Evergreen Packaging Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
41%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Evergreen Packaging President and CEO John Rooney (no image)
John Rooney
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and benefits after you've been there at least a year(in 5 reviews)

  • "There are good people mixed in but you have to seek them out(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lovely place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Evergreen Packaging part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and environment

    Cons

    Workloads are unreasonably large and big

    Evergreen Packaging2020-02-17
  2. "Your a number but pay is well."

    3.0
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Waynesville, NC

    I have been working at Evergreen Packaging full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You can basically make as much as you want.

    Cons

    Upper management is terrible. Forced in on days off.

    Evergreen Packaging2019-10-24
  3. "Great Culture, Great People, Great Career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evergreen Packaging full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Evergreen is a great company to work for. They offer mobility and advancement to further your career with them and develop your skills.

    Cons

    The team is kept very slim and makes working more difficult.

    Continue reading
    Evergreen Packaging2019-09-13
  4. "Run away."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Olmsted Falls, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evergreen Packaging full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits but that doesn’t make up for all of the bad.

    Cons

    Long mandatory hours 6 days per week minimum- unpaid for supervisors and managers, no work/life balance, OLD and unreliable equipment makes it impossible to hit production goals, poor maintenance. The list goes on and on.

    Continue reading
    Evergreen Packaging2019-10-15
  5. "Horrible management, uncaring and overworking"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Labor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evergreen Packaging full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The coworkers were great people

    Cons

    They don’t give a crap about their employees forced 12 hours all week, rarely get a a day off. Had to call off only ONCE for my daughter having a seizure and they fired me.

    Continue reading
    Evergreen Packaging2019-08-30
  6. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Loader in Athens, GA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Evergreen Packaging full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay , Good people

    Cons

    Rotating shifts, Kind of hot place to work

    Evergreen Packaging2019-07-24
  7. "Stay away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Evergreen Packaging full-time

    Pros

    If going thru 3 plant managers in 18 months is a pro.

    Cons

    Way behind the times in technology. Poorly managed from corporate. No accountability from the director level and above.

    Evergreen Packaging2019-07-02
  8. "Good opportunity"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Evergreen Packaging full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, benefits, good people to work with

    Cons

    They try to do too much with too few people and try to do too many things at the last minute

    Evergreen Packaging2019-03-17
  9. "Horrible/racist"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Evergreen Packaging full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Money and union if you make it that far

    Cons

    Only 3 african americanswork there . very racist . will do whatever to het you out of there before you join union

    Continue reading
    Evergreen Packaging2019-04-14
  10. "I wish them the best"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Canton, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Evergreen Packaging full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It was close to home and paid more than most other companies in the area. There are good people mixed in but you have to seek them out. Most are pretty beat down.

    Cons

    Very long hours. The company expects a minimum of 50-60 hours per week. By the time I left the benefits were getting very costly. I ended up taking a pay cut because our insurance went up so much. The management rules with an iron fist. They don't appreciate what they have. The infrastructure is crumbling even after spending 50+ MM on environmental upgrades. They don't like to promote from within. They will underpay you but pay upper management big dollars. There's a huge disconnect between management and front line leadership. The Union is so disgruntled it makes directing work flow very difficult. Limited opportunity for growth. If they like you in a position, plan to be there for a while.

    Continue reading
    Evergreen Packaging2019-03-23
Found 61 reviews