Automattic Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Automattic Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
94%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Automattic CEO Matt Mullenweg
Matt Mullenweg
38 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not so much a con, but rather a word of caution: remote work is not for everyone(in 6 reviews)

  • "There are no cons that I can speak of(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A caring and encouraging environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is genuinely a great company and I feel incredibly fortunate to work in such a supportive and caring environment.

    Cons

    I can't think of any!

    Automattic2019-07-16
  2. "The insides don't match the outsides"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wrangler 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote work is nice. The outside image portrayed is compelling.

    Cons

    Everyone is scrambling to please the CEO. And what pleases the CEO changes on a whim. There is little to no direction so everyone is left to guess about what they should work on. Many smart people left recently and you can feel the drain.

    Automattic2019-10-02
  3. "Great place, but as with everything, the big picture varies widely based on where you live, your role, and your manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A 

    I have been working at Automattic full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility (in schedule, where you live, how you work, etc.), generous benefits, good people.

    Cons

    With everyone spread across different timezones, conversations that should be quick and easy sometimes drag on in Slack. Less recognition of our company/product/brand.

    Automattic2019-10-01
  4. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A work place where you get treated like an adult.

    Cons

    No bonuses or incentives for middle management.

    Automattic2019-08-26
  5. "Best work culture and supportive company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Happiness Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible schedule - Supportive work environment - Professional development and continuous learning encouraged - Lots of different paths you can take (different guilds, teams, opportunities) - Good benefits - Good salary - Open vacation policy - Work from anywhere! (Remote) - Awesome coworkers

    Cons

    - Very fast paced - Expect some long days (mostly when you first start) - Some internal processes are still very manual and need refining in the company - Communication between departments needs improving

    Advice to Management

    None. Management has been great. They are aware of the communication issues between departments and other pain points in the company and they're trying to find ways to attack these problems

    Automattic2019-06-26
  6. "VIP Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Innisfil, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time

    Pros

    I am new to the company and already love the culture. You can tell before day 1 that the company truly cares about the employees. Everyone was helpful during a very well structured and educational onboarding process that helps new employees get oriented and understand the company and sets people up for success.

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can speak of. As a distributed company it can be a bit challenging to work remote at times but the company goes out of its way to address this by putting a focus on communication and having meetups to meet face to face.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. By putting employees first they will in turn give you and your customers their best!

    Automattic2019-06-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic or Awful, Depends on Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Remote, OR
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Automattic full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary, excellent benefits, work from home, interesting and challenging work, passionate co-workers and community.

    Cons

    Experience depends entirely on which team you're on, and if the team lead is committee to work-life balance or just to work. High level of burnout on some teams.

    Automattic2019-07-03
  8. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy going environment, easy to move up if motivated

    Cons

    Upper management is sometimes hard to get along with

    Automattic2019-06-27
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Best Place I Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Happiness Engineer in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Automattic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexibility - Most inspirational colleagues - Unlimited Time Off - Remote

    Cons

    - High stress and high paced - Numbers are prioritized

    Advice to Management

    None, I was let go due to my mistakes and negligence.

    Automattic2019-04-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best places I've worked at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Happiness Engineer in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automattic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning opportunity Friendly people Friendly leadership Strong feedback culture Great pay

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going the way you are!

    Automattic2019-04-03
Found 51 reviews