Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Great Clips Reviews

Updated 28 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
434 Ratings
Pros
  • "They will help you grow as a stylist through classes if your not very confident(in 190 reviews)

  • "tips daily decent pay fast paced(in 145 reviews)

Cons
  • "I really wish people would realize we are stylists who SPECIALIZE in haircuts(in 231 reviews)

  • "If you do not liked to be timed on haircuts this is not the place for you either(in 147 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work culture, easy hours. Nice people. Work is average but that is to be expected.

    Cons

    None yet - will see as it goes

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you doing

    Great Clips2017-02-02
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff, good pay , great hours , new owners are understanding and Willing to help

    Cons

    I have no cons I enjoy my job.

    Great Clips2020-01-29
  3. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Morehead City, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love working with this team and organization that cares so much about their people and their success

    Cons

    Scheduling is a little hard, but the more you work - the more you make!

    Advice to Management

    Just make sure every stylist knows they are a valued member.

    Great Clips2020-01-26
  4. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team work. Cutting. Education . Experience and fun

    Cons

    Only cutting. No color. No waxing.

    Advice to Management

    Not every great clips runs the same

    Great Clips2020-01-19
  5. "Overworked & Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Full time, awesome coworkers, tips

    Cons

    Underpaid, uncaring franchise, no benefits

    Great Clips2020-01-26
  6. "Ok not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Burlington, NC
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast cash. It’s pretty easy. They have vacation and insurance if you are full time and been there for a year.

    Cons

    Managers will work you to death if you let them. Owners and managers do not care about abut employees. They pay a low wage. To make any money you have to basically work like a crazy person which leads to lower quality work. I saw lots of discrimination and unethical work practices in my time here.

    Advice to Management

    Stop discriminating and treat people with respect

    Great Clips2020-01-24
  7. "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consolidation Accountant in Loveland, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers. Good management. Good hours.

    Cons

    Multiple locations to travel to.

    Great Clips2020-01-09
  8. "Hairstylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hairstylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility and fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Hourly pay is less than minimum wage

    Advice to Management

    Compensate employees better and they will stick around causing less turnover

    Great Clips2020-01-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A good stepping stone, but toxic work ethic required."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    401k, health insurance, dental, eye insurance, it’s obviously expensive but nice they offer it. Paid vacation.

    Cons

    If you are not “full time flexible” you basically qualify for no benefits. Meaning 40+ hours a week, all weekend, holidays. 8 hour shifts without lunch.

    Advice to Management

    I worked for great clips for nine years and I was in management, I left on great terms but was berated by my franchisee. I was told I was going to end up on welfare if I left great clips. Word to the wise: treating your employees like humans will get you far. Focus less on numbers and the well being of your staff, and you will see success.

    Great Clips2020-01-21
  10. "Do your hw on franchise and location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Draper, UT
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable productivity pay scale, provided your location stays busy.

    Cons

    Depending on your franchise, management is hit and miss when it comes to culture.

    Great Clips2020-01-15
Found 2015 reviews