American Express Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

American Express Reviews

Updated 19 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
American Express CEO Stephen J Squeri
Stephen J Squeri
797 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "SME"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for, huge amounts of learning and progression.

    Cons

    Nothing bad to report

    American Express2019-09-17
  2. "Great place to learn!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn HR - strong HR leaders with a focus on leadership development

    Cons

    Too much governance and compliance can make the role too tactical at times.

    Advice to Management

    simplify the governance processes!

    American Express2017-05-10
  3. "Good call centre environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Lively, vibrant, lots of nice people

    Cons

    It's still a call centre, the restrictions on 'script' etc can be a bit much but expected really

    Advice to Management

    More flexibility for employees

    American Express2015-09-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company which cares for people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time

    Pros

    work-life balance career growth on the job training cool work in machine learning good mentors

    Cons

    less focus on understanding how our work is getting impacted on the floor. Lot of models without figuring how these models influence the world

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    American Express2015-09-03
  5. Helpful (181)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have fantastic pay for the position you're in, and they teach you interesting and engaging utility of modern technology mixed with legacy fundamentals. I've learned quite a bit while AmEx while getting paid more than fairly - I'd recommend a stretch here to whomever may be reading this!

    Cons

    The Company is huge, and at times it may take more than a little time to get recognized for your abilities and the growth you've had. There's a reason there is a "only way up is out" reputation exists for some enterprise companies...

    Advice to Management

    Do 6-month evaluations with serious consideration for interior promotions before out-side-in hiring. Then hire only at the bottom level (entry). Let tech. decide when/who to promote for tech. because business holds the wallet, but doesn't necessarily know what's best.

    American Express2018-11-26
  6. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Modern office style: WFH available, great culture, very welcoming, positive and safe environment.

    Cons

    It takes a long time to get stuff done given multiple levels of approval needed.

    American Express2020-01-19
  7. "Good place to drive your career, senior management needs more direction, usual politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    flexible, supports employee growth, great colleagues

    Cons

    decision making takes too long, behind competition

    Advice to Management

    ...

    American Express2020-01-19
  8. "Great brand, burocracy its religion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at American Express

    Pros

    Great brand, great positioning and customer base. Lots of opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Very burocractic. Everyone defends their own interests rather than the business’s.

    American Express2020-01-18
  9. "Band 28"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Amazing place to work and lot of money

    Cons

    Nothing much to say here

    American Express2020-01-17
  10. "No 1 in employee satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best company with Work life balance

    Cons

    Streamlining the processes is necessary

    Advice to Management

    .

    American Express2020-01-17
Found 7227 reviews