Blue Apron Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Blue Apron Reviews

Updated 27 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
40%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Blue Apron CEO Linda Kozlowski
Linda Kozlowski
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits are pretty good, especially if you would use the blue apron product(in 28 reviews)

  • "Free lunch, great pay, awesome employees(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lunch is free but not what you would expect from a company like Blue Apron(in 14 reviews)

  • "Growth is only available if you are favored by upper management(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Richmond, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Apron full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    First of all Blue Apron is the best in their industry. If you have a great attitude there are many opportunities for personnel and career development.

    Cons

    When I was there they were going through some growth pains. People I have spoken with say things have improved.

    Blue Apron2019-12-24
  2. "Cool community but bad hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in New York, NY

    I worked at Blue Apron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Social start up environment and nice people

    Cons

    Terrible hours and unfair break times

    Blue Apron2019-12-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "I dreaded everyday from beginning to end. I would never in life work here again."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Richmond, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Apron full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The entry level associates are down to earth and make the time fun. The pay was okay.

    Cons

    The Corporate team (founders included) and upper management were very unprofessional, rude, overly aggressive, and racist at times. I've witness GMs and AGMs intoxicated and belligerent in the middle of the day on site.

    Advice to Management

    Humble yourself and get rid of the dead weight.

    Blue Apron2019-12-09
  4. "An Amazing Place to Learn and Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Apron full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone at Blue Apron works extremely hard and is very dedicated to the company. With that being said, the work life balance is still great as they have great vacations/sick days/benefits. Working hours are not crazy at all either. My team motivates me every day to learn and grow and the company really gives you space to be creative and learn/grow. I have never worked for a company that has inspired me as much as Blue Apron and I am so thrilled to be apart of this team. It's not a place for people who just want a job, but rather a place for someone who wants to learn, grow and be apart of something bigger.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are some pain points as far as turnover but new teams are growing and everyone has the same mind set that they want to work hard and be a part of something great.

    Advice to Management

    I love the work culture. There is no micromanaging and there is creative freedom and flexibility. Keep doing what you're doing BA. This is the best company I have worked for in a long time!

    Blue Apron2019-11-22
  5. "New team is promising!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Apron full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Unique product and environment in which to learn.

    Cons

    Culture was taking a hit in 2017 but the new CEO seems to be bringing a positive new perspective.

    Blue Apron2019-11-13
  6. "Not a bad first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Associate in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Apron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great and it's a good place to start out of college.

    Cons

    No room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Try to motivate people. Don't just let people get by with the minimum.

    Blue Apron2019-11-04
  7. "Good experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Associate in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Apron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and cool product

    Cons

    Vacation days and hours weren't ideal but usual for service industry

    Blue Apron2019-09-11
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Take the job if you can't find anything else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Experience Agent in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Apron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fairly simple job (if you don't mind getting yelled at all day), nice office, friendly peers.

    Cons

    No opportunity to grow (unless by some miracle someone else quits or HQ decides to expand the opportunities in the Austin office), no issue is ever really addressed/fixed, the company culture is dead, and there is a huge lack of communication between departments.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your current employees! The turnover in CX is rampant because the company offers nothing to hard working contributors. The fact that management doesn't even attempt to talk to employees who are considering leaving after working there for several years, says alot about how much they care.

    Blue Apron2019-09-04
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Lack of management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Linden, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blue Apron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited time off, employee discounts and weekly farmers market

    Cons

    Management, leadership, employee morale, high turnover

    Advice to Management

    Blue Apron is a company with potential but lacks by hiring the right candidates. Management is not properly trained and lack support. Operation team schedule endless meetings but fail to actually discuss topics that matter. Upper management do not take on responsibilities and fail to lead by example. No career opportunities are available unless you are an associate, in which you can be promoted to a floor supervisor. Morale is at an all time low, employees are disengaged and dissatisfied.

    Show More
    Blue Apron2019-09-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Run!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blue Apron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The snacks were decent -- I think they're gone now though?

    Cons

    Disjointed, delusional management.

    Blue Apron2019-07-24
Found 257 reviews