Workday Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Workday Reviews

Updated 14 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Workday CEO Aneel Bhusri
Aneel Bhusri
64 Ratings
  1. Helpful (16)

    "Good company but no growth option and long working days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Decent salary, stock option, ESPP available • Peer-level colleagues are very good, friendly, open to new ideas • Good snack program • First, two year is really very exciting • Great company for college graduates

    Cons

    • Working days are very long, for a senior engineer position you can expect meetings with the USA till 7 pm (sometimes till 8). And day starts at 9 am. Too many meetings. • Career growth is very limited (if you have the ambition to grow in technical ladder, then this company is not for you) -- Some people already complained about favouritism (read other Glassdoor reviews). • Majority of the managers are good at... talking and has less technical knowledge. As this company grows rapidly, this becomes a major issue. Management value people who is a good story teller. • With the growth of the company, they are becoming more process oriented. This is too much sometimes. • Dublin App dev team depends heavily on the USA. Dublin team don't have enough freedom for a technical decision (this is one of the reasons to have so many late night meetings). • After two years working as an application developer, your learning scope is very limited. Once you have worked in (almost) all xpresso frameworks, there is not much to learn and the job becomes less challenging. • Technical interview processes are very easy this is one of the reason lots of candidates (who are not so good technically) got offers.

    Show More
    Workday2018-03-29
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Software Application Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent culture and benefits, very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere

    Cons

    It can feel like you are stuck in Application Development using a proprietary language The language makes development slower than it could be for Apps teams Pay is OK, they put a lot of emphasis on stock-based compensation, which doesn't vest until the year after you receive it Tendency to reinvent the wheel with internal tools

    Advice to Management

    Give teams more scope to use the right tools for the job

    Workday2018-04-22
  3. Helpful (21)

    "It's Good, But . . ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time

    Pros

    Worked here in Workday's Dublin office as a manager for a little while. Enjoyed my time here but the company is suffering from many of the same issues other company's that are growing very quickly face. I experienced a lack of cohesive strategy from our VP. I was often asked to plan for my department's annual strategy without knowing what the overall company objectives would be; asked to prepare a full annual... budget two days before it was deadlined to be submitted, and then told to increase headcount in my team and then after months of effort to have it snatched away to be used for another line manager for a new strategy direction that seems to have been plucked out of thin air. People stay at Workday for quite a while. I have a feeling that three or four years ago when the company was smaller, the teams were closer and more coherent, and I daresay more in line with the culture that the senior management of the company espouse on a very regular basis. Now, with so many new faces, that ethos is being diluted and eroded, and the culture is beginning to slip. But that notwithstanding, the people are great, and I would recommend it as a place to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working as a manager, I found it a difficult environment. My own manager set for me no goals or objectives, and yet when my end of probation came I was hung out to dry for not making any of the objectives I was not set. The upper management seems to me to be confused. The product is good, but a bit buggy, and we have frequent customer outages. As the company has grown, these outages have increased as the company... has been slow to adopt high availability networks and systems, and so the stress is beginning to show in the workforce. There is also a feeling when discussing with other managers that the flexible working conditions are sometimes abused by those less motivated employees who frequently work from home, and leaving those in the office to prop them up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When setting objectives, good companies will set company wide objectives and filter those down to more granular objectives incrementally down the management chain. Sometimes it seems to me the company is making things up as it goes along.

    Workday2018-03-24
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Corporate Sales Development (CSD)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Sales Development (CSD) in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time

    Pros

    *Workday Inc*  I absolutely love Workday and our core values; employees, customers, integrity, innovation, and fun. How many companies have fun as a core value??  Aneel, Dave, Robyn, Ashley, Chano, Diana and Petros are outstanding business leaders.  Our technology is the best on the market and our customers love it. *Workday Dublin*  The office space is really nice and the location is perfect.  Senior... Leadership are really accessible, and they visit Dublin regularly, inc Aneel, our CEO.  Everyone is treated equally; we have a ‘first come, first served’ attitude.  The snack programme is really good and the roof-top garden is beautiful.  Fitness programme great and the shower room is really handy.  The Dublin parties are so much fun. *CSD Team*  CSD Management team have a great ability to hire incredible people.  The current CSD team are some of the smartest people I have ever worked with.  I don’t think I have once experienced ‘Sunday fear’ and I have a laugh every day.  Employees come from across Europe and each bring something different. Diversity is so important to us. *How we work*  I love that I am given the freedom/opportunity to get involved in other projects.  Management are supportive and allow us to work independently.  Individuality is encouraged, I feel like I can be myself at work.  We work hard, which can be stressful. If you like a challenge, then you’ll love it.

    Show More

    Cons

     Naturally, hyper-growth presents challenges. That’s normal for any organization.  Targets can be high, but that’s sales in general (not specific to Workday).  Given how hard the team work and the increasing workload - the salary is lower than expected. (everyone complains about pay - not specific to Workday).

    Advice to Management

     Aneel – keep doing what you’re doing, it’s great!  Workday Dublin Management – do we have space for an on-site gym?  CSD Management – continue being transparent and keep communicating. Reward and promote talent when it's appropriate.

    Workday2018-03-21
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Culture not as promoted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contractor, Employee Experience in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff events are amazing, HR dept that cares about employees, snack program good, free parking, lots of meeting room choice, good view from rooftop

    Cons

    Some questionable managers who don’t fit the culture Workday so heavily promote. I know it’s good to promote internally but sometimes they could look outside for new hires at management role. I found my manager was overally concerned with people’s title and promotion as opposed to leading the team. Perhaps because they had begun their career there at a lower level. I met other managers and was flabbergasted as to... how they passed the “culture interview”. My time at Workday was not a happy time down to my manager. The location was also terrible, lots of drug use around the building and staff getting mugged.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Should someone be promoted, they should have to go through another culture interview by someone who doesn’t know them (perhaps even someone from US office).

    Workday2018-03-18
  6. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, flexible working hours.

    Cons

    XpressO is a limited language.

    Workday2018-03-10
  7. "salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good salary, good training, flexible working time

    Cons

    no exact cons, everything is good

    Workday2018-02-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "lucky little corner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Engineer I in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've heard and seen people from other teams over-working and rightly complaining about their work-life balance. I've read a couple of bad reviews referring to the security team in the US. That is why I'd like to state how different is my experience instead, within the security team in Ireland, since - as some have pointed out already - it depends on the team you work with. I work in Security in Dublin, Ireland which... is divided into different branches: Security Engineering, Risk Mgmt, Security Operation Centre. My team is absolutely awesome. Our direct manager is great. We have: - 1-1 meetings every week and they're always very helpful. - team sync meetings to keep each other updated on progress (since we often work on distinct projects while collaboratinf with only 1 or 2 others in the team but not everyone) which are very useful. We are: - encouraged to propose change and innovative projects - given time to work on PoC the above ideas - collaborating with other teams to improve the internal security assets. Whenever there is a problem, we always do as much as we can to mitigate it rather than closing our eyes and ignoring it (as done in some other companies). Not only my own manager but also all the others in Security in Dublin are friendly, respectful, approachable, supportive of bottom-up ideas, of work-life balance and of advancing team member's knowledge and career. My job is extremely interesting and varied, since we balance between securing loads of different technologies and developing our own security tools plus often running internal pentesting. Even though it is hard to find senior sec people we have never lowered the standard in the hiring interviews. My manager also gives each of us clear goals for promotions: if met you're in, otherwise out -which is absolutely fair. Finally, I've never experienced any sexism at all - which is great nowadays. Indeed, our org and the whole company is full of inspiring women. We even have our own women@workday global group and local ones, which are all fairly active and full of useful initiatives. Not to mention: - perks, snacks, fruit (piles of berries, figs, mangos and avocados), benefits, bonus, stock - dentist/optician/massage on site - facilities to work and for entertainment (playstations, xbox, nintendo, table tennis, pool table, etc) - employees clubs well funded and supportive - help meeting other colleagues while exercising (many are sport-based) and having fun - giving&doing program - you get money based on the time you spent volunteering for a charity, which can only be used for further donations + your donations to a charity are doubled by the company every time - the nice people around you wherever you go: in the corridor, kitchen, etc. and all the nice people in the security team in Dublin.

    Show More

    Cons

    Since in my org the majority of managers are based in Pleasanton, US, there seems to be a bit of a disconnection between the teams over there and us.

    Advice to Management

    Rather than having frequent and numerous awards within our group under the CIO, it may be worth to have less but more carefully evaluated people/ projects to reward. This would allow to also focus on each of them more so to justify the judges' choice.

    Workday2018-01-26
  9. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with

    Cons

    No cons i can think of.

    Workday2018-01-26
  10. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great growth/career opportunities, fantastic benefits, amazing salary, top location, very good snack program, office culture is outstanding

    Cons

    Would be great to have free lunch, howver snacks are constantly improved

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, great job!

    Workday2018-01-03
Found 85 reviews