Hastings Direct Reviews

Updated 5 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Hastings Direct Chief Executive Officer Toby van der Meer (no image)
Toby van der Meer
66 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lots of 20 year olds as team leaders that think they know everything; very patronising(in 12 reviews)

  • "These problems are typical of many call centre based environments but have increased in the Renewals department compared with how things used to be(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "salary"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Complaints in Bexhill, England

    I worked at Hastings Direct part-time

    Pros

    lots of good benefits that they offer - nice work environment

    Cons

    no cons personally, left due to change in career

    Hastings Direct Response

    July 31, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience at Hastings Direct.

  2. "good job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay, good employee benefits

    Cons

    extremely productive, not allowed to talk to colleagues


  3. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve really enjoyed my start at Hastings Direct. It was unusual being on-boarded remotely but everything has been good. The people at Hastings are really supportive - always a sign that the senior management genuinely car about their Colleagues. This is actually 1 of 4 key pillars, the other 3 being Customers, Company & Community. Straightaway I’ve seen evidence of the company living their clear vision through these pillars and communication is really good. The on boarding was very well organised and I’m very happy with the benefits package.

    Cons

    The IT is very very tightly locked down

    Continue reading

    Hastings Direct Response

    July 16, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here.

  4. "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Analyst in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time

    Pros

    Friendly management, and nice social atmosphere

    Cons

    Poorly managed, little training and onvoarding

    Hastings Direct Response

    July 16, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for your feedback, we’re sorry to hear that you felt this way. So that we can address this, please email us at RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

  5. "Great perks from a fabulous company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in role Perks Hours Discounts Team Cross training Liaising with other departments

    Cons

    High pressure Sometimes no help Stressful situations Tiring Call volume

    Continue reading

    Hastings Direct Response

    July 2, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! We're pleased to hear you’re enjoying your experience at Hastings Direct.

  6. "Good and rewarding jobs depending on your department"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loads of benefits and a variety of departments to explore and gain experience in. The salary is decent with a nice office location.

    Cons

    Within retail the progression is difficult and I was often looked down upon by being a young team leader. Some of the leadership and management in retail is poor and it can be difficult to stand out in this competitive and sometimes toxic work environment.

    Continue reading

    Hastings Direct Response

    June 19, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and we value your feedback. We will take your comments on board as we continually review and work to improve our colleague experience.

  7. "Great job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hastings Direct part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of responsibilities in a target driven environment.

    Cons

    A lot of pressure to meet hard to obtain targets.

    Hastings Direct Response

    June 19, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your experience here.

  8. "salary"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retention Specialist in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the canteen was subsidised, card payment on vending machines, free food given out to increase morale...my own TL was professional and friendly.

    Cons

    Other TLs were not professional, no work ethic and preyed upon the young work force as they don't know anything about HR procedures and what shouldn't be allowed. They all in all used step up TLs promising false hopes for a full time TL position where nothing as such was in the pipeline. Diversity ? this is something that needs to be picked up... 80% - 90% percent of the work force on the phones are from an ethnic backgrounds. - CR, RET, New Business etc Approx 80% of TLs are from an ethnic background also. In spite of the above numbers, 95% of the CCLs within Leicester are British White.... Think this says a lot about the recruitment process...

    Continue reading

    Hastings Direct Response

    June 19, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We take your concerns on board and we will look into how we can improve these areas further to ensure working at Hastings Direct is a positive experience for all. If you would like to provide further feedback or have ideas on how we could better improve these areas please email us at RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

  9. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Director of Counter Fraud in London, England

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time

    Pros

    Easy for good people to thrive

    Cons

    All is good, no cons

  10. "Poor management in third party claims"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CLAIMS ADVISOR in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are great to work with

    Cons

    Senior management who don’t know what their department does and lack knowledge of processes

    Continue reading

    Hastings Direct Response

    May 22, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

Found 234 reviews