Urban Decay Cosmetics Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Urban Decay Cosmetics Reviews

Updated 8 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
38%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Urban Decay Cosmetics General Manager  Elaine Mac Neil   (no image)
Elaine Mac Neil
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and mentors fast growth gratis(in 56 reviews)

  • "Free makeup and compensation for gas(in 16 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Beauty advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cruelty free makeup brand

    Cons

    The hours are difficult and long

    Urban Decay Cosmetics2019-09-23
  2. "Disappointing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Urban Decay Cosmetics part-time

    Pros

    I had good allocation and staff shopping priviledges, great camaraderie with team in store, good counter manager, good relationship and communication with dept and store staff.

    Cons

    Targets deliberatley set high so extra commission unachievable. Field management team unapproachable, emotional, unpredictable. Amateur set up for a loreal brand, not what I was expecting, area sales manager is recruiter, trainer, and everything else. No management field team, very unprofessional. Staff turnover very high. Communication between area sales and teams very poor.

    Continue reading
    Urban Decay Cosmetics2017-02-28
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Not what I was looking for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Urban Decay Cosmetics

    Pros

    Having access to high quality make-up and products, good incentives to encourage you.

    Cons

    No training was given other than an initial introduction to some products. Being asked to traffic stop in areas away from the counter was not only humiliation for me but also the women I approached, e.g. being asked to go to traffic stop in the lingerie section of the department store. Expectations such as wearing fake tan and heavy make-up to fit the bill when really I found it put off potential clients and over all bad employee and employer communication.

    Continue reading
    Urban Decay Cosmetics2014-10-15
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Manager 

    I have been working at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly company to work for, the discounts, really nice products that work

    Cons

    If you want an increase in pay

    Urban Decay Cosmetics2020-01-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Cool product, phony leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Newport Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome relationships with my peers. Car stock and ability to travel all over the country.

    Cons

    I worked under the Urban Decay Macy’s retailer and it was the most manipulative, pressured and over worked time of my life. I was paid 75% of going market salary and was one of the top executives at the time. I gave so much and received little credit, unacceptable pay and little time off work. When I spoke up regarding unprofessionalism and unacceptable behavior other leaders within the department would give me the cold shoulder and act like I was a problem. There is a lot of favoritism, greed and manipulation at the cost of the employees mental health and well being within this particular department of Urban Decay. I did not feel they welcomed an open door policy.

    Continue reading
    Urban Decay Cosmetics2019-12-20
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Huge lay off rate/ worst company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Chicago, IL
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free makeup, discounted makeup, travel

    Cons

    Worked here for 4 years. Huge pressure on making goals and numbers with no recognition. The entire company is ran through favoritism. During my time I seen two huge lay offs in the company. They lay off all of their employees to afford their company parties twice a year. The worst company to work for.

    Urban Decay Cosmetics2019-12-31
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Education Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun brand, some travel, meet lots of people

    Cons

    Little pay, poor management, low morale

    Continue reading
    Urban Decay Cosmetics2019-12-01
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hell, MI
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gratis, relationships with team members and staff within retailers

    Cons

    Mismanagement of staffing, event planning, and 0/10 for transparency. Frivolous spending on launch parties for influencers and nothing close to these perks for freelancers, account managers, and other critical employees in the field sales team.

    Continue reading
    Urban Decay Cosmetics2019-12-17
  9. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Makeup Artist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Decay Cosmetics part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great space to enhance ur skills

    Cons

    Not much opportunity to grow

    Urban Decay Cosmetics2019-11-08
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Biggest Joke in Cosmetics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free makeup, travel, and corporate card for travel expenses.

    Cons

    Urban Decay is a company that runs on a mean girl mentality and based on favoritism. From the very beginning of working for UD it was crammed down our throats by the SVP that he was the only person in the company to know or rate our value and that sales were the root to any chance of moving up within the company or succeeding. Employees were instructed to never use verbiage like, 'great, awesome or incredible' to describe a sales day because according to higher ups you'll never achieve more than 'good.' It's like being brainwashed into never feeling any sense of self accomplishment unless corporate recognizes it. I watched team members being bullied and ostracized by upper management. Multiple employees were promised positions only to be told last minute that the positions didn't exist. The company is currently going through a restructure where they are eliminating over half of their employees and creating new positions that were supposed to be based on experience and merit. I am one of the lucky ones to have kept their job but from what I've seen, the people who have been chosen to stay with the company were picked solely on personal friendships and favoritism. Employees who had achieved much higher sales goals, earned accommodations with the company and literally gave their lives to this brand were passed over for petty friendships. I'm currently looking for another job because I don't trust what this company has in plan for the future. I've never seen a company emotionally manipulate their employees the way this one does. I'm thankful for my experience to help me get to the next step in my career but once I leave UD, I'll never look back.

    Continue reading
    Urban Decay Cosmetics2019-12-09
Found 207 reviews