Brown-Forman Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Brown-Forman Reviews

Updated 2 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Brown-Forman CEO Lawson Whiting
Lawson Whiting
22 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There isn't one single con about working for B-F(in 11 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance is hard to balance if your job requires a lot of travel(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Positive company culture and long-term vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brown-Forman part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very strong values-based culture, with an increasing focus on inclusion for all employees, and global people development initiatives. Excellent brands with clear stories and mission to engage consumers in a responsible way.

    Cons

    Growing quickly in many markets, so workload can be heavy as company conservative in adding headcount until growth prospects are confirmed

    Brown-Forman2017-10-20
  2. "Great Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brown-Forman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This company has a wonderful work/life balance policy

    Cons

    I can't think of any!

    Brown-Forman2020-01-02
  3. "Great company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Key Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brown-Forman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Our strong brands, people, way of doing business, interesting projects.

    Cons

    I do not see cons

    Advice to Management

    Grow portfolio, build innovation, position our company as a trendsetter for the industry. Give more chances to the employees that desire to build careers in other geographies within our group to do so.

    Brown-Forman2019-12-05
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brown-Forman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture with this company is amazing!

    Cons

    There are not that I'm aware of

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing

    Brown-Forman2019-11-25
  5. "When values do matter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brown-Forman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a company where values drive the business, from the shareholders and the CEO down the entire organisation. This is truly unique in the business and great to work for ! It is also genuinely sincere, unlike other companies where it is often just for political correctness.

    Cons

    No real cons actually. Having worked for other companies before, it feels great to be within a company where human beings do matter.

    Brown-Forman2019-11-26
  6. "Mixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brown-Forman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good pay - Interesting work

    Cons

    - Old school management style - Clique oriented - boys club

    Advice to Management

    Have a strategy and stick to it with your people. You say you need a new type of employee but then do not support that employee's growth. Move out of stats (on diversity, # clubs, etc) and move into more logic. Look at the hard stuff and have the hard conversations

    Brown-Forman2019-12-08
  7. "Production Team Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brown-Forman full-time

    Pros

    Great culture overall Great CEO Contributes heavily to community

    Cons

    Production and support staff overworked, unorganized, lacking communication and resources

    Advice to Management

    Add more headcount, be more organized. Respect employees and those with long tenures trying to grow. Be a better partner. Overall company is great but Production is a night and day difference. Experience matters.

    Brown-Forman2019-12-05
  8. "The Career You Want, The Company You Need"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Services Coordinator in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brown-Forman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management and employees are like a family. Acknowledgement is given often for good work, and incentives are given monthly during Team Meetings. Great environment, fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    I can't think of any, honestly. I loved working for them!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!! You all rock!!!

    Brown-Forman2019-11-16
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brown-Forman full-time

    Pros

    Great products, Friendly culture, Longevity and Stability , Comp and Benefits

    Cons

    Flat structure and long tenure make it slow to progress in your career; Risk averse

    Brown-Forman2019-11-30
  10. "A family orientated business that allows you to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Compliance Legal Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brown-Forman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family run Good pay and benefits Feel well respected Progressive Interesting and challenging work

    Cons

    Some lack of career progression

    Advice to Management

    Continue to allow all in the company to have their voice heard

    Brown-Forman2019-11-06
Found 312 reviews