Productive Edge Reviews

Updated 26 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
84%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Productive Edge Managing Partner Joel Livet (no image)
Joel Livet
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Do not expect any kind of work/life balance here(in 3 reviews)

  • "Office space can be better, but besides that I can't think of anything else(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "UX Designer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience Designer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Productive Edge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great, collaborative team. You can learn a ton of working on divergent projects for various clients. Clients are also good and approachable. Leadership at Productive Edge is down to earth and their doors are always open for all employees.

    Cons

    Office space can be better, but besides that I can't think of anything else.

    Continue reading
    Productive Edge2020-04-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Smart people, caring, cutting-edge"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Productive Edge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment—people work collaboratively and are genuinely interested in the work you’re doing and your personal wellbeing. Great opportunities to work alongside some very smart people and push the limits of emerging technologies. Leadership works hard to maintain a relatively flat organization, providing employees with a lot of autonomy. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Tasks can sometimes be ambiguous and there are not always clear procedures, but this also provides an opportunity to establish your own approach.

    Continue reading
    Productive Edge2019-11-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Collaborative, fun place with great people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Productive Edge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My job is dynamic with a lot of responsibilities and different projects to do, which keeps work interesting. Flexible work environment with understanding management if you need to work from home or adjust work schedule. You are treated as a person not a dollar sign. Open floor plans, company online chats, and well stocked snacks/beer fridge keep employees collaborating and engaged on a daily basis. Very active social and charity committees. Executive team holds quarterly all-hands meetings to discuss state of company (finances/bonuses), special team projects/accomplishments, new employees and anything else relevant. I like this transparency. Management holds internal anonymous employee surveys and listens to employee feedback to improve. Everyone here is smart and humble and easy to work with, which is rare. Much more a collaborative vs competitive environment to grow.

    Cons

    Big drinking culture, would be nice to have more inclusive events not always centered on that. Company is in a growth spurt so can get hectic with new clients and new employees, but that's the cost of expansion so not necessarily a negative. If you don't like change this wouldn't be the right fit. As others have said, no 401k match is a con. The other benefits seem fine to me. As others have mentioned, bonus/raise policies are a bit unclear.

    Continue reading
    Productive Edge2019-08-09
  4. "Caring people, great culture!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Productive Edge full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere with no drama... people are genuinely here to grow in their profession and become stronger players in the tech world. Dynamic social and PE Cares initiatives, at least once a week there is a way to get out of the normal work setting and have some fun or to help out a cause with a group of coworkers. Management is also sincere about taking employee feedback seriously and making improvements where needed. Also doesn't hurt to have a rotation of the best Chicago craft brews on tap ready to go in the kitchen!

    Cons

    Not many cons, management does a good job listening to employee feedback and making adjustments when improvements are needed.

    Continue reading
    Productive Edge2019-03-28
  5. "Excellent Work Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Productive Edge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and work environment. Open loft-style office surrounded by smart minds that allows for frequent knowledge and idea sharing. PE expects consultants to quickly take ownership of their projects upon joining, allowing for rapid integration into the company and work. Many opportunities to socialize with team members through happy hours, weekly social activities and volunteer events.

    Cons

    With PE's rapid growth, hoping to seeing more enthusiasm from leadership in investing in existing employees and promoting from within along with the push for recruiting outside talent.

    Productive Edge2019-02-12
  6. "A Caring and Collaborative Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Productive Edge full-time

    Pros

    People work hard for a common goal. Leadership is transparent. And the benefits are really good. Productive Edge is a great place to learn new skills and grow your career

    Cons

    Things are very fast paced and there are a lot of changes. Part of this is due to the industries served. You have to be on your toes and ready to adapt.

    Continue reading
    Productive Edge2019-02-12
  7. "Cutting edge projects and great culture!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Productive Edge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is super talented. Great culture with a lot of fun people and always social events going on. Management is genuinely concerned with their employees and have moved them internally to keep them happy. Projects are very interesting and always on cutting edge.

    Cons

    Consulting field means you have to get used to change. Cutting edge software means some projects have unique challenges.

    Continue reading
    Productive Edge2019-02-12
  8. "Down to earth, hardworking coworkers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Productive Edge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flat hierarchy, engaged employees, casual company culture, hard-working and smart employees,

    Cons

    Lots of growth, and change, but that isn't necessarily a negative

    Productive Edge2019-02-08
  9. Helpful (8)

    "No Clear Plan, Lack of Company-Wide Leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Productive Edge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - In-office snacks, beer on tap - Regular semi-annual events - Very talented people working below leadership level

    Cons

    - No functional sales organization means that the company is totally dependent on existing clients for new work - This leads to dramatic swings in benefits, staffing levels, and overall mood (based on whether a large existing client is asking for more work, or not) - Leadership is reactionary and uncommunicative, so unless you are in a leadership meeting you do not know what things will look like more than a month out - Compensation is below-average compared to similar roles at related companies - Merit-based raises and promotions are very rare - Bonus plans are subject to change on short notice if the leadership feels they are going to be too expensive (even less than 2 months before they are due to be handed out) - Leadership is not interested in making investments either in new business or employees - If you want to learn new skills, attend an industry conference, or build something to contribute to the larger community, expect to do it without any support from the company (but they will ask you to wear the company logo while you do it) - Internal promotions to leadership are incredibly rare, most new or open positions above the junior level are filled with new hires, (do not expect to grow your resume here)

    Continue reading
    Productive Edge2019-01-22

    Productive Edge Response

    January 25, 2019

    Thank you for the feedback and for recognizing the many talented people who work at Productive Edge. We’re extremely proud of our team and we strive to create a workplace that enables people to grow and be challenged. We’re happy that the majority of reviews here reflect our thriving culture and the opportunities we seek to provide. I’m sorry to hear that you felt uninformed about our direction. We believe transparency is critical, so we leverage multiple channels to consistently share our strategic plans and progress with the company. Upward mobility is also very important to us, so it’s unfortunate that you weren’t able to grow your career to your satisfaction. As you can see from other reviews here, many people have been able to experience great career progression at Productive Edge and we’re happy to have provided that opportunity. I’m also sorry to hear your discontent regarding sales. Business development has been one of our key investment areas, and as a result, we’ve recently experienced some of our greatest growth in years. For a digital technology firm to survive and flourish for over a decade in this highly competitive landscape requires periodic reinvention and financial investment. In making strategic financial decisions, we've always sought to put the overall health of the company first and act in the best interest of our collective Productive Edge family. An objective measure of our team success is our extensive list of happy repeat clients. We believe our great track record is due entirely to our people. They are our best asset, so we’ll continue to invest in them as we pursue another decade of success together.

  10. Helpful (8)

    "A Technology Sweat Shop"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Architect in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Productive Edge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The ability to (occasionally) work from home.

    Cons

    Leadership within the company is inexperienced, and at times unethical. The company is constantly understaffed, and relies heavily on outsourced employees to handle much of the heavy technical lifting. The benefits are abysmal to say the least. Compensation is sub-par, awful health insurance options, and no 401K match is offered.

    Continue reading
    Productive Edge2019-02-07
Found 54 reviews