Workday Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Workday Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 15 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Workday CEO Aneel Bhusri
Aneel Bhusri
7 Ratings
  1. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with

    Cons

    No cons i can think of.

    Workday2018-01-26
  2. "Interesting work in a forward thinking company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting work Good benefits Good office space

    Cons

    Promotion path can be a little slow

    Workday2019-10-15
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Good company but no growth option and long working days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Decent salary, stock option, ESPP available • Peer-level colleagues are very good, friendly, open to new ideas • Good snack program • First, two year is really very exciting • Great company for college graduates

    Cons

    • Working days are very long, for a senior engineer position you can expect meetings with the USA till 7 pm (sometimes till 8). And day starts at 9 am. Too many meetings. • Career growth is very limited (if you have the ambition to grow in technical ladder, then this company is not for you) -- Some people already complained about favouritism (read other Glassdoor reviews). • Majority of the managers are good at... talking and has less technical knowledge. As this company grows rapidly, this becomes a major issue. Management value people who is a good story teller. • With the growth of the company, they are becoming more process oriented. This is too much sometimes. • Dublin App dev team depends heavily on the USA. Dublin team don't have enough freedom for a technical decision (this is one of the reasons to have so many late night meetings). • After two years working as an application developer, your learning scope is very limited. Once you have worked in (almost) all xpresso frameworks, there is not much to learn and the job becomes less challenging. • Technical interview processes are very easy this is one of the reason lots of candidates (who are not so good technically) got offers.

    Show More
    Workday2018-03-29
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday for more than a year

    Pros

    Very smart colleagues (both devs and managers), cool technology, friendly environment, no politics, meritocracy based way of working, solid compensation package, nice perks, balanced work/life split. If you like tech and you get things done, this is THE company to work for.

    Cons

    As strange as it may sound, no Cons come to my mind.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Workday2016-09-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday

    Pros

    Good environment Nice colleagues Great pay package

    Cons

    None I am aware of

    Workday2016-06-06
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Associate Software Engineer - Recruited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Associate Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday

    Pros

    I went through a recruitment process with workday recently. - All the recruiters were nice people to talk to. The technical guys were also quite good, we engaged in deep conversation about the technology stack and the architecture of some particular systems. - We were able to delay the Commence Date of the contract, which was excellent news for me. - The team-lead walked me through the module they are... developing and told me where will my place in the team be and what responsibilities will I have.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Relocation's a b*tch. Although they provided a Relocation Asistance Company. Which actually comes to a plsu, at the end of the day..

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Workday2016-04-08
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great projects, smart people to work with, free snacks and drinks. The company treats its employees really well. Have a lot of opportunaties to travel to US and Europe.

    Cons

    If there's free lunch that would be perfect.

    Workday2015-12-06
  8. Helpful (39)

    "Too much politics by management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Workday RSU, ESPP, 401k , Salary is above industry standard

    Cons

    Worst managers, too much politics. Too many worthless people from Oracle who brings their friends even they can't do the job. Blame game is all over. Too many levels of managers. Company is still not profitable! Managers talk/ criticizes about employees looks in their own language which is non English. No HR or HR is a joke. This whole company is a joke. They hire HR for QA Engineers work. Now you understand the... standard of this company. As long as you are less than a year here you will like to work here. Once you understand your worthless manager is doing politics with you, you will lose interest about the work and the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Terminate every 2nd level / Sr managers. They do nothing except politics.

    Workday2019-06-22
  9. "Love the people there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Engineering team are working hard and talented. Love to work with.

    Cons

    It's pretty competitive env. Career growth could be challenging.

    Workday2019-01-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good place, good energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management seem to know where they need to take the company.

    Cons

    Less than perfect facilities. Parking is a problem, so are availability of restrooms.

    Advice to Management

    Keep at it.

    Workday2019-01-09
Found 24 reviews