Etsy Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Etsy Reviews

Updated 14 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Etsy CEO Josh Silverman
Josh Silverman
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Teams, culture, flexibility, technology work/life balance(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great benefits offered vacation and medical for and for 401k(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some folks feel like they have great work life balance, others might not(in 8 reviews)

  • "Sentiment amongst Etsy sellers can be demoralizing, but the company is listening to them and things are getting better(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly and stressless environment, very generous compensations & benefits, above market salary, great values.

    Cons

    No remote opportunities for Europe, Poor onboarding

    Etsy2019-05-17
  2. "Overall positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Amazing offices Great guiding principles

    Cons

    Limited opportunities outside of US

    Etsy2019-09-12
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Operations Shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Lunches RSU are very generous Salary are well above normal engineering salary

    Cons

    Toxic work environment Poor leadership Management with no in depth engineering leadership Talk of Blameless but its quite the opposite Lots of individuals and Zero Team Spirit

    Etsy2018-12-04
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Finance in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy

    Pros

    Nothing apart from the location

    Cons

    Culture of bullying in Finance.

    Continue reading
    Etsy2018-09-15
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Great potential ruined by office politics, chaos and mind games"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits, stunning offices. Dog friendly office, most people were very nice

    Cons

    Constant chaos, massive blame culture. Politics and mind games in HR was the worst I have ever encountered in over 11 years of being in the workforce. Work life balance was a mixed bag. Some team members taking complete advantage of it whilst others were clearly suffering from stress as a result of not being allowed to log off without fear of being reprimanded. Unreasonable escalations seemed regular and very common . Values were not lived up to. In saying this , I saw this at the time as being down to huge confusion and a lack of cohesion within senior management

    Continue reading
    Etsy2017-07-28
  6. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly values aligned business which places employees and community at the centre of all decisions. Every employee is committed to Etsy's mission and lives it daily with all interactions. Highly collaborative environment where openness and transparency is encouraged. Fast paced and challenging work environment with great rewards! Great place to work!

    Cons

    There is sometimes a downside of fast paced and challenging, and that's Work Life Balance, however Etsy has a very flexible approach to when times are busy.

    Continue reading
    Etsy2016-12-14
  7. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice atmosphere, B-corp organization, they offer a lot of flexibility to their employees.

    Cons

    Cant think of anything, my experience has been really good so far

    Etsy2016-01-10
  8. "Toxic political environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation & benefits, perks, events

    Cons

    Disorganized, lack of accountability, poor leadership, toxic work environment

    Etsy2019-10-14
  9. "Can't imagine where else I'd want to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Engineering in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of career growth opportunities here and ability to have a huge impact. You don't usually get this with as large of a company (or as much technical scale) as we have: it's a pretty special place from that regard. The culture is also great. We have progressive benefits (half a year of parental leave!), yummy snacks, and engaged leadership that really knows what's going on in individual teams and is excited to speak to individuals on those teams.

    Cons

    Things move quick here. The people who are most successful tend to be comfortable working through ambiguity.

    Etsy2019-08-23
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great company to work for, culture of collaboration, forward thinking mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The leadership org is cognizant of of pain points and actively seeks to improve There is a cohesive culture where it feels most everyone believes in the mission to humanize eCommerce I have noticed that if you are honest about your career trajectory, management will give you a roadmap Great work life balance

    Cons

    Some roles could use a more defined scope. If you are interviewing for a role here, make sure that you ask about your first 30/60/90 days and what success looks like for that time period.

    Etsy2019-07-30
Found 154 reviews
</>Embed