Zillow Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated 4 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
87 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, culture, and products

    Cons

    Can be hard to advance from the bottom up

  2. "call center job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, really nice coworkers & managers, candy wall!

    Cons

    It's hard to move up from this position. They want you to stay in customer service for a long time before they allow you to even apply for something else. So if growth is what you're looking for, maybe look at some other positions. The company is great overall though.

    Zillow Response

    August 10, 2020Zillow

    If you are looking to grow into a new opportunity, I encourage you to speak with your manager or our internal mobility team and begin to explore your next chapter here at Zillow. The Internal Mobility team is made up a recruiters dedicated specifically to helping our employees identify new roles, opportunities and even point you in the right direction if there are skills or additional development needed. Reach out. They are here to help. - VP, Recruiting


  3. COVID-19
    Helpful (5)

    "Chaotic and very limiting. . . You need to be optimistic to enjoy the role"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and when culture is good, it’s very good. You will meet some of the best individuals you have ever met when working at Zillow with diverse experience. There is a lot to learn from all of these individuals and I wish management would take that into consideration more. There are some good engaging activities that take place, some better than others. Zillow has handled COVID19 well for us all. The recent announcement about being able to work from home until the end of 2020 took a lot of stress off of a lot of employees. Would be great if Zillow would honor WFH indefinitely. I enjoy my position more working from home because productivity has increased and I am able to focus on the important things such as... my work. You are given metrics for the work that you do which can be rewarding.

    Cons

    Be sure before taking the position as a Zillow Offers Advisor that you throughly understand the position. The position itself can feel entirely draining at times because it will never be explained to you that it’s essentially a call center. Day to day rules can change in an instant with your workflow. Things you were told the day before do not matter. That comes with working at a start up, but understand they will not honor their word and everything is changing at a constant. One day you will be told that something doesn’t matter and the next day it does. I sometimes think it depends on your mangers attitude towards you that day. There is a lot of playing “favorites” in the office. I also think great intentions have been set for culture, but everyone has to play along or it will never work well. It’s a very big tattletale culture. Growth is not encouraged in the advisor role. Your manager will stunt your growth if it means benefiting them with your numbers. I have heard from multiple advisors that they feel their concern for growth isn’t taken into consideration. It is very disheartening when you work incredibly hard day in and day out and you will never be considered for more than the advisor role. Promotions to management or lead positions are few and far between. I know they are working on this, but you will be told false info to try to keep you in the role. A lot of whispering amongst management in the office. . .WFH has alleviated that stress a lot. I also wish the compensation plan would be geared more towards the individual and pay them as such. Sometimes you will hear what management has said about you, but they will never address their concern with you.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    May 18, 2020President, Zillow

    I appreciate your thoughtful and balanced feedback, and I take the insights you've shared here seriously. Within Zillow Offers, there are both exciting and challenging tasks ahead, and this will require our teams to iterate, optimize and establish new ways of working together. There's more work to do here, but we're committed to providing our employees the support, training and mentorship they need to do the best work of their careers. -- Jeremy Wacksman

  4. Helpful (9)

    "It is really a roll of the dice"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, okay pay, wonderful location

    Cons

    Depends which org you end up, members of my org from directors down to IC who have been there for the past 5years create a super political toxic environment. Dead end career and too much negative talking.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    April 25, 2020CPO

    Thanks for your review - I am disappointed to hear your experience. If you would be willing to give me more detail please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com .

  5. Helpful (9)

    "Average tech company problems"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great benefits Med, stock, 401K, Dental, Vision -Great opportunities to learn and grow with Linkedin classes, manager trainings, conference budgets etc. - Direct manager is great and supportive when needed - Collaborators are skilled and eager to work together to get the work done

    Cons

    There are a lot of typical tech company problems and some that are unique to Zillow. - Hours: expect to work 50-60 hours, not 40 - Not family friendly - Turnover is high even for tech - Firings are common - Fast turnarounds with lots of churn on work - Teams are overextended and sometimes, unhappy - Lots of production, not a lot of creative work - 4-6 hours of meetings a day leaving little time to design - Too many meetings. This is a big one. Here is the typical approval process: A project will need to be approved by your manager (very typical and necessary), then in a separate meeting, pitched to your mgr's mgr (no problem), and in a separate meeting, pitched to your mgr's mgr's mgr (am I in the movie Office Space? Why can't this be in the same meeting?), then pitched to stakeholders all in the span of 2 days and incorporating all mgr feedback along the way. This happens about 3 rounds a project and never happens in the same meeting. After that, it's simple math. You must schedule 4 separate meetings for each of the 3 rounds of feedback, that's 12 meetings for a month long project. Let's say you are assigned to 6-10 projects. That's conservatively, 72 meetings for 6 projects a month divided by 20 working days which equals 3-4 mgr meetings a day plus all the normal manager 1 on 1s, team meetings and company meetings. That's why you're in 4-6 hours of meetings a day leaving 2-4 hours for design.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    March 17, 2020CPO

    Thank you for your years of dedication to the company and your teams. As a 5 year veteran, you have seen a lot of changes, and right now, we're in the midst of one of the biggest changes yet. There are both exciting and challenging things ahead, but this requires new ways of doing things and working together. Specifically, as we move fast and work hard, efficiency is key. I encourage you to address this within your team and be vocal about solutions, especially given your strong relationship with your manager. Efficiency must be a priority across the company and we all need to be open to ideas here and respond. Please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com if you ever want to share your thoughts. - Dan Spaulding

  6. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    I love working at Zillow. Great company with great benefits.

    Cons

    Some of the perks have been declining over the years, but its still a great place to be.

    Zillow Response

    January 31, 2020Chief Analytics Officer

    Thanks for the feedback, and glad the culture and work has been a good fit for you. It's a fun time to be innovating in the real estate space. As you know, we are moving fast in our transition to Zillow 2.0; this change is driving more analysis of our spend so that we can make sure we're operationally excellent, however we continue to grow our team and increase the investment in our technology and tools. If you would like to discuss more, please feel free to reach out to me directly. -Stan stan@zillowgroup.com

  7. Helpful (30)

    "Data Services is a Dumpster Fire"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Integration Analyst in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Zillow has great benefits The rest of the company seems to abide by core values The company (not team) has exciting potential for growth

    Cons

    I have been on this team a long time and have seen it go nowhere but downhill. Just in the past months 4 people have announced their departure just within the Assessment team of Data Services. And it is no secret that more will soon follow suit. If anyone in the C-Level reads this it is 100% a rejection of the teams senior management. Any other explanation is simply false. It began with these 4, and many more are now looking to get out. The teams senior managers are nothing but a clique of old school business people who's values are opposite to those of Zillows. They work to protect themselves and not those under them. If you are not one of their chosen 'favorites' you will go nowhere. This was 100% apparent in the latest promotions on the team. Everyone saw through the process and everyone knew who was going to be promoted before the process even started. The hiring process was biased and unfair from the start. People do not want to work for shady, dishonest people and your continued toleration of this team's leadership is jeopardizing the whole project. Survey after survey comes and nothing changes. Low scores across the board. The managers want to point fingers but cannot point it at themselves. They are the problem. They pretend that no other people can do this job or understand the data but them, but the reality is that assessment data is messy but ultimately uncomplicated. Any person versed in data could lead this team to be better both in terms of morale and the data itself. None of the managers are technical and only slow the process down and interject themselves in processes to seem like they are important. Morale is at an all time low on the team and people are burned out. If you are thinking of applying to this team because of the prospect of working for Zillow you should think again and look elsewhere. The novelty of working here soon wears off as this team is not in line with Zillow. You will see and talk to other people who love Zillow, their teams, and their managers. But you will not find that on this team.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    April 25, 2020CPO

    We want to be sure to continue to address the concerns on these team. If you would like to connect directly please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com .

  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stands by core values, opportunity for growth, focused attention on investing in and supporting employees, great culture, great benefits.

    Cons

    Do not have any at present.

    Zillow Response

    November 9, 2019CPO

    Thanks for your review - we are glad you are enjoying your ZG experience. If there is ever anything you think we could do differently please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com...we always appreciate thoughts on how to improve.

  9. "Smart and caring leadership"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Senior Client Engagement Specialist 

    I worked at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and culture.

    Cons

    Growing really fast and changing rapidly.

    Zillow Response

    July 23, 2019Senior Director, Connections Experience

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am happy to hear you had a very positive experience. We are indeed growing fast and changing quickly, but we view this as a positive. Our business is constantly evolving and we are never standing still. This is a unique environment and best suited for those who are willing to change and evolve with the business. Thanks for your contributions during your time with us and best of luck in your new endeavors. Greg Davis Senior Director Connections Experience gdavis@zillowgroup.com

  10. Helpful (15)

    "Turnover rate for sales is around 70% (no, seriously)"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch on Fridays, great benefits, gym reimbursement, free snacks.

    Cons

    I stayed around 6 months. At first, everything was great; they do the old smoke and mirrors trick- free lunch! gym reimbursement! tons of $$ if you hit quota! But the reality is: everyone is extremely stressed about hitting quota and it creates a negative office environment. The well is very poisoned here. I felt like after a month of training and traveling to Seattle, the smoke screen was gone and I realized I had made a mistake accepting an offer. You basically have to hit quota 3 times or you're gone. The quota is pretty high at $8,000 and you're selling to real estate agents that either hate Zillow and have burned by the product before or don't have the money to buy it. A lot of people I know are "on plan" meaning they have to hit 3 months in a row or they're gone, and only 2 out of the 7 people I trained with are still employed here (by choice or not). I personally left because the stress and lack of job security wasn't worth it. None of the managers came and said goodbye to me when I put in my two weeks (which, they tell you to wrap it up within 10-15 min of giving notice, but at least they pay you for the two weeks), which is whatever, but just contributes to the "you are extremely replaceable and ultimately don't matter here" sales culture. I could probably go on, but if you're on the fence about applying...don't. It's monotonous, some managers can be micromanagers, and it just really sucked to work here. Although I took a pay cut at my new job, I feel so much happier and less stressed.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    July 2, 2019Senior Director of Sales

    I appreciate you taking time to review our company and team. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the benefits and perks here at Zillow Group. It’s unfortunate that you did not enjoy your time as an employee. As you know, Zillow Group is a fast-paced and rapidly growing company. We raise our bar every year with our performance and expectations of ourselves and our sales teams. The numbers you outline in your review detailing a 70% turnover rate is not accurate for our sales team. I take your feedback and concerns seriously and am happy to hop on a call 949-398-1610 or feel free to email me at brandoni@zillowgroup.com if you want to discuss any other challenges or ideas you may have regarding our company or team. We are always open to feedback from current and past employees. I wish you the best of luck in your current opportunity. Brandon Inouye - Senior Director of Sales

Found 65 reviews