zulily Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

zulily Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
34%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
zulily CEO Jeff Yurcisin
Jeff Yurcisin
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "fast paced, and easy to make changes(in 49 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with and fun company(in 49 reviews)

Cons
  • "turn over rate is extremely high due to the low pay and work life balance(in 57 reviews)

  • "Low pay compared to industry standards for location(in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at zulily full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people, Environment is conducive to self-starters

    Cons

    Salary, Opportunity for career growth and development, Low morale

    Advice to Management

    Review the salary structure and offer more opportunity around career growth an development

    zulily2019-11-27
  2. "Assistant Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Buyer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at zulily full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, nice offices, friendly employees, company vision well articulated

    Cons

    High pressure, opportunities for progression were limited

    zulily2019-11-26
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Assistant buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at zulily full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved the people and loved the work. Fun atmosphere . Not a caddy environment like a lot of other corporate retail companies.

    Cons

    Pay is way to low, which is why I left. You work everyday and they do not give compensation . You also are spread out very thin.

    Advice to Management

    People are leaving because the pay is so low, this is a great company but your great talent is going to keep on leaving if you do give them the average pay.

    zulily2019-11-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Love the work and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at zulily full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work I do is fun and interesting and has a lot of variety. I work with a lot of well-known brands which is great for building a portfolio. My team is awesome and I really enjoy all of the people I work with; they’re a fun group and very talented. I love my manager, he does a good job advocating for our team and is fun and laid back. We get to work from home several days a week and it’s flexible over the holidays... which is super nice. The office has a beautiful view overlooking Elliott Bay, and has a laid back, casual vibe. Dress code is casual so you can wear whatever you want. The office is open with no cubicles which I personally enjoy for the social aspect but which some may not. Management structure seems pretty flat which is nice; the higher-ups seem genuinely approachable. There are tons of talented people working at Zulily and it’s cool to see their work.

    Show More

    Cons

    The pay is probably the worst thing about working here. For a first-time job it’s okay, but for long-term it’s not competitive for the area. There’s been a lot of turnover for this reason and it’s unfortunate to lose good people due to them just not being able to stay underpaid.

    Advice to Management

    Pay people competitively so they stick around. You lose a lot of good talent just because they get better offers elsewhere, and the company probably suffers for it. Productivity would be higher if new hires weren’t constantly having to be trained and shown the ropes. It feels like the company has accepted its role as a springboard for employees to gain experience and then leave for better pay, and that kind of... looks terrible for Zulily as a workplace. Stop missing out on top talent by underpaying them.

    Show More
    zulily2019-11-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Underpaid & Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at zulily full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing peers and people to work with

    Cons

    You are expected to work 7 days a week, terrible work life balance. Workload is doubled with half the staff and no relief is given. Pay is very low compared to other competitive companies / jobs around with more workload. No opportunities to move up despite you hitting all your expectations and beyond.

    Advice to Management

    Compensation needs to be better balanced especially for the workload you are asking people to do..

    zulily2019-11-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "amount of work is ridiculous and the pay is low."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at zulily full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    culture and community

    Cons

    low pay and ridiculous hours. expected to work over 9 hours daily and on weekend.

    Advice to Management

    too much work for low pay.

    zulily2019-10-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Under valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at zulily

    Pros

    Some great teams/people. Work/life balance good. Fast pace, agile environment. Opportunities to change roles and grow career early on.

    Cons

    Compensation is well below market except for a few tech roles. I left bc I was offered a 40% comp increase elsewhere. VPs quality varies wildly, some fantastic leaders, others who can’t be bothered to even speak to you (experienced both first hand) and are moved into areas of the business they have no understanding of. Good managers have an impossible time keeping top performers bc zulily will not compensate... them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a serious look at pay bands. Allow non tech employees to move into junior tech roles. Bring in more tech savvy VPs

    zulily2019-10-16
  8. Helpful (6)

    "The Worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at zulily full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None, literally no pros at all

    Cons

    Everything, literally everything is the worst here

    Advice to Management

    Just sell the company now and get it over with.

    zulily2019-11-17
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Shell of what it once was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at zulily full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large impact on projects. Modern stack.

    Cons

    Underpaid for experience. Stretched too thin across too many projects. Stock is a lead balloon.

    zulily2019-10-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "there are pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at zulily full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    people are great and its an interesting concept. you get to work from home once a week but with that the con is you are expected to be available pretty much all the time.

    Cons

    they pay very very low even for people with experience. there are very little to no incentives and no clear path for promotions. more times than not you are working and checking emails on the weekend. turn over rate is extremely high due to the low pay and work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    pay your employees the amount they deserve... at least a livable wage for the city they live in.

    zulily2019-10-26
Found 827 reviews