Workday Software Applications Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 of over 2,266 reviews

4.1
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Workday Co-Founder and co-CEOs Aneel Bhusri, Chano Fernandez
Aneel Bhusri, Chano Fernandez
15 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Unbelievable Work Environment

    Sep 22, 2021 - Senior Associate Software Applications Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great support from everyone on my team. Since you learn Workday's proprietary languages (XO and YP) everyone on your team can help you and understand what it's like having to learn it. I thought it was going to be another "fake" American tech giant company, but I really feel like everyone here is happy and genuine. My first day I was set up completely without any issues gaining access to anything. Meetings are only held when it makes sense, and we use our videos so you actually see the people you are working with. You get meaningful messages and gifts from the company (extra days off, food & sweets, high quality backpacks, tech equipment, gym memberships, events..) I'll honestly never leave.

    Cons

    XO and YP are Workday's proprietary languages and if you plan on jumping ship in the future without having kept up to date on the other languages you know, you may feel lacking in experience. But they make it very clear to you what you're signing up for.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company but watch out Graduate Application Developers.

    Jul 13, 2021 - Applications Developer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People were great, building was a fun place! Compensation and package overall is good! The summer/Christmas parties were unreal! The company has quite an employee centric philosophy overall so it is a great place to work. The proprietary language/stack has one benefit for graduate. Amongst new hires from graduate to senior, everybody has to learn the new language and stack. If you can learn it quickly an excel in it, you can become more valuable than a more experienced person with less experience in the proprietary stack. This can help you gain more responsibility and become a leader :) These are great benefits and workday is a great place overall.

    Cons

    Workday is ahead of the curve in many ways, but for me in these areas it was sub-par and something I believe that needs fixing. The following cons come not just from my own experience but also from other colleagues and friends within Wday. The proprietary stack is a double edged sword for graduates. 1. You aren't working with current industry standard tech, or building skills that are easily generalisable to other roles. 2. It can therefore feel like you've pigeon holed yourself. 3. This can leave you with a weakspot for technical interviews with other companies in the future. Joining as a graduate can mean you are artificially held back this a notional timeline that dictates how fast you can advance, be promoted or have compensation adjusted. A common thing is that you cannot be promoted within a year of joining or within a year of your last promotion. Since evaluations are twice a year, realistically it can be 18 months before you can even be considered for promotion or advancement. The counterpoint of this, is that new joiners can get an aggressive package. Someone with the same amount of experience as you can join later and receive a better compensation package. This can leave current employees feeling less valued. This also encourages churn. This also means that opportunities are given to people based on time they've spent with the company rather than capability. Past contributions or current performance. can't trump time spent with company. This can lead to frustration within teams. The best way to break out of standard timelines or seek a compensation adjustment is to find a new job, get an offer and let workday know that you have other options.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Hard not to be happy

    Jun 17, 2021 - Software Applications Developer III in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance, compensation and culture The cons are recognised and the company is taking steps. I've noticed them already. Everyone is very open and friendly and everyone is listened to.

    Cons

    The XO language can throw people off and is different from other languages so that anyone will take a little while to get used to it.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great benefits, culture and salary

    Jan 25, 2021 - Software Application Engineer III in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Respectable atmosphere, great salary, culture and benefits.

    Cons

    Proprietary programming language and no long-term remote work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good company for freshers, no growth in Apps teams after Sr role

    Jan 25, 2021 - XO Applications Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People friendly, but sometimes you end up with a bad manager and you are gone

    Cons

    For XO developer role, there is not much growth opportunity after Sr role (P4), your career is stuck at principal (p5) role. On the other hand, managers grow quickly.

    6 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Lots of Benefits | Proprietary development

    Oct 23, 2020 - Software Applications Engineer III in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good initial salary, Benefits include fitness reimbursement, deals from shopping stores etc. Fun work culture.

    Cons

    Proprietary development Framework becomes a non transferable skill.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fantastic place to work

    Sep 16, 2020 - Software Applications Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employees always treated fantastically, great culture, helpful people always willing to answer any questions

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    XpressO is DepressO

    Jun 24, 2020 - Software Applications Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relaxed environment Very friendly, helpful, natural staff Everyone is easily approachable

    Cons

    Relaxed environment, I prefer an environment where there is some level of stress to drive deadlines through Proprietary language is XpressO is not suited to a graduate computer scientist, you will forget how to read and write code unless you keep your skills sharp outside of working hours. I felt that any coding outside of your jobs domain was frowned upon.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to Work with no politics

    May 12, 2020 - Senior Associate Software Applications Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. An excellent working environment with warm, humble and talented people 2. Management is supportive of the scrum teams and individual contributors. 3. Freedom and push to work on innovative/out of the box solutions 4. Tightly knit scrum teams with no boundaries between product, development and quality assurance make work fun and get rid of monolith processes. 5. Workday as a company is very focussed on employee well being with a great snack program, health & fitness schemes, mental wellness schemes. They even have a section in the office dedicated to "Wellness Center" 6. Senior developers in the org are open to new ideas/feedback/suggestions/criticism. They are helpful too.

    Cons

    No cons from me, I feel Workday Ireland is a great place to work One thing that some people may not like is developing in XpressO, but i think its a great language for the purpose.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Working as an intern

    May 15, 2020 - Software Applications Development in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture, great team. Very nice working environment. New day new challenge.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 82 Reviews

Popular Careers with Workday Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Workday? Share Your Experiences

Workday logo
or