GetYourGuide Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

GetYourGuide Reviews

Updated Dec 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
GetYourGuide CEO Johannes Reck
Johannes Reck
122 Ratings
Pros
  • "My favourite thing about GetYourGuide is that the company culture and values are taken seriously(in 15 reviews)

  • "Free Breakfast and snacks and nice enough people(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Customer service employees scramble to compete to apply for higher paid roles(in 6 reviews)

  • "a bit low salary level, 15% less of the ideal motivating salary(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (12)

    "Limited vision, poor-quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time

    Pros

    - Terrible senior leadership but lovely colleagues

    Cons

    - No upward mobility or career growth - Closed-minded leadership, systemic sexism - Huge disparity in salaries - High churn - Confusion in growth goals; quick but unsustainable growth approach

    GetYourGuide2019-01-13
  2. "Very good employee with exciting challenges and amazing colleauges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Zürich
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice office, exciting projects and room for initiatives and ownership. Nice colleagues!

    Cons

    Most people work in the Berlin office. Collaboration cross location can be tricky sometimes.

    GetYourGuide2019-12-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Front End Engineer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The environment is great and productive. There's no mindless pressure, but management trusts us to deliver results. Upper management actually practices what the company culture preaches, so there's no cognitive dissonant. I joined a great team, that includes management and the CTO. That actually helped me decide to join here.

    Cons

    I don't really know much yet about my career path. And it is not easy for a foreigner to adjust to Berlin, but that's not the companies fault (and there isn't anything wrong with Berlin for that matter, quite the opposite).

    GetYourGuide2019-11-20
  4. "100 % Recommendation to work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Coordinator in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A very nice company with a great culture. The process in HR are very well defined and teams are perfectly aligned with the company's goals. Ver nice Onboarding sessions, where you can be inmmerse in what GetYour Guide offers as a product. Breakfast included that is very appreciate, global updates, amazing team Culture and different ways to improve in terms of inclusion, professionalism, opportunities to grow in your... career. 100% recommended

    Show More

    Cons

    More benefits as educational budget and offices with more confortable spaces for employees. It's understandable that as we moved recently, there are still some many changes coming up.

    GetYourGuide2019-11-22
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and challenging problems

    Cons

    Growing at scale implies cost of alignment and culture change

    GetYourGuide2019-10-24
  6. "Not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some part of the people but not everybody

    Cons

    You can not have your own ideas because you will be punished and maybe even fired. A lot of things appear very fake and artificial. The senior management seems to be very tired. You dont see good energy and vibes. Some people pretend to be your friend but they want to put a knife in your back. This company is since 10 years on the market and still does not make any profit, very suspect...

    GetYourGuide2019-11-29
  7. "Great Employer, exciting projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Clear mission from senior leadership - Great colleagues and collaborative environment - Strong Culture - Challenging projects - Freedom to do the job and challenge the status quo - Open communication

    Cons

    Sometimes lack of structure due to the massive growth

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to feedback and maintain the open communication

    GetYourGuide2019-10-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting, fast growing company with lots of opportunity for personal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for growth. Tight recruitment process means you'll be working with some of he best in your field. Amazing office in a great location. Good perks. Very open communication for a company of this size, which regular meetings on all-company performance and objectives.

    Cons

    Hypergrowth can be difficult. Things change fast and you can either find it an exciting challenge or a little unsettling.

    GetYourGuide2019-09-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "More cons than pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues, free breakfasts, free soft drinks, beers on Friday (limited)

    Cons

    Politics, favoritism, no learning opportunities, tasks are getting more limited as the company grows, you are expected to work extra hours in most departments (not paid), VPs are literally saying that they are ok if people leave

    Advice to Management

    Concentrate on a staff retention rate instead of having next round of investments

    GetYourGuide2019-09-27
  10. "Love where you’re working!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - B2B Affiliate Partner Representative in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been working at GetYourGuide for a couple of months now, but I feel like I’ve known my team for ages! The young vibrant atmosphere is something unique to start-ups in general but GYG knows how to make its employees feel happy and satisfied with their job. The working environment is relaxed (even though everyone works hard) and international: people literally come from every corner of the planet, meaning that... you’ll never get bored! Friday updates with pizza&beer or team buildings are also part of GYG lifestyle. I would add that being a fast growing start-up enables employees to strengthen their knowledge, face new challenges and explore different career paths.

    Show More

    Cons

    Being a company that is growing so fast means also feeling a little overwhelmed by all the new people coming on board, which is amazing but scary at the same time. I am pretty curious to find out how GYG will look like in a couple of years.

    Advice to Management

    As far as I could experience, it is pretty easy to reach out to any manager in the company. At least you have the change to open up about issues that you’re encountering and try to find a solution.

    GetYourGuide2019-09-11
Found 158 reviews