Workday Product Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Workday Product Manager Reviews

Updated 29 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Workday CEO Aneel Bhusri
Aneel Bhusri
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Culture is everything, an office full of friendly faces and few ego's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They trust their employees, from day one they trust you to do your job and do the right thing. They are giving me a huge amount of opportunity and trust me to stay with them, which I have every intention of doing. Really heavily investing in my training and education with no contract commitments required from me. Really rigorous interview process for aptitude and cultural fit, it would be easy for a company... growing so fast to drop their standards but they don't. Great company strategy, I really feel like our executive management have strategy down to a tee and and the work we are doing is well directed and making the company very profitable. With generous share options you feel like you are part of the company's massive success. Amazing offices, everything you could want. The snack program is just the best with a huge range of fruit delivered every day from the markets. Company parties and cultural events occur all the time. Their on-boarding process is top notch. I feel like I had the tools needed to start providing value right out of the door. Very quickly fit into my team. Such a great office location in Smithfield. Loads of opportunity to travel, generous number of holidays. Which as a young professional wanting to see the world is great. Great support system, multiple points of contact in the company for support, guidance and advice. Very little / no politics. It is just so refreshing to see a company with such strong morals, and good intentions to do so well competitively. Workday is on to a winning formula.

    Show More

    Cons

    Salary isn't the most competitive & There is a lot of technical debt as a result of having to scale so quickly, every rule has multiple exceptions. (This isn't necessarily a con as it is what the work is.)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. If there was any advice: Dublin is getting very competitive on salaries and it wouldn't be good to start losing people who choose a substantial pay increase over working for a great company.

    Workday2017-10-09
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Overall a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great culture, great people - really good sense of teamwork, people want to help out - Great modern office space - Great perks; shares, gym allowance, healthcare etc

    Cons

    - Company has grown so quickly that at times it can be a bit disorganised - Proprietary language that's used to build the product is very restrictive to building a great product - On the Product Management side, there was little room for innovation as the roadmap became an list of items built for customers who shouted the loudest rather than strategic priorities

    Workday2018-07-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great company, great culture, great prospect for the future."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture and future prospects of the company are the best things about this organization.

    Cons

    In an effort to keep costs low, cash compensation seems slightly below average. The stock compensation is good but hard to liquidate to sustain a desirable quality of life with a clear conscience given the company's prospects for the future.

    Advice to Management

    Keep thinking about the future of the company. Anything you can do to help cash compensation would be appreciated.

    Workday2019-04-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best places I've worked at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Product Manager in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people who work there support you and help you like no other, they'll go out of their way to provide you with resources that will make you succeed from day 1 of the job Great culture, there are no divides between management and lower level workers. You can setup time with a VP or exec without having to go through the "formal/political" channels that you might need to at other companies. Great work life... balance & mix of lots of fun events during the work day

    Show More

    Cons

    Wish the food options were better, but we do have a new cafe opening in another 2 months so hopefully this will change Compensation may not be as high as other companies out there.

    Advice to Management

    HR should be keeping up with the compensation rates of other companies by doing yearly evaluations across the board & increasing salary packages as needed. This will keep employees motivated to stay & not look for opportunities outside the company

    Workday2019-04-18
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Fun work environment, dated tech and UI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Emphasis on fun and customer service

    Cons

    Lack of accountability. Legacy tech stack, limits user experience and innovation

    Advice to Management

    Migrate from Xpresso to Java and React. Accelerate OKR

    Workday2019-04-10
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company, Experience Driven by Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Product Manager in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great growth potential - Flexible and relaxed work style - Extremely friendly and welcoming people you work with on a daily basis

    Cons

    - Mgmt at times can be strong willed and unwilling to listen to subordinates. This could be isolated to my team but there are a lot of former Oracle employees that tend to bring that older culture to Workday in their teams. - Slightly below average pay

    Advice to Management

    Empower Individual Contributors to be decision makers and have more of a platform to have input

    Workday2019-04-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "It's a big company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Pleasanton, CA

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of benefits and perks available.

    Cons

    Work life balance varies significantly by org.

    Workday2019-03-28
  8. "Great culture and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very strong medical benefits, great focus on employee wellness, strong leadership that the company gets behind.

    Cons

    Very slow promotions, low to no salary increases (they do usually offer RSU refreshes), frequent re-orgs as they try to align for strategic growth opportunities.

    Workday2019-01-18
  9. Helpful (22)

    "Frustrating management in some areas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Product Manager in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Snacks, flexible hours, overall culture, breadth of opportunities

    Cons

    Management is self interested, doesn't care about employees; Politics and poor management; Recognition for people who look like they're working hard even if they are not

    Workday2018-09-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sr. Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Workday has a great culture. They value their employees, and provide great benefits and work life balance.

    Cons

    There really aren't any cons on a day to day level to note. The only "con" may be that the company is growing rapidly, and that can lead to some bumps in the road along the journey. However, the leadership always responds quickly and effectively to any challenges that come up

    Workday2018-04-26
Found 23 reviews