next Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3,772 of over 4,272 reviews

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
next CEO Simon Wolfson
Simon Wolfson
930 Ratings
Pros
  • "staff discount and can pick up shifts on portal(in 254 reviews)

  • "flexible working hours, discounts, well kept working enviroment(in 154 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours not much negotiation allowed(in 121 reviews)

  • "Only national minimum wage paid for high intensity customer service(in 76 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Next Sales Assistant

      Jun 27, 2021 - Sales Associate in Cork
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly colleagues and good treatment of staff

      Cons

      Very short term contract given

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good to work for

      Oct 14, 2021 - Sales Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hours Great for students Big company

      Cons

      Wage is just the minimum

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      next Response

      Thanks for your positive review, we are glad you are enjoying working at Next.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Loved working here

      Oct 19, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible shifts and generous bonuses

      Cons

      High standards expected and no time for friendliness with colleagues

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good community

      Sep 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team were great Good community feel

      Cons

      Was never enough staff and would be stressed when it got busy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      High Turnover of Staff

      Oct 11, 2021 - Sales Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can offer up shifts and accept offered up shifts on marketplace Learn some retail experience, tills easy to use.

      Cons

      Huge turnover of staff, not only in store I worked in but in every store. Nobody wants to stay. 5/10 girls I knew quit within a month. Hardly any staff put on rota so you're doing 2/3 people's work yourself at any given time. Bare minimum training. You watch a few videos and you're put on tills straight away. Then customers call you incompetent for not being able to do things you were never even told about. The nepotism in each store is crazy. So many staff only get the job because their mam or aunt or neighbour has been working in the store the last 20 years and not because of their own ability. So many cliques between managers and these staff too so other staff feel alienated and judged. Rota'd hours for temp staff are not enough. You could be rota'd in for 3 hours. Not feasible. If you get a longer shift, bare minimum break times. 15 mins for 4 and a half hours. Have to work 8 hours to get just an hour break. Managers doing underhand things, things normal staff would be let go on the spot for. I've seen staff leave Next because of managers being toxic but nothing happens to the managers because they have been there so long. Late finish Christmas Eve and 6 am start on Stephens Day, no considerations for staff wellbeing during the holidays. If you know someone working in Next, the work would be bearable but I wouldn't recommend it. You do so much and get no thanks and would be better off somewhere else.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      next Response

      We are pleased that you were able to offer and change shifts on our shift marketplace. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. Being notified of any issues is really appreciated because we can pass your comments on to make changes in our stores. Due to the length of your feedback, we are wondering if you could email Retail HR to discuss further? We would hate for other people to feel the way you do, and without discussing this with HR, we are worried that changes won't be made. We are happy to pass these comments on, but please can you also email retailhr_admin@next.co.uk so that they can look into this further.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Flexible for college but not long term

      Aug 31, 2021 - Sales Team 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility for college Can gain more holiday hours Staff discount

      Cons

      No cash bonus anymore Bank holidays are converted into holiday hours Poor management

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      next Response

      We are glad you are able to earn extra holiday and find working in your store to be flexible! For any issues regarding management we recommend contacting Retail HR as they can help with this - retailhr_admin@next.co.uk

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Wouldnt let my worst enemy work here

      Aug 24, 2021 - Retail Sales Assistant in Tralee
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      only the floor staff were a pro working here

      Cons

      underpaid management are nasty in every shop constant treating floor staff like their stupied head office, owners etc do not give a damn about anything except making money on badly made clothing

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good Experience

      Jul 15, 2021 - Sale Assistant in Castlebar
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helpful and staff friendly evironment

      Cons

      I wohld have liked more hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good company

      Jun 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Donegal
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice environment and fair pay.

      Cons

      Can't think of any. I enjoyed my time there.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fine for a few months

      Jul 5, 2021 - Stockroom Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some really nice co workers Good hours

      Cons

      Was not impressed by the I was treated by certain management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,772 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with next Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at next? Share Your Experiences

    next logo
    or