Cover image for YMCA
Logo

YMCA

Engaged Employer

YMCA

Add a Review

YMCA Reviews

3.9

71% would recommend to a friend

(17997 total reviews)

President and CEO Brian Steffen

Brian Steffen

85% approve of CEO

Ratings by category

4.1

Diversity and Inclusion

4.0

Culture and Values

3.8

Work/Life Balance

3.5

Senior Management

3.4

Career Opportunities

3.1

Compensation and Benefits

Ratings distribution

5 stars

36%

4 stars

30%

3 stars

22%

2 stars

7%

1 star

5%

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email

Found 17,997 of over 20K reviews

Updated 5 Dec 2023

What people are saying about YMCA

Consulting

2 months ago

an 

Engagement Manager

What would you do? I’ve a local offer from ACN and Kearney Middle East. The former’s a lateral move (but in a totally new team) and the latter’s a generalist role at A level. I’m based in Europe. Personally inclined to ME but fiancé’s opportunities are limited. Also afraid if things don’t work out, may be hard to repatriate to Europe not knowing the local languages (I’m EU citizen) and only being exposed to public sector projects (from what I hear). Pay diff is huge. Please advice.

14

11 Comments

Got a burning question about YMCA? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with YMCA employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Excerpts from user reviews, not authored by Glassdoor

Pros
  • "Also the people I worked with were great and really did care for the children and campers(in 1219 reviews)
  • "Great staff at my branch who always worked as a team real well and were very supportive.(in 774 reviews)
  • "flexible hours are nice if I don't want the hours I can reject them.(in 743 reviews)
  • "It was a positive experience and all my coworkers were great(in 605 reviews)
  • "Great work environment and perfect for anyone who's looking for a part(in 359 reviews)
Cons
    1. 5.0
      18 Apr 2022
      Anonymous Employee
      Former Employee, less than 1 year
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are many good pros here

      Cons

      The pay isn’t the greatest for me

      1. 4.0
        23 Sept 2022
        Marketing Assistant
        Current Employee, more than 3 years
        Dublin, Dublin
        Recommend
        CEO Approval
        Business Outlook

        Pros

        Good work environment, flexiility, local community support

        Cons

        community employment scheme position, work for fre

      2. Join the YMCA team
        See Our Latest Jobs
        1. 3.0
          4 May 2022
          Lifeguard
          Former Employee
          Recommend
          CEO Approval
          Business Outlook

          Pros

          Good job and employer yeah

          Cons

          None it was good place

          1. 5.0
            10 Apr 2022
            Camp Councillor
            Former Employee
            Recommend
            CEO Approval
            Business Outlook

            Pros

            Great team, very helpful, great place

            Cons

            Not much to speak of

            1. 5.0
              6 Aug 2021
              Company Secretary
              Current Employee
              Dublin, Dublin
              Recommend
              CEO Approval
              Business Outlook

              Pros

              Nice people that work there

              Cons

              Not many cons to be honest

              1. 3.0
                12 Jun 2021
                Communications Assistant
                Current Employee
                Recommend
                CEO Approval
                Business Outlook

                Pros

                Contribution to local community/ work with children

                Cons

                Not much opportunities, mostly CE scheme

                1. 4.0
                  3 Jun 2021
                  Driver
                  Current Employee
                  Galway
                  Recommend
                  CEO Approval
                  Business Outlook

                  Pros

                  Pleasant environment friendly no stress

                  Cons

                  Late closing holidays are little short

                  1. 4.0
                    11 Apr 2016
                    Anonymous Employee
                    Former Employee
                    Recommend
                    CEO Approval
                    Business Outlook

                    Pros

                    One of the pros of working as a lifeguard at the Y,, was that they were very easy going with scheduling. It was one schedule for 6 weeks, but as long as you got someone to cover your shift and they sign off on it, you could take off.

                    Cons

                    One of the down sides of working at my pool, was that I was the only lifeguard on duty. There would be no one to help use the back board if need be, or I would have to clear the pool just so I could use the bathroom. This would be an issue when I have 4 hour shifts.

                    1. 5.0
                      20 Jan 2016
                      Anonymous Employee
                      Former Employee
                      Recommend
                      CEO Approval
                      Business Outlook

                      Pros

                      Fantastic place to work. Helps you grow at every stage. Extensive training and support provided. Working in a non-profit and being able to make a difference is an amazing feeling.

                      Cons

                      There were no cons at all

                      1. 3.0
                        21 Aug 2016
                        Anonymous Employee
                        Former Employee
                        Recommend
                        CEO Approval
                        Business Outlook

                        Pros

                        felt it was a great place to work always enjoyed it

                        Cons

                        sometimes i worked long hours and also weekends

                      Viewing 1 - 10 of 17,997 Reviews
                      </>Embed

                      YMCA Reviews FAQs

                      YMCA has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 19,601 reviews left anonymously by employees. 71% of employees would recommend working at YMCA to a friend and 54% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

                      According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, YMCA employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at YMCA. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

                      71% of YMCA employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated YMCA 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

                      Popular Careers with YMCA Job Seekers

                      JobsSalariesInterviews

                      Want the inside scoop on your own company?

                      Join your Company Bowl™ for anonymous work chats.

                      Popular Conversations

                      Interview Tips

                      Feel free to post any interview questions you might be asked and I’ll help you compose an effective response :)

                      Arizona State University

                      Can someone provide insights into what to expect during a DevOps internship interview?

                      1
                      0 Comments

                      Senior Product Manager

                      What is a normal/common resume length for c2c/consultant roles in tech? What about a fte resume? My contract role resume used to be 5-6pages, this was 4years ago, prior to covid. Not sure if this is still a norm. Meanwhile my fte resume is concise, 2pages long. I have 10years of exp for reference.

                      1
                      0 Comments

                      Research Assistant

                      ☀️ Friendly reminder you’re not alone ☀️ Just thought I’d cheer all of us on. Please don’t be discouraged. Yea it’s daunting and we got some crazy ghosting going on, but we’ll beat whatever system this has become. We’ll get that good job. We’ve worked so hard to get here. And hey maybe for some of you this is a sign to start your own company, create jobs for others! No? Don’t think you’re cut out for that? Lol who knows? Ah well, job hunter or future founder please don’t stop, we’re almost there ❤️

                      2
                      0 Comments

                      Glassdoor has 19,601 YMCA reviews submitted anonymously by YMCA employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if YMCA is right for you.