Benjamin Moore Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Benjamin Moore Reviews

Updated 16 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Benjamin Moore CEO Dan Calkins
Dan Calkins
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free Lunch, Team Support, Co-Curricular Activities, Lots of Events(in 99 reviews)

  • "Good work/life balance depending on what team you are on/your work, and your manager(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not sure if upper management understands the hurdles that need to be overcome to execute business plan(in 25 reviews)

  • "Leadership and senior management is sneaky and not transparent whatsoever(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Benjamin Moore/franchise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Hamilton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Benjamin Moore part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the customers are amazing and super nice and the availability is amazing

    Cons

    Can be stressful, lots of heavy lifting, short staffed

    Advice to Management

    He less picky when hiring, put lots of effort in training

    Benjamin Moore2019-11-16
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Depends on what you are looking for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - HQ - Manager in Montvale, NJ
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benjamin Moore full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Some good changes happening now with new CEO -Free lunch -Nice people -Excellent products and colors to represent - the best on the market -Strong and recognized brand and company heritage -Good time off (around 18-22 days -including holidays- based on how long you have been here) and 5 sick days -Standard benefits package -Reasonable compensation -Good work/life balance depending on what team you are... on/your work, and your manager -Berkshire Hathaway company -Company supports independent retailers, mom-and-pop hardware stores across the US

    Show More

    Cons

    -A few really smart and driven people, but unfortunately more mediocre talent just here for the paycheck, not engaged or enthusiastic about anything -Outdated HQ, building is a mess -Long commute times / awful traffic (unless you live nearby) -Archaic technology - lack of effective digital tools, both in HQ and in the field -HR dept is sub-par when it comes to growth tracks, performance reviews and goals,... employee retention, development, training, and engagement -Growth opps typically only present themselves during re-orgs and restructures, which are unfortunately frequent, but feel chaotic -Lack of role clarity -Bandwidth spread very unevenly across different teams and employees (high performers are buried and working overtime while under-performers are seen socializing every hour by the coffee machine then head for the door at 4:59) -Very inconsistent expectations and responsibilities for role levels across the organization (mgr, sr mgr, director, etc.) -Need improvement when it comes to diversity and women in leadership -High turnover in Mktg dept

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Keep lines of communication open - Town Halls are great, keep them going, make them more interactive - and keep doing 1-on-1 check ins with your strong talent, no matter which dept or at what level - hold onto them and INVEST in their growth as there aren’t many left anymore -Insist HR implement more useful performance review process and create standardized roles and development plans for all managers to... use -Don’t be afraid to grow with the times - flexible hours or WFH policy, digital tools and resources, better culture, upgrading facilities - these are all becoming expected, especially by the worthwhile and valuable talent you need to hire and keep if we are going to make it

    Show More
    Benjamin Moore2019-10-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Benjamin Moore

    Pros

    Awesome $$$ good paying job money

    Cons

    Sporadic schedule switched around a lot in beginning

    Advice to Management

    Management is good

    Benjamin Moore2019-08-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A great company that’s getting even better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Montvale, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benjamin Moore full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I’ve been at Benjamin Moore a few years now and I’m very glad that joined the company when I did. We have a mix of a fun, family culture blended with drive to win. Our leadership is helping create a climate in which the customer is squarely at the center of all we do.

    Cons

    Benefits could be better. Silos are being torn down, but some remain.

    Advice to Management

    Continue on the path!

    Benjamin Moore2019-07-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "It is great company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Analytics Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benjamin Moore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome people to work with

    Cons

    Nobody leaves the company. Everybody mostly retires in this company

    Benjamin Moore2019-08-04
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benjamin Moore full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Bonus and commissions are limited based on territory restrictions.

    Benjamin Moore2019-07-06
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Encouraging Transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Montvale, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benjamin Moore full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Brand, collaborative environment, free lunch, improving work spaces.

    Cons

    Benefits could be better, technology improvements are happening but there is a ways to go. Independent channel strategy has some limitations to growth.

    Advice to Management

    This past week our CEO held Q&A sessions that were great, they were open and direct and we discussed our opportunities and challenges in a very transparent manner. It was very refreshing and great to see we have a number of initiatives in the works to address both the pros and cons facing us. Our leadership team is working well together to ensure BMC is positioned for growth.

    Benjamin Moore2019-06-22
  8. "Overall positive but management has room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Benjamin Moore part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, goof benefits and hours

    Cons

    Lacks consistency and slow to improve.

    Benjamin Moore2019-07-09
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Company and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benjamin Moore full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is going through some promising changes. New leadership has new plans. High visibility of work of C-suite people. Every quarter they organize Townhall Meetings. All the key C-suite people are long term veterans. And workforce under them are close to 5 and more year old. Small enough that you could get a chance to work with key departments and people in a year or two. Good family feeling. Good... price food in cafeteria. Around $8 per day. Yes I did a calculation!

    Show More

    Cons

    The technologies/systems that they use is not up to date. New ideas are not so welcoming. Management doesn’t know how to use best skills of people. Slow growth, small increments and limited bonuses for new workforce. Whereas at C-Suite level, organization changes roles and distribute bonuses among veterans employees.

    Advice to Management

    Department should focus on how to use young talent and their skills. There is no point of wasting young talent and then not appreciating their work. If organizations can appreciate work of higher level people then higher level people in return should appreciate work of their young talent.

    Benjamin Moore2019-04-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Benjamin Moore part-time

    Pros

    i felt like im part of a family and part of a bigger purpose

    Cons

    heavy lifting, long hours hours of standing,

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work,

    Benjamin Moore2019-04-04
Found 486 reviews