Hitachi Rail Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Hitachi Rail Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Hitachi Rail Group CEO Alistair Dormer (no image)
Alistair Dormer
33 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Managers think they are better than everyone else and treat you like second class citizens(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "My worst job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi Rail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Location of the office Location Location

    Cons

    They are proud of giving equal opportunity to men and women. Most women are in secretarial jobs and technical jobs are filled in by men. Japanese are the priority When they say there's opportunity for growth they mean you can grow from a receptionist to a secretary! There is no plan for training skilled workers.

    Advice to Management

    become more approachable

    Hitachi Rail2019-11-17
  2. "Reactive environment, negative culture, massive room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The design of the trains are excellent and we offer an excellent end product to the customer

    Cons

    Lots of recent leadership changes have meant priorities keep changing and we are working in a very reactive environment which has got quite negative. There is a lack of clear and documented processes in a lot of areas. There often seems to be a conflict between the need to expand and deliver vs making financial savings.

    Advice to Management

    Decide on your priorities, communicate them clearly and Focus resources on them appropriately rather than having everyone try to fix everything at the same time which is ineffective.

    Hitachi Rail2019-10-24
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, pension & benefits

    Cons

    Lack of organisation within the company

    Hitachi Rail2019-10-06
  4. "Discrimination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Newton Aycliffe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clean job, to much time on SAP to do job I as to quick job which normally takes 28h. I done within 5 hours so plenty of time to complete task, very easy job even my 14 years old son will manage

    Cons

    Badly organized, I was discriminate by manager simply he try to find the way to kick me out. But Ieave myself.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people equally don't matter about where thay come from. Some managers don't got proper experience thay need to learn more how to speak to people.

    Hitachi Rail2019-11-09
  5. "Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time

    Pros

    Best Environment, Better Opportunities,Awesome place, Better people

    Cons

    Location, Timings, No Cabs and Travel

    Hitachi Rail2019-09-29
  6. "Hitachi Rail Europe is a decent company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in London, England

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Shift pattern is very good.

    Cons

    Working 12 hour shifts can be tiring.

    Hitachi Rail2019-09-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Railway Technician at Hitachi London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Technician in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent Pay package and benefits. Diverse and multicultural colleagues. Chances for progression/internal jobs availability to move up the grade.

    Cons

    Very disorganised and the budget and funding are not channelled at the right avenue, such as high quality training, tooling/equipment, diagnostic laptops etc. Nepotism which pretty much exists in most company, is sadly also present here. Very poor communication among different department. Dissemination of important technical and engineering information is difficult to obtain. Not much feeling of being... appreciated and sometimes very mundane and repetitive task can demotivate. Higher management does not seem to care about the workers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, invest in education/good training and show more interest in retaining people. Communication and sharing of information requires review and improvement. Buy the employees proper tools!

    Hitachi Rail2019-08-30
  8. "Siloed work environment and chaotic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary is competitive for market rate

    Cons

    Very reactive instead of proactive, often in disarray. Siloed work environment, therefore kills morale if new to the team/business. Little to no culture, people do their job and go home. No company socials.

    Advice to Management

    Culture and structure needs heavy improvement. plan processes properly before execution.

    Hitachi Rail2019-08-19
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Test Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great, salary is competitive, people are wonderful to work with

    Cons

    Difficult to advance in career

    Hitachi Rail2019-07-09
  10. "Not your typical rail company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Rail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good wages, tidy colleagues. Interesting job

    Cons

    Poor middle management. No structure. Many ongoing issues and discrepancies across the business

    Advice to Management

    Sort out your middle management as the negativity is killing the working environment

    Hitachi Rail2019-07-05
Found 55 reviews