Google Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Google Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
86%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Google CEO Sundar Pichai
Sundar Pichai
3,239 Ratings
Pros
  • "Also the usuals: amazing free food(in 906 reviews)

  • "Smart people - Nothing boosts your development as working with people smarter then you(in 750 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Innovative, curious, empathic people make it a great environment to grow, learn and develop ideas and oneself.

    Cons

    Working load if not managed well can get excessive. That said no one forces you, but as you are surrounded by ambitious, smart individuals the bar is high and so to excel many push themselves beyond a healthy worklife balance.

    Google2019-12-08
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Supportive environment for new parents

    Cons

    US centric, long hours, difficulty disconnecting

    Google2019-12-02
  3. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Google full-time

    Pros

    Great place no cans I can think of

    Cons

    None at all that I can think of

    Google2019-11-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good working culture, amazing perks and cool projects to work on.

    Cons

    As you get more senior things get very political as it happens in almost any big companies.

    Google2019-12-08
  5. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Google full-time

    Pros

    Fancy office and attractive benefits

    Cons

    Work load and pressure depending on the team

    Google2019-12-06
  6. "Great company to start off your career in tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time

    Pros

    Onboarding resources, work definition, great learning opportunities, people

    Cons

    It's becoming slow moving and it's harder to progress from within the company for mid-senior staff

    Google2019-11-19
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HRBP 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time

    Pros

    best in class professionals strong leadership team strong sense of culture

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Advice to Management

    more flexibility on remote working

    Google2019-11-18
  8. "Great role for sales career, Think again for marketing career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay, Flexible work depending on team, Good international experience, possibility to move offices.

    Cons

    Hard to find work in marketing after it as it's super specialised in Google products. Easy to find sales and account management roles though, so I would advise the role for someone looking to build a tech sales career, not for anyone trying to build a career in Marketing.

    Google2019-12-01
  9. "All that glitters is not gold"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food, health care and gym

    Cons

    Work hours, unfair bias shown regularly

    Google2019-11-29
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing benefits, but a difficult place to be happy and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really good benefits, in some departments amazing colleagues. Good company brand that open doors.

    Cons

    Google is a big corporation where all the decision is made by your manager. He/she will be the main pillar that will determine if you will have work/life balance, how you will be compensated, if you will develop new skills, if you have possibilities to grow. I have been in 3 departments, 2 of them I had managers that were very strong individual contributors with very bad people management skills, and 1 was very good.... Google is so big that nobody will notice the impact of your work, hence you depend on the evaluation of your manager. I also has cases of harassment and discrimination to which Google does nothing but give trainings. Culture and values also depend on the department.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Strong KPIs do not position someone to be a manager. He/she still needs people management skills.

    Google2019-11-22
Found 9604 reviews