Woodruff Sawyer Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Woodruff Sawyer Reviews

Updated 6 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Woodruff Sawyer Chief Executive Officer Andy Barrengos
Andy Barrengos
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "The benefits are competitive and the work/life balance aspect is achievable(in 13 reviews)

  • "The People, Flexible Work Schedules, Benefits, and My Team(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Only con is that WS is not as large as some other brokers so some resources are limited, but that is more than offset by the work environment(in 5 reviews)

  • "Lots of Favoritism, no accountability from middle management(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people, great culture leading to great clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The leadership is invested in ensuring the success of the employees. They continue to show this through encouraging new ideas to be brought to the forefront, seeking out new opportunities to expand skill sets of employees, providing platforms for teamwork and creativity.

    Cons

    Commission pay structure/frequency...but outside of frequency the plan is robust.

    Continue reading
    Woodruff Sawyer2019-08-06
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Modern organization on the outside, traditional organization on the inside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Assistant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, flexibility, remote work available, small yet powerful office.

    Cons

    Micromanagement, lack of professionalism, unrealistic amount of work and deadlines, upper management has favorites, toxic work environment from manager, and zero technical training. It was unfortunate to realize that this company still operated under a traditional style. “Moving up the ladder" meant, essentially, competing against a 10-15 year experienced Account Manager. The work given could vary from punching holes in paper work, to dealing with complex audits. Need help figuring out or basic training how to work a carrier portal? Good luck, there isn’t any. The only training given was theory based and the technical training (how to actually complete an assignment) didn’t exist. After asking for technical training, the manager would give an hours worth, maybe two, of technical training and then I would be on my own. Good luck asking for additional help or if you didn’t take adequate notes. The manager had a short fuse when asked multiple questions. That’s where the outer layer of a seemingly positive company culture started to head towards a negative direction. An entry level employee should come in versed and ready to learn but should never hesitate to ask questions and that’s how I felt near the end of my employment with this company. Whether it be 5 or 100 questions, management should be ready and willing to answer the questions. The majority of the training provided were 1-2 hour long videos, which didn’t end up helping much. Being forced to learn on my own, I eventually reached out to the other employees within the company (both Denver and the SF office) in hopes that they could provide further training, where the manager lacked in doing so. This is where an actual training system would benefit the company. If management, specifically the manager, finds it difficult and frustrating to find the time to train an employee, create a training program. The solution isn’t to find an employee with 10 plus years, on their way out to retire to fill in an entry level position. The company should invest in a fresh batch of people, ready and willing to learn. Finding the seemingly “easy way” by hiring an experienced employee for an entry level position will have immediate relief but will not benefit the company in the long run. The most frustrating, degrading, and embarrassing moment was when I was called out on my work performance, not in a private office or conference room, but out in the open where all of my cubicle neighbors witnessed. I’m not assuming my cubicle neighbors heard what my manager said to me, I know they heard. I know this because my neighbor IM’ed me through the company computer, saying, “Hang in there, it’ll get easier.” I would wake up miserable knowing I had to get ready to go to work. My last weeks of employment were disrupting my mental sanity. This is a great company to work for. My comments to improve the company: don’t play favorites, create a training system/program, invest in your entry level employees just as much as your senior employees and don’t go overboard on the workload.

    Continue reading
    Woodruff Sawyer2019-06-30
  3. "Proud of working for Woodruff Sawyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The People, Flexible Work Schedules, Benefits, and My Team.

    Cons

    Growing pains due to growth. But, that’s actually a great problem to have.

    Woodruff Sawyer2019-06-28
  4. "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    there is a lot of pros

    Cons

    Not a lot of cons

    Woodruff Sawyer2019-06-24
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Reassess the leadership team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time

    Pros

    Some employees have every other Friday off

    Cons

    High turnover Low morale Favoritism No diversity Compensation is not competitive No annual employee survey No clear career growth path No accountability from the leadership team

    Continue reading
    Woodruff Sawyer2019-06-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Friendly coworkers, tedious work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Service Team in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Woodruff Sawyer full-time

    Pros

    Every other Friday off Coworkers are friendly and are open to collaborating (for the most part) Management is super approachable Work is easy Convenient location in San Francisco

    Cons

    Salary is low compared to other brokerages and is not worth the amount of work you have to do Your workload is highly dependent on which team you work in. Work was tedious and there was a high volume of it (answering the same types of emails over and over again, filling in excel templates, scanning documents, etc.) If you are a new hire, especially if you are a recent college grad, you will be constantly told how lucky you are to be in your role and in this company (probably to distract you from the fact that you have a low salary) Though I doubt everyone experiences this but a member of the IT team would constantly make advances at younger women (asking these women out to coffee or smoothies, to go on a walk with him, or even for their phone numbers). This person would still make advances despite being told no. Though it might be tough for management to take action about this, the company should emphasize the importance of remaining professional and ensure that their employees feel safe. On the plus side, this IT person would immediately respond to your IT requests if you happen to be one of these unfortunate women.

    Continue reading
    Woodruff Sawyer2019-06-19

    Woodruff Sawyer Response

    July 1, 2019AVP, Recruiting

    Woodruff Sawyer does not tolerate this type of behavior when we know about it. I would encourage you to reach out to me, Kathy Kane, the Chief HR Officer, for a private and confidential conversation and I assure you that I will follow through on this. My email is KKane@woodruffsawyer.com. You can also call the main WS phone at 415-391-2141 and ask to be put through to my office.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great Company to Work For!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative, great company culture, great room for growth.

    Cons

    Can be busy during open enrollment, but thats the nature of the business!

    Woodruff Sawyer2019-04-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible Team focused on Clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unparalleled group of intelligent and hard-working people. Entirely client service focused which is the major differentiation in why people choose to do business with Woodruff. Flexible work-life balance and great opportunity for long-term wealth creation given the ability to become a shareholder. Love the CEO and Leadership team.

    Cons

    Office environment at HQ could use modernizing to encourage collaboration.

    Continue reading
    Woodruff Sawyer2019-03-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great team, Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Coordinator Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Range of different projects to work on provides great experience as an intern; I work with the Retirement Services Team in Benefits, and I have a wealth of knowledge I can access from all my team members

    Cons

    No complaints, I love the time I've spent with WS so far

    Woodruff Sawyer2019-02-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "WS: a hidden gem in our industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and leadership throughout the organization.

    Cons

    Just like our industry, WS is evolving and change can be difficult. I see it as necessary to continue to compete.

    Continue reading
    Woodruff Sawyer2019-02-07
Found 88 reviews