CIBC Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

CIBC Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2883 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
CIBC CEO Victor Dodig
Victor Dodig
1,131 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Back Office 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CIBC full-time

    Pros

    My coworkers were actually the best part of working there. We had a lot of fun.

    Cons

    They can do better with the salary

    CIBC2019-10-11
  2. "banking that fits your life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Services Representative 

    I have been working at CIBC full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work at

    Cons

    Technology and processes needs upgrade

    CIBC2019-10-12
  3. "CFA level I candidate. CSC certified."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Services Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Reachable targets

    Cons

    High turnover, management change frequently. 1 yr commitment to position and hard to change different career path.

    CIBC2019-10-10
  4. "farewell my love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CIBC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    ethical strong culture working on breaking down silos promotes inter connectivity relationship building/partnering

    Cons

    still struggling with promoting women in IT - very imbalanced with 'old boys club' culture still being perpetuated

    Advice to Management

    create more opportunities for open dialogue to understand forward thinking concepts allow for 'different' be wary of status quo thinking talk to everyone and not make decisions based on funneled information

    CIBC2019-10-09
  5. "Great opportunity for newly arrived bilingual immigrants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative in Montreal, QC
    Recommends

    I worked at CIBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Salary is really good if you're just starting in Canada -Really good health insurance (dentist etc) -Colleagues are often in the same situation as you (newly arrived) so you can make friends easily

    Cons

    -Performance is measured in numbers. So it's a lot of pressure and do more and more. -When my team began we were given the afternoon and night shifts for months.

    Advice to Management

    When it comes to some managers there is a fine line between motivating and bullying. Please keep in mind that people always perform better when they feel respected.

    CIBC2019-10-08
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Documentation Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CIBC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Professional, talented and diverse workforce - lots of opportunities to grow and do good work

    Cons

    Struggling to adapt the traditional hierarchical banking culture to a modern technological peer-oriented one

    Advice to Management

    Knowledge is an asset is not written into your corporate business DNA. You might want to think about that.

    CIBC2019-10-08
  7. "n/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banking Representative in Finch, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CIBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good starting point and fast-paced

    Cons

    lacks relaying vision to employees.

    Advice to Management

    When making changes in the work place ensure that all the steps are well thought out. The implementation plan lacks key details.

    CIBC2019-10-09
  8. "Very Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CIBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Culture , welcoming and a lot to learn

    Cons

    Time fluctuations , No offs on weekend

    Advice to Management

    Should be closed for everyone on weekends

    CIBC2019-10-08
  9. "Great place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at CIBC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great team - Good atmosphere and culture

    Cons

    - Large organization challenges - Organizational politics

    CIBC2019-10-07
  10. "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Entry Processor in Nassau
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at CIBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company fosters a close knit relationship with a diverse range of cultures and ethnicities. Constant training and advancement opportunities are readily available. Competitive salary and benefits

    Cons

    Outsourcing due to online and mobile banking.

    CIBC2019-10-06
Found 2883 reviews
</>Embed