Zalando Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Zalando Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
Robert Gentz
279 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance is great and I have never been pressured to work out of hours or weekends in my time here(in 41 reviews)

  • "Good team atmosphere, relaxed working environment- flexible hrs(in 41 reviews)

Cons
  • "Gehalt eher am unteren Ende dessen, was(in 28 reviews)

  • "No benefits, very german management/values(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Cutting Edge Tech Stack, amazing colleagues, and a good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The developer infrastructure at Zalando is the best I have ever worked with. The CI/CD platform in particular makes it easy to build and deploy applications to Kubernetes clusters running on AWS. There is little to no red tape, and teams are (within guidelines) permitted to choose the technology they deem most appropriate for the task at hand. The work life balance is great and I have never been pressured to work out of hours or weekends in my time here. They provide way more than average holiday days, and are flexible with both working hours and locations. I highly recommend Zalando as a place to work, have fun, and learn lots from extremely talented colleagues.

    Show More

    Cons

    The organisational structure is regularly influx, and priorities can shift and change with little notice.

    Zalando2019-12-10
  2. "Great Place to Learn new Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Really smart work colleagues - Lots of trust from management - Tackling problems at large scale

    Cons

    - Balance between local business experts and engineers is not perfect - Too much organisational restructuring

    Zalando2019-12-10
  3. "Refreshingly No-Nonsense hiring process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Lead in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Consistent dialog for progress updates - Excellent management of remote international interview - Very professional and engaging interviewers

    Cons

    - Expenses for the international trip was expensive

    Zalando2019-11-21
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place for SDs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cutting edge tech, Great architectural solutions, open culture, inter operational teams

    Cons

    Changes can take time provoking frustrations

    Zalando2019-11-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Leading edge technology stack Work with many talented people Good work and life balance Allowance to work remotely when needed Great salary & benefits

    Cons

    I can't think of anything remarkable

    Zalando2019-11-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Development, good coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good coworkers (both technically and personally speaking) - Innovation and use of latest technologies

    Cons

    - Overloaded with documentation and paperwork for engineering - A lot of internal processes - Management is changing its mind all the time and prevents being productive. This is changing in a very positive way just recently.

    Zalando2019-11-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great teams; interesting work; excellent culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My colleagues in the Dublin office (and beyond) make it a joy to come to the office. We work hard and take our jobs seriously, but every day comes with good humor, laughs, and jokes. It’s exciting to work on the cutting edge - to see these models make an impact on the business and our customers’ experiences; we’re using state-of-the-art data science to address real problems for the business.

    Cons

    We've gone through a few organisations shuffles and reshuffles that can be disruptive to day-to-day work. But things are much more stable now, thankfully.

    Zalando2019-11-07
  8. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great team and technology - Production readiness taking serious

    Cons

    - A lot of internal processes - Heads are very absent

    Zalando2019-11-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good culture & amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Excellent knowledgeable & engaged people that will challenge you * The on-boarding process in Dublin is one of the best I been through * The benefits package is one of the best in Dublin * Management is very transparent and won't try to sell you "hopes & dreams" * Good office environment overall, people are extremely friendly

    Cons

    * Some legacy code to deal with * It's a big company, communication and all sorts of issues are going to come up

    Advice to Management

    * Keep doing what you are doing * Make sure the interviewing standards aren't lowered due to high demand for new hires (take time to get good people in the door)

    Zalando2019-11-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frontend Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really good benefits - pension, healthcare, dental, gym and 27 days holidays Great culture, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Very talented employees who are very supportive of each other.

    Cons

    The normal pains that comes with a large company. Sometimes can be hard to advance career depending on role.

    Zalando2019-11-08
Found 718 reviews