Cloudera Reviews

Updated 31 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Cloudera President and Chief Executive Officer Rob Bearden
Rob Bearden
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Has a GREAT reputation in the Big Data world(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great place to work, Open culture, free lunch(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "As with all start-ups that go IPO, there are some growing pains and there is a need to roll up sleeves(in 30 reviews)

  • "Too much work, work life balance not very well(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "An incredible place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A fantastic company providing ground breaking and disruptive software to Enterprises around the Globe. The people who work here are amazing to be around and are very positive and friendly. Our ISR manager and Sales Director are determined to help make us as successful as possible and they are true, engaged leaders who are eager to coach and help where needed. My role here is very supported with relevant content and continuous training and enablement sessions. The investment that Cloudera puts into its people just shows the sheer maturity of the organisation. Cloudera applies a professional and perfectionist approach to everything while still remaining a friendly, open, inclusive and diverse company. There are strong career growth opportunities within Cloudera and the interview process was seamless and very enjoyable. From the moment that I received that lovely and intriguing message on Linkedin from their fantastic recruitment team in Cork, I knew that this was the company to be working with. The perks are next to none and you are extremely well looked after here. Working with Cloudera is fantastic career move that anyone should take if they get the chance!

    Cons

    I can think of none.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2020-04-08
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Seriously needs to get things together which is something you would never know until it's too late."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera full-time

    Pros

    Good salary. Free weekly lunch.

    Cons

    Toxic colleagues. Toxic managers. Severe superiority complexes from all areas of the business. Very small fish in a huge 'big data' pond.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2020-01-20
  3. "On the rise"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture to be impactful. You can make actual change. We’re still at a size where you can be visible and actually be seen for what you do and achieve. We’ve seen the challenges following on from the merger and have actual realistic plans to rectify this. CDP is going to be a game changing platform. Investors are finally seeing the pros and that’s evident in the raise in recent days. I’m genuinely excited about what we’ve been doing in EMEA lately. We have a buzz again! We took time to figure out how to fix what wasn’t working. There are still some things to work on for sure but from the top down with our interim CEO Marty to the dedication and execution of the people on the front lines anything is possible!

    Cons

    Some decisions took longer than I might like but in all honesty we now have a realistic plan. We need to continue to drive cultural integration across our teams.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2019-08-01
  4. "Fantastic place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Happy hour, flexible working, never dull, great teams & great leaders

    Cons

    There has been a lot of change at the top recently which has scared people initially but this was for the best.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2019-07-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to grow and learn"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Genuine Enterprise Software Company Ambitious and investing in the future Cares about the people who work here Demands you invest in yourself to improve your contribution to the company More than fair comp

    Cons

    Mergers are always tougher then everyone thinks they will be, it going to take time

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2019-07-09
  6. "On the cusp of GREATNESS!!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Let's be real here; we have experienced alot of change but this is expected with a merger. The great news is.... the foundation is strong and we are in GROWTH mode!!! This week Scott Aronson and Stephen Line are holding a Leadership Workshop in Cork and the buzz is electric. We are laser focused and every team knows what their part is; so we are ready to execute with a renewed urgency. We have an inspiring leadership team who have a clear vision and WE are going to be the game changer for our customers. With over 70 open roles in EMEA; we want the best people on our team to ensure we continue to build momentum in the market. Learn more about our exciting journey today... check out our careers page!

    Cons

    We have lost some good people but that happens with a merger and it is unfortunate. However, that opens the door to opportunities for other great people to inspire and lead us on the next stage of your journey - Cloud! We are fast moving and it is hard work but I love a challenge and thats why I am part of team Cloudera!

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2019-06-13
  7. "Lot of potential"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Service Delivery Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has good, smart people and decent products

    Cons

    Ever since the Hortonworks merger, the company seems to struggle with finding it's future direction. COVID-19 hasn't helped matters. Will be interesting to see how the company does once things settle down.

    Cloudera2020-05-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "used to be great"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Curriculum Developer in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cloudera has super smart people at the individual contributor and first line management levels. There is a collaborative atmosphere. People are quick to help one another out. The technology is interesting. The pay is good. Untracked/unlimited time off is great.

    Cons

    I worked at Cloudera for many years and used to love it. However, the culture started changing when they merged with Hortonworks in 2019, and went downhill quickly when the new CEO, Rob Bearden, took over. Now it feels like employees are considered cogs in a machine and work-live balance is no longer a concern. Even a year after the merger, priorities are in disarray and communications are chaotic.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2020-05-31
  9. "Awesome Company, Amazing products and leaders, but COVID-19 sucks!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Customer Success Manager in Inverness, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    open source, amazing management, smart team mates

    Cons

    no cons, other than Covid

    Cloudera2020-05-15
  10. "Great place to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and work life balance. Excellent salary and benefits. Fun place.

    Cons

    The changing of CEOs consistently.

    Cloudera2020-05-07
Found 395 reviews