you get off that you have to stay and that isn't really fair and difficult for those that have younger children but you don't get a choice. I would have to say the biggest most important con is that even though they promote themselves as... being a top company for hiring those with disabilities, and accommodation for them, they are not as accommodating to those with mental disabilities. In my opinion, it's a lack of knowledge.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I believe 3M should invest in training for their HR and higher management to recognize signs of mental disabilities so they can be part of the solution and not part of the problem.

    3M2019-11-12
  6. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great workplace A lot of opportunities Great place for growth

    Cons

    Can be one tracked, depending on opportunity/team.

    3M2019-11-11
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - O2 Engineer in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a good environment

    Cons

    It was stressful at times

    3M2019-11-06
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Great company To work for

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    3M2019-11-05
  9. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Development Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Collaborative culture, Good products, and Highly ethical

    Cons

    Slow decision making , not for people with an entrepreneurial mindset

    3M2019-11-02
  10. "Management Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer SPSD in Maplewood, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, income, collaboration, Many roles

    Cons

    Management culture at the Center is incredibly toxic. This is most apparent to new employees entering. With the absence of pensions, employees move corporations more rapidly. I see the true leaders being ran over by aggressive dog eat dog Managers. They are working 24/7 and burned out. Direction changes daily. If you haven’t been here 20 years, you are viewed as an outsider. The future is made up of employees that... value flexible work and being respected.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect between your Managers. Many meetings can be awkward and embarrassing. True leaders being the leaders. More remote work.

    3M2019-11-15
Found 2774 reviews
</>Embed