Cover image for schuh
Logo
See All Photos

schuh

Engaged Employer

schuh

Add a Review

schuh Reviews

Updated 1 Feb 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,058 of over 1K reviews
4.0
76% Recommend to a Friend
schuh Managing Director Colin Temple
89% Approve of CEO

Found 1,060 of over 1K reviews

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
schuh Managing Director Colin Temple
Colin Temple
419 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great discount, friendly staff, good pay(in 68 reviews)

  • "Discounts Flexible hours good for students(in 67 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Short 3 hour shifts sometimes aren't worth the travel fare(in 25 reviews)

  • "Can only start part time but other than that Schuh is a great place to work(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great company

      1 Feb 2023 - Sales Advisor in Maidstone, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible shifts , great company to work for

      Cons

      I couldn’t think of any cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      great experience

      3 Jan 2023 - Sales Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice atmosphere and friendly colleagues, good place to work as a student during college.

      Cons

      i have nothing bad to say, i really enjoyed working here

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. Join the schuh team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Working at schuh

      16 Jan 2023 - Part Time Sales Advisor in Blanchardstown
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very close work force and very understanding Management

      Cons

      Meeting of targets on a slow day

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work for a part time or college job

      14 Jan 2023 - Supervisor in Limerick, Limerick
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team Room to grow Good atmosphere

      Cons

      Hours can be unsocial Minimum 3hr contract Hard to strike work life balance the higher up you go

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      14 Dec 2022 - Deputy Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good staff discount Lovely team

      Cons

      Retail opening hours in general around Christmas time leaves it hard to balance home life

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good job

      14 Nov 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Discount is very doo

      Cons

      Nothing is a con at schuh

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good staff discount

      4 Nov 2022 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff discount was only real benefit Flexible with hours

      Cons

      Big push on sales, pressure from management on staff

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great

      27 Oct 2022 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly and understanding staff and management

      Cons

      Can be a bit demanding at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Meh

      10 Nov 2022 - Sales Assistant Schuh 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice staff and paid lunch break

      Cons

      Constant micromanagement, 0 hour contracts, constant targets to meet when the shop is quiet and you can’t control that.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Overall Great

      26 Oct 2022 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some great discounts after a year of working there, friendly atmosphere, none of the work is that hard, very sociable job

      Cons

      Hours can be all over the place so financially it can be difficult, also UK try and push an upselling manner on the Irish stores which I think is very against Irish nature and Irish customers see right through it

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,060 Reviews
    </>Embed

    schuh Reviews FAQs

    schuh has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 1,111 reviews left anonymously by employees. 76% of employees would recommend working at schuh to a friend and 59% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, schuh employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at schuh. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

    76% of schuh employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated schuh 3.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with schuh Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at schuh? Share Your Experiences

    schuh logo
    or

    schuh Careers

    Cover image for schuh

    schuh is filled with sociable, confident and creative individuals who love being part of a team. From our network of stores to our...More

    • Our Purpose
    • Opportunities
    • Apprenticeships
    • schuhPerks
    This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

    Reviews by Job Title

    Company Updates

    Logo

    schuh

    2 days ago

    Community
    We teamed up with PUMA for the latest edition of our DO YOU event series in partnership with The Prince's Trust this time at their centre in Manchester. The aim of the partnership is to help young people get into employment, training or set up their own business. Keep an eye on our socials for the next one!
    Shared image
    Logo

    schuh

    79 days ago

    Diversity and Inclusion
    We are delighted to let you know that last night schuh won the Diversity and Inclusion Award at The Drapers Awards 2022. Our entry focused on our Disability Equality Purpose Pillar and the progress made over the last two years to improve accessibility and inclusion for our customers, employees and the wider community. It is the first time Drapers have had a D+I category, so we are honored to be the first winner! https://lnkd.in/ezxjGSHt
    Shared image
    See all

    schuh Photos

    + Add Photo
    schuh photo of: Staff outside our Oxford Street, London store
    schuh photo of: Covent Garden, London
    schuh photo of: The Boardroom at our Head Office
    schuh photo of: Our J4 Warehouse
    schuh photo of: CEO, Chairman and President of Genesco, Bob Dennis, speaking to all our store managers at our SS Range Review 2019 at The Arches, Glasgow.
    schuh photo of: Toms - One day without Shoes at our Head Office
    schuh photo of: J4 Distribution Centre
    See All Photos

    schuh Job Seekers Also Viewed

    River Island Clothing Logo
    River Island Clothing

    3.6

    2,301 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 1,111 schuh reviews submitted anonymously by schuh employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if schuh is right for you.