American Express Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

American Express Reviews

Updated 4 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
American Express CEO Stephen J Squeri
Stephen J Squeri
893 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Great Facilities, Salary, Environment, Leave Policy, Opportunity to learn and grow

    Cons

    There are no cons actually if you compare with other companies Amex is way ahead and very employee centric

    American Express2020-03-06
  2. "SME"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for, huge amounts of learning and progression.

    Cons

    Nothing bad to report

    American Express2019-09-17
  3. "Great place to learn!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn HR - strong HR leaders with a focus on leadership development

    Cons

    Too much governance and compliance can make the role too tactical at times.

    Continue reading
    American Express2017-05-10
  4. "Good call centre environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Lively, vibrant, lots of nice people

    Cons

    It's still a call centre, the restrictions on 'script' etc can be a bit much but expected really

    Continue reading
    American Express2015-09-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company which cares for people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time

    Pros

    work-life balance career growth on the job training cool work in machine learning good mentors

    Cons

    less focus on understanding how our work is getting impacted on the floor. Lot of models without figuring how these models influence the world

    Continue reading
    American Express2015-09-03
  6. Helpful (184)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have fantastic pay for the position you're in, and they teach you interesting and engaging utility of modern technology mixed with legacy fundamentals. I've learned quite a bit while AmEx while getting paid more than fairly - I'd recommend a stretch here to whomever may be reading this!

    Cons

    The Company is huge, and at times it may take more than a little time to get recognized for your abilities and the growth you've had. There's a reason there is a "only way up is out" reputation exists for some enterprise companies...

    Continue reading
    American Express2018-11-26
  7. "A great place to learn and try a lot of different things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of opportunity to grow as a leader and try a lot of different things at one of the most recognized brands in the world

    Cons

    There tends to be a lot of nepotism / favoritism from a promotion and internal movement perspective. Unfortunately it sometimes leads to people who aren’t capable to perform in the roles which they’re placed.

    American Express2020-04-04
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support in Sandy, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They take care of the employees

    Cons

    Nothing really to say about

    American Express2020-04-03
  9. "valued employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    defined career paths and support to accomplish career goals

    Cons

    support of virtual roles varied from dept to dept despite top leadership expressing support

    American Express2020-04-03
  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, good benefits including Blue Rewards that can be exchanged for Amex gift cards.

    Cons

    I have no cons at this time.

    American Express2020-04-02
Found 7103 reviews