Etsy Reviews

Updated 14 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
58%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Etsy CEO Josh Silverman
Josh Silverman
74 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some folks feel like they have great work life balance, others might not(in 8 reviews)

  • "Sentiment amongst Etsy sellers can be demoralizing, but the company is listening to them and things are getting better(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best working environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly and stressless environment, very generous compensations & benefits, above market salary, great values.

    Cons

    No remote opportunities for Europe, Poor onboarding

    Etsy2019-05-17
  2. "Overall positive"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Amazing offices Great guiding principles

    Cons

    Limited opportunities outside of US

    Etsy2019-09-12
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Operations Shop"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Lunches RSU are very generous Salary are well above normal engineering salary

    Cons

    Toxic work environment Poor leadership Management with no in depth engineering leadership Talk of Blameless but its quite the opposite Lots of individuals and Zero Team Spirit

    Etsy2018-12-04
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Finance"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Finance in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy

    Pros

    Nothing apart from the location

    Cons

    Culture of bullying in Finance.

    Continue reading
    Etsy2018-09-15
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Great potential ruined by office politics, chaos and mind games"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits, stunning offices. Dog friendly office, most people were very nice

    Cons

    Constant chaos, massive blame culture. Politics and mind games in HR was the worst I have ever encountered in over 11 years of being in the workforce. Work life balance was a mixed bag. Some team members taking complete advantage of it whilst others were clearly suffering from stress as a result of not being allowed to log off without fear of being reprimanded. Unreasonable escalations seemed regular and very common . Values were not lived up to. In saying this , I saw this at the time as being down to huge confusion and a lack of cohesion within senior management

    Continue reading
    Etsy2017-07-28
  6. "Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly values aligned business which places employees and community at the centre of all decisions. Every employee is committed to Etsy's mission and lives it daily with all interactions. Highly collaborative environment where openness and transparency is encouraged. Fast paced and challenging work environment with great rewards! Great place to work!

    Cons

    There is sometimes a downside of fast paced and challenging, and that's Work Life Balance, however Etsy has a very flexible approach to when times are busy.

    Continue reading
    Etsy2016-12-14
  7. "Admin"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice atmosphere, B-corp organization, they offer a lot of flexibility to their employees.

    Cons

    Cant think of anything, my experience has been really good so far

    Etsy2016-01-10
  8. "Pretty great"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY

    I worked at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Etsy's pretty great to work at

    Cons

    In brooklyn, can be interesting to commute to

    Etsy2020-05-14
  9. "Etsy Analyst"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 

    I worked at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Good work atmosphere, very inclusive

    Cons

    lack of direction from management

    Etsy2020-04-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not creative and not organised"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Workplace teams look after the teams with food, treats and events.

    Cons

    Team members are long standing and very cliquey. Management is a mess and unsupportive. No structure or forward thinking. Overall performance is low and teams are inexperienced. No diversity. No real regard for staff. Work moves at a glacial pace. Goal posts get moved too often.

    Continue reading
    Etsy2020-04-21
Found 158 reviews
</>Embed