Zillow "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Zillow Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 2 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
51 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Scientist 

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Salary, good culture, care about employees, solid work-life balance

    Cons

    Recently tightened costs, mostly a positive, but at times a detriment.

    Zillow2020-01-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Culture Leadership The company really valued my work/life balance and compensated me well.

    Cons

    Some management weren't as helpful as others.

    Zillow2019-11-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Startup Soul - Big Business Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - strong development culture - emphasis on inclusion and diversity - good balance of code quality and feature development - constantly pushing the business forward, never resting on laurels - high emphasis on work life balance - good snacks - tight team culture - excellent communication from upper/middle management to individual contributors

    Cons

    - constant change can be a little tiring

    Advice to Management

    Better communication between teams/offices.

    Zillow2019-11-15
  4. "Fantastic!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great company culture - Competitive pay - Great work/life balance (interns didn't have tons of pressure put on them) - Office has a music room and a game room - Just a generally happy place to work

    Cons

    - They house undergrad interns in apartments with shared bedrooms, so prepare to sleep in a twin and share a room.

    Zillow2019-10-30
  5. "A company that cares about its employees and is not afraid to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Awesome office, benefits, and perks - 401k match - med insurance w/ yearly allowance - WFH - Health allowance - discretionary time off [unlimited vacay as long as approved] - tech vending machine, monthly catered lunch - Zillow tower is beautiful - etc, just to name a few 2. Great work life balance Work hours are flexible as long as you do your duty You can do 6-3 days, come in at 9:30 for stand up and leave at 3 PM if you need to 3. Ease of changing teams Company acknowledges people want new challenges and even provides guidance on how to do so successfully. People periodically move around different teams. 4. Great mission and attractive product Zillow Offers is at the forefront of transforming the real estate Overall, the company is in the process of changing this mid-large size company into a huge enterprise centered around all things Real Estate. No longer just a media company, but going into finance and buy/sell-ling homes with Zillow Home Loans and Zillow Offers -- all things Real Estate

    Show More

    Cons

    Company is going through a lot of changes trying to be at the forefront of all the change 1. Suddenly hired thousands of people in Seattle office, which is causing a bit of friction among people 2. Market is yet to be convinced and our stock prices are dropping 3. Budget cuts are happening for things like holiday parties 3. Some experienced engineers are leaving due to compensation not being as high as they anticipated

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We understand that the business model needs to be changed, but it would be much appreciated if the C-suite people acknowledged and were more sympathetic of its impacts to the employees. Overall, thanks for at least trying to open up more and be more transparent with new events such as chats with CEO and bi-monthly Q&As.

    Zillow2019-10-24
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Lead 

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, great work culture

    Cons

    I don't think anything stands out here

    Zillow2019-10-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Computer vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applied Scientist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture work life balance and great project

    Cons

    The company as a whole is not as much technology oriented as Google

    Zillow2019-09-29
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic at allowing you to grow as an engineer. Great work-life balance.

    Cons

    Not a lot of cons. There are some stressful times, but that's the nature of software development. Does a great job at making sure it's not too stressful.

    Zillow2019-09-03
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work that has a promising outlook."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits - The benefits Zillow offers are numerous. Free snacks/drinks, gym reimbursement, time-off (vacation, parental leave), etc. Culture - Zillow really cares about its employees. There are various networks to foster a sense of belonging for marginalized groups, career development opportunities, emphasis on well-being and work-life balance, etc. I also love that despite being a mid sized company, it's still got a tech startup feel to it. Internal Mobility - Plenty of opportunities for career development. Zillow really invests in the growth of their employees. Innovation - Zillow is constantly iterating and never stagnating. I love that things are constantly changing, it really keeps you on your feet. I also really believe in the vision the company has. I see a lot of potential and Zillow definitely is not missing the opportunity to execute on it.

    Show More

    Cons

    Contact-to-Hire - I started at Zillow as a contract-to-hire employee. The contract-to-hire process was the worst. Despite being identical in function to every other Zillow employee, I felt like I was treated as a 2nd class citizen while a contractor. Contractors get terrible benefits, are excluded from certain events/activities, and when you are finally converted you lose your hire date - so all the time you spent as a contractor doesn't count. One thing that really made me feel excluded as a contractor was the fact I didn't get a z-Pal, which is a program they have for new hires that pairs them with someone from outside their team to bond with and introduce them to the company in a more informal way. The only reason people have to go through this unfortunate process is because management wants to make easier to let employees go if they don't live up to their expectations (my manager admitted this), which is a pretty bleak way of looking at it. Growing Pains - As things scale up, Zillow has experienced growing pains in a few areas. I feel like leadership really needs to step it up on transparency and communication. As an individual contributor I feel like I'm in the dark on what's going on. Sometimes changes happen and I find out weeks later that something had changed. So not only do I not have the chance to provide feedback and be involved in the process, I don't even get looped in on the change. Lower and middle-management could work on communicating out the direction and vision for our org.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ditch the contract-to-hire practice. Involve ICs in the decision making process. As we scale, please don't forget what makes this a great place to work. Keep the tech startup culture.

    Zillow2019-07-30
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great company with a great culture but lacking in the treatment of contractors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow for less than a year

    Pros

    - They really have an amazing group of people. I've worked cross-functionally on multiple projects and only rarely have I found people too busy or not willing to help. - There's always something new. You will never be bored working here. Plus, you can pursue what you want with, typically, much encouragement from your peers. - They offer great work-life balance. In fact, they discourage overworking and teams make an effort to adjust if the work gets to be too much.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Contractors don't feel valued from the perspective of the company. After talking with a few other contractors/FTE, as a whole, contractors are viewed and feel replaceable. From the perspective of the team, they are essential and necessary but the lack of effort to convert and lack of transparency from upper management on the need (or lack of need) for contractors makes it feel like as a contractor, you have no say at all in your future and have no security at the company. - There's a lack of resources for contractors. The HRBP is a good source of basic HR info and your manager is a good source of info for matters related to your work but there's nothing on how to effectively convert to a FTE or advance your career even while working a contractor role.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Setup reviews for contractors at a set cadence on all teams and convert the ones that are valuable to the team and the organization. There's nothing worse than talented people wasting away and losing motivation because they don't feel valued.

    Zillow2019-07-19
Found 120 reviews