Zurich North America Reviews

Updated Jan 24, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,018 of over 1,118 reviews

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Zurich North America CEO Kristof Terryn
Kristof Terryn
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company policies are very flexible which allows best work life balance(in 95 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and interesting work(in 84 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "nothing bad to say about Zurich(in 79 reviews)

  • "Upper management is out of touch with the workers in the field(in 41 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Business Executive

      Apr 25, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Diverse role, alot of flexibility in the role, exciting work

      Cons

      perception that the industry is boring,

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zurich North America Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      We think the insurance industry is far from boring; it’s an exciting place to be right now! The continuous changes throughout the industry keep us on our toes and force us to adapt and innovate to stay ahead. There are lots of diverse roles and exciting work here, as you pointed out. Thank you for the review. We love to see 4 stars!

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Zurich Insurance wexford

      Oct 26, 2013 - Direct Sales in Wexford
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good training program, good social club, nice clean canteen, and some nice people work in what Zurich call there low cost data processing centre in Wexford

      Cons

      Pay is not good, incentive scheme is based on how much you suck up to certain managers, I was constantly harrassed by a certain manager, considered ending it all on many occassions, if you care for your self do not work for Zurich in Drinagh wexford. The Team leaders there are just awful, all trying to out do each other and making there fellow work mate life hell on earth and they just do no car, my daughter nearly died and all I was given was 1 days leave, to attend the hospital.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Nice people, conservative Swiss culture

      May 1, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mostly friendly and helpful staff Benefits Good work-life balance Organisation is financially secure Management trusting of staff to get on with job All new/replacement roles advertised internally (big plus!) Improving mgmt to staff communication on company news Low volume of time-wasting meetings - only organised when required

      Cons

      Below average salaries, mgmt pride themselves in awarding low pay Current round of cost-cutting Zero off-site training for most staff (only in-house/online courses available) Very limited promotional prospects Most managers leave staff too much to their own devices unless they shout loud for help Project progress in general is very slow as not prioritised with allocation of proper people/time resources

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Strong Benefits

      Jan 20, 2022 - Finance Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits/Pay are very competitive compared to other companies

      Cons

      Favorites are chosen for progression in many departments

      1 person found this review helpful

      Zurich North America Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for your five star review and comments on our benefits. We will share the rest of your feedback with the appropriate leader.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      UA Group Captives

      Jan 24, 2022 - Underwriting Associate in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Steady paycheck, paid for OT.

      Cons

      Captives is understaffed and chaotic.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zurich North America Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      We appreciate your review and comments about our compensation. Zurich will share the rest of your review with our management team.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I love it!

      Jan 19, 2022 - Claims Adjuster Trainee in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love it so far. No complaints!

      Cons

      I don’t really have any complaints at this time. It has really been a great decision to accept this position.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Zurich North America Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Zurich appreciates your five star review. We are happy to hear you are enjoying working at Zurich.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work

      Jan 14, 2022 - Underwriter in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work hours and locations

      Cons

      High deductible on insurance policies

      1 person found this review helpful

      Zurich North America Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for your review and comment about our FlexWork. We do offer a tax-advantage health savings account to help with deductibles.

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Okay

      Jan 14, 2022 - Underwriter in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People, benefits, financials and brand

      Cons

      Expensive headquarters, some units short staffed

      1 person found this review helpful

      Zurich North America Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      We appreciate your review and comments about our culture and benefits. Our headquarters is a LEED Platinum certified building that reflects our commitment to sustainability.

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Work Environment

      Jan 16, 2022 - Finance Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not much fast pace learning Easy to work with all the employees Great Team

      Cons

      Need to focus on providing more training if possible

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zurich North America Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for your review and comments about our people. Throughout the year, we continue to expand our training opportunities.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Jan 1, 2022 - Assistant Vice President/Audit Team Lead in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome, cool management , supportive, great HR

      Cons

      Work life balance my be a concern

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zurich North America Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      We appreciate your review and are happy to hear you enjoy our culture and leadership team. FlexWork 2.0 does provide opportunities to help with work/life balance.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,018 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Zurich North America Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Zurich North America? Share Your Experiences

    Zurich North America logo
    or