Etsy Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Etsy Reviews

Updated 30 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 150 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Etsy CEO Josh Silverman
Josh Silverman
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "Teams, culture, flexibility, technology work/life balance(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great benefits offered vacation and medical for and for 401k(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance was a mixed bag(in 7 reviews)

  • "Sentiment amongst Etsy sellers can be demoralizing, but the company is listening to them and things are getting better(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly and stressless environment, very generous compensations & benefits, above market salary, great values.

    Cons

    No remote opportunities for Europe, Poor onboarding

    Etsy2019-05-17
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Operations Shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Lunches RSU are very generous Salary are well above normal engineering salary

    Cons

    Toxic work environment Poor leadership Management with no in depth engineering leadership Talk of Blameless but its quite the opposite Lots of individuals and Zero Team Spirit

    Etsy2018-12-04
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy

    Pros

    Nothing apart from the location

    Cons

    Culture of bullying in Finance.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the Finance Management in Dublin

    Etsy2018-09-15
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Great potential ruined by office politics, chaos and mind games"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits, stunning offices. Dog friendly office, most people were very nice

    Cons

    Constant chaos, massive blame culture. Politics and mind games in HR was the worst I have ever encountered in over 11 years of being in the workforce. Work life balance was a mixed bag. Some team members taking complete advantage of it whilst others were clearly suffering from stress as a result of not being allowed to log off without fear of being reprimanded. Unreasonable escalations seemed regular and very common...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Support your staff and don't project your short comings on them.

    Etsy2017-07-28
  5. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly values aligned business which places employees and community at the centre of all decisions. Every employee is committed to Etsy's mission and lives it daily with all interactions. Highly collaborative environment where openness and transparency is encouraged. Fast paced and challenging work environment with great rewards! Great place to work!

    Cons

    There is sometimes a downside of fast paced and challenging, and that's Work Life Balance, however Etsy has a very flexible approach to when times are busy.

    Advice to Management

    As we grow Internationally being mindful of global timezones and involving international input with project enhancements / roll outs for process improvements

    Etsy2016-12-14
  6. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice atmosphere, B-corp organization, they offer a lot of flexibility to their employees.

    Cons

    Cant think of anything, my experience has been really good so far

    Etsy2016-01-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for, culture of collaboration, forward thinking mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The leadership org is cognizant of of pain points and actively seeks to improve There is a cohesive culture where it feels most everyone believes in the mission to humanize eCommerce I have noticed that if you are honest about your career trajectory, management will give you a roadmap Great work life balance

    Cons

    Some roles could use a more defined scope. If you are interviewing for a role here, make sure that you ask about your first 30/60/90 days and what success looks like for that time period.

    Etsy2019-07-30
  8. "Great time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in New York, NY

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, good growth opportunities

    Cons

    nothing worth mentioning. I was pretty happy

    Etsy2019-07-20
  9. "Fast paced, but extremely supportive and innovative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at Etsy has been a great experience for the last 3 years. It's been up and down, but in a good way. We definitely move fast, and are constantly changing and pivoting but in this industry it is paramount that we are continuously iterating on our roadmap to stay competitive. We celebrate wins, we are inclusive, we care about the environment and about our social and economic impact. Etsy really cares about you. You...

    Show More

    Cons

    The only thing I'd say that is a con is that moving quickly and changing directions can get a little exhausting for some. So in order to be successful at Etsy, you have to be resilient and not take it personally if we decide to change directions every now and then. Some folks feel like they have great work life balance, others might not. But it really depends on the environment you came from. We definitely work really...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing - continue to be transparent in communication, listen to us as employees and celebrate wins.

    Etsy2019-07-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Promising company, disappointing structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product, fantastic teammates, engaging problem space

    Cons

    Engineering lacks strategic vision, company is disorganized, it feels like we reorg every three months. Tech debt keeps piling up and products don't ship due to lack of engineering accountability and management infighting

    Etsy2019-07-25
Found 150 reviews