Amazon Lab126 Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Amazon Lab126 Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Amazon Lab126 CEO  Jeff Bezos (no image)
Jeff Bezos
167 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance is dependent on your own life decisions as well as whether you are on a team that has extremely Ops requirements(in 44 reviews)

  • "There are also few opportunities for career growth as Amazon prides itself as a very frugal company(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lab126"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultative Sales Consultant - Home Electronics in Sunnyvale, CA

    I have been working at Amazon Lab126 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule. Opportunity to grow , but must search it out and make own connections.

    Cons

    Non competitive pay. Benefits aren't great.

    Amazon Lab1262020-01-18
  2. "Awesome work but poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software QA Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon Lab126 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Innovation, cutting edge technologies, competitive salary

    Cons

    very poor work-life balance, mediocre management.

    Advice to Management

    Hear and implement ideas from the smart people in the team

    Amazon Lab1262020-01-14
  3. "Very challenging - can be a good thing or bad thing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Program Manager in Sunnyvale, CA

    I worked at Amazon Lab126 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lot of potential to learn in a very short span of time due to the demand needed to ship products

    Cons

    No work life balance Learning comes to a halt after 4yrs.

    Amazon Lab1262019-12-29
  4. "Work pressure is very low. Ample of time is given to complete our work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Test Engineer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon Lab126 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good environment to learn the testing process from the scratch to high level of testing. We can able to learn the multiple components and project which help us to create more test plan and test data effectively.

    Cons

    There is no Cons to say here.

    Amazon Lab1262019-12-04
  5. "Most innovative company in the bay area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDE2 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon Lab126 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of new devices to work with.

    Cons

    No free lunch compared to Google or Facebook.

    Amazon Lab1262019-12-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience to have in your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon Lab126 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many consumer products to work on

    Cons

    Perf reviews are lengthy process

    Amazon Lab1262019-11-15
  7. "Awesome place to work learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon Lab126 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product and technology teams. Unbelievably ambitious vision

    Cons

    Long gestation periods before launch

    Amazon Lab1262019-11-12
  8. "Fun Projects, but No Perks and Seattle Management is distant and slow with decisions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hardware Design Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon Lab126 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hardware teams are full of great people to work with and plenty of opportunities to learn. Amazon is my first job out of college, and I think they did a great job with slowly ramping up my design responsibilities and providing opportunities for growth. It's exciting to see your product out on the market and read the reviews to improve on the next gen. Leadership principles are a little cult-like, but they do help provide a framework for how to grow in your career. Stocks. Stocks are nice.

    Show More

    Cons

    Everything gets decided on the VP level, but upper management struggles to communicate the options and risks and VPs fail to come to a decision in a timely manner. We are reactionary (to Google mostly) instead of innovative because we refuse to spend even a penny to benefit customers. We fly economy (or economy plus if you travel often) and there are 0 perks. No free lunch, no swag, no happy hours, no fun. Tight schedules mean people compromise on validation to get the design out faster, leading to more issues down the road when its too late to change them. Work life balance varies. Many people work through lunch, but direct managers are flexible with PTO and work from home.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Customer Obsession over Frugality

    Amazon Lab1262019-11-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon Lab126 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You got to learn a lot of stuff by your own in a fast pace. Engineers peers are talented people.

    Cons

    Resource is always limited. Too Frugal everywhere. Perks are too bad compare with other IT company. People got blamed if they messed up things. The manager are good at finding engineers’ drawback instead of reflecting on themselves. They are also good at pushing engineers without knowing the effort that needs to make cause they know few tech details. Most of my colleges stay here less than 2 years before they quit. This place focus too much on results. No focus on engineer themselves. Take this place as a transient place where u can practice your interview skills. There are too many places way better than here. My experience is based on the team I stay. Other team may not be the same.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Too much and wouldn’t think it works

    Amazon Lab1262019-12-12
  10. "Amazon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Hardware Engineer 

    I worked at Amazon Lab126 full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits included.

    Cons

    Not enough room for growth.

    Amazon Lab1262019-11-06
Found 332 reviews