Workday Software Applications Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Workday Software Applications Engineer Reviews

Updated 30 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Workday CEO, Co-Founder & Chairman Aneel Bhusri
Aneel Bhusri
4 Ratings
  1. "Great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Applications Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Workday for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office, decent sized teams, good management, good atmosphere, fun company events. Getting to intern at Workday was a blast, couldn't ask for a better place in my opinion.

    Cons

    As a Software Application Engineer, you use Workday's proprietary programming language. It's pretty highly abstracted from a conventional programming language, so even though it's enjoyable to write code in, it can seem like you're not doing 'real programming'. There are other 'real' programming roles in Workday however, such as working on a tools team.

    Continue reading
    Workday2019-11-30
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Good (not Great) Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They treat the employee as best as they can, really good work-life balance, and amazing benefits!

    Cons

    Working on a proprietary technology that is technically a "mess": not easy to maintain, not easy to develop with.

    Continue reading
    Workday2019-03-18
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Software Application Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent culture and benefits, very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere

    Cons

    It can feel like you are stuck in Application Development using a proprietary language The language makes development slower than it could be for Apps teams Pay is OK, they put a lot of emphasis on stock-based compensation, which doesn't vest until the year after you receive it Tendency to reinvent the wheel with internal tools

    Continue reading
    Workday2018-04-22
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place To Work, Lovely People. Only downside is the development language"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Applications Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work Great benefits Friendly People

    Cons

    Development language leaves me feeling pidgeonholed

    Continue reading
    Workday2016-09-24
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Excellent Company to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Salary, Flexible Time, decent enough amount of benefits/Perks, Lot of fun, Work from home policy, etc

    Cons

    I guess depending on what your area (DEV, QA, PM) the experience could be different in terms of the kind of work to do, but overall the experience is good

    Workday2016-08-20
  6. "Supportive and Healthy Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people Good management Intern and College Grad programs are amazing

    Cons

    Pleasanton is a very suburban area, although it has great restaurants

    Workday2019-10-14
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good company, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture Unlimited PTO Friendly people Nice benefits

    Cons

    Low salaries Proprietary language is bad Lots of bureaucracy

    Continue reading
    Workday2019-07-22
  8. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment with friendly people, comfortable work/life balance and nice technology.

    Cons

    Proprietary language might not carry over well into different career paths.

    Workday2019-05-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "I love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I came to Workday as a new graduate, and I couldn't be happier with my choice. In addition to great salary, benefits, employee programs, etc., the characteristic that really sets Workday apart is the people. The whole company really feels like one huge team, which I think is pretty rare, especially in contrast to other companies. There's a ton of trust, and the management structure is super supportive while totally avoiding micromanagement.

    Cons

    It would be awesome if there were a few more options for subsidized meals on the Pleasanton campus, but the snack program is totally free + provides almost anything you need.

    Workday2019-04-08
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer II in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, WFH whenever you need.

    Cons

    No free lunches, compensation could be better.

    Workday2019-01-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 22 reviews