next Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

next Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
62%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
next CEO Simon Wolfson
Simon Wolfson
80 Ratings
  1. "Very nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Tralee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at next part-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff, clean store and nice clothes

    Cons

    New returns system I don’t like it

    next2019-09-18
  2. "Great part time job while at college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at next part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great part time job while at college as you get a small contract so you always know what days you are working, can take/offer shifts on portal, 25% discount

    Cons

    Minimum wage, pay freeze currently, sales are full on

    Advice to Management

    More rewards

    next2019-11-18
  3. "Worst company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant- Sales Floor in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at next full-time

    Pros

    Genuinely nothing positive to say - terrible experience with this company.

    Cons

    Managers were cruel and self-invested. I often was given no warning of changes in my shift days or times. I was told in no uncertain terms that I had to turn up or I would be let go even when shift changes were made only a few hours in advance of starting work. We were made stay back late for almost an hour if we were on the closing shift and not paid for this. It took months of phone calls to a call center in India... before I could get the pay I was owed for training days. There was no equipment in the shop - I had to clean up broken glass with bits of card as there wasn't even a dustpan and brush available. There was no help when doing this and little or no regard for customer safety, which was worrying as the glass was on the floor of the children's shoes section of the shop.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get your act together - pay workers what they are owed in a timely manner, make sure shops are well equipped, ensure managers are doing their job properly and not abusing their power.

    next2019-07-16
  4. "sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Galway
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at next part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great company,great team work! !

    Cons

    easy holiday book system,good bonus

    Advice to Management

    great costumer service

    next2019-04-11
  5. "Temporary Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant in Blanchardstown
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at next for less than a year

    Pros

    they have a very friendly staff

    Cons

    managers need to communicate more to employees

    next2018-09-17
  6. "Part time sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Limerick, Limerick
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at next part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible. You're able to offer up hours that u can't work and someone else can take them, using a website which is handy

    Cons

    9.5 hour contract, the delivery work is mental. The targets are crazy when you just start

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic about when someone starts in delivery.

    next2018-09-02
  7. "Next Victim!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at next for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount - 25% after 1 month Working Wardrobe - You have to buy this yourself at 75% discount, only works up to a certain point Flexible Hours - Their system lets you trade hours with your colleagues or sign on to extra if needed

    Cons

    Here's a story about my time at Next. I was hired in October for the Christmas season. I ended in January 2018. 1: Firstly, there isn't much training. They have a 10 shift program, but not only does it not really prepare you much beyond looking at tills and clothes labels, it's super buggy! Like wait 2 hours for it to load kind of buggy. And you're expected to do them both during your shift AND at home. 2:... The store I was at, I just didn't feel valued. Like it's hit or miss depending on your manager, but I heard a lot of people complain about their hours, what's expected of them. There was one girl who broke down crying during her lunch break cos she never got to see her kid. I have long-standing issues with anxiety and working there drove me nuts. 3: The most egregious for me, the head office won't do anything. When i started work, i provided my bank details and expected the pay to go in without issue. 4 months working there, I was still getting paper cheques which I had to cash myself. I explained to the manager that this was an issue since cashing the cheques requires 2 weeks to verify with the banks, but it was never solved. Things only got worse after I left. I never received my P45. Despite talking to the manager, the head office, the revenue commission, anyone I could get to listen, I never got that stupid form. It stopped me from receiving a medical card, signing on to welfare once I'd left, getting hired after leaving since my prospective employer didn't wanna deal with the headache of my taxes. It left me in limbo. And this company does not care a bit.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your workers are not just numbers. They are people! Get an office in Ireland that can actually help your workers.

    next2018-09-04
  8. "sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at next part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    easy work, friendly staff

    Cons

    company care little about their staff

    next2018-08-28
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant 

    I worked at next for more than a year

    Pros

    good people, lot of responsibilities, good with starters

    Cons

    don't keep much staff on

    Advice to Management

    Not much

    next2018-02-21
  10. "Next"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Temporary Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at next for more than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, fun and nice coworkers

    Cons

    Busy during sales time and always under pressure

    next2017-07-11
Found 378 reviews