Chevron Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Chevron Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Chevron CEO Mike Wirth
Mike Wirth
208 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Since the down of oil prices, they cut down facilities and salaries for intern(in 66 reviews)

  • "Work life balance for field employees(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "My 20 year career with Chevron"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Communications Specialist and Public Affairs Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Progressive and forward thinking leadership with a strong inclusive culture.

    Cons

    Highly regulated industry which could frustrate individuals.

    Chevron2018-09-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Long working hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Third Mate in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chevron for more than a year

    Pros

    Good wages. Relatively new fleet.

    Cons

    Long contracts. Short leave. Management oblivious to seafarer reqs

    Chevron2015-05-08
  3. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Palmerdale, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron full-time

    Pros

    I love meeting new ppl and also seeing Familiar faces we have a lot of regulars that come in there and they always bring a smile to my face

    Cons

    A lot of drama

    Chevron2019-11-14
  4. "Great place to work if you're on the inner circle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commissioning and Startup Engineer 

    I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Solid pipeline of projects Good benefits Good pay

    Cons

    If you're site based then you're disadvantaged They have strange HR practices Mainly offer fixed term contracts rather than permanent employment Slow career progression due to the vertically stacked management chain

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on build your organisational capabilities by giving more people a go and build their skills

    Chevron2019-11-09
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron full-time

    Pros

    Pay, scene, atmosphere, relationships, company legacy

    Cons

    Work load, interview process, no

    Chevron2019-11-08
  6. "Amazing Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reservoir Simulation Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company takes good care of you. People are dedicated and hard working.

    Cons

    Like in any big organization, the pace of work and career progression is slower than what you would expect in a smaller company

    Chevron2019-11-07
  7. "Best company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Geologist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supporting peer group, Culture of inclusiveness, collaboration among different teams, Tools and processes to perform better, state of art technology

    Cons

    Growth opportunity, Reluctant to take risk, schedule driven

    Chevron2019-11-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Human treated as their most valuable assets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good emphasis for the well being of their employee

    Cons

    Can be so process centric and progression can be slow

    Chevron2019-10-25
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pascagoula, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company hires top notch people in every department. They have very good subject matter experts. Benefits are amazing. Safety culture is amazing.

    Cons

    The corporate culture is very competitive. Being a female, it was hard trying to adjust to a predominately male work environment.

    Chevron2019-10-28
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier/Stocker in Eureka, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly great manager, flexible hours, store is clean

    Cons

    Have to upsell even to regular customers

    Advice to Management

    Be there more for the employee

    Chevron2019-10-24
Found 2593 reviews