William Hill Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

William Hill Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
35%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
William Hill CEO Ulrik Begntsson
Ulrik Begntsson
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working hours between shop staff(in 45 reviews)

  • "Generally flexible working hours, may vary by location/shops needs(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, at times agressive customers(in 94 reviews)

  • "Shifts were not very flexible so there isn’t a good work-life balance(in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "william hill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at William Hill

    Pros

    Interesting at times Easy work Sit in a chair all day Can smoke alot Get tips somestimes although they usually lose

    Cons

    Very boring Little opportunity for development Ideas no recognised Essentially a robot blah blah blah Fill up the words rah rah

    Advice to Management

    Your staff are robots Stop treatnig your staff like poo Get me out of here I want to kill myself on a daily basis

    William Hill2010-12-01
  2. "Not the best gaming company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at William Hill full-time

    Pros

    Not many, the money is ok

    Cons

    Horrible working atmosphere, morale is not good. Lots of gossip / backstabbing. Depressing.

    William Hill2019-12-10
  3. "Promotion and content executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Promotion and Content Executive in Sliema
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at William Hill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very proactive and efficient environment

    Cons

    At the moment no cons of working at whilliam hill

    William Hill2019-12-10
  4. "Walking the talk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Gibraltar
    Recommends

    I have been working at William Hill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    William Hill invests highly on HR and company culture - from my experience, unlike other companies - they walk the talk. A lot of career progression opportunities. I can see myself working here for years to come.

    Cons

    So far there have been none that I could find. They really encourage you to take action if there's anything that you'd change.

    Advice to Management

    You're doing it how it's done.

    William Hill2019-12-09
  5. "Needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CEA in Northampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at William Hill part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great rapor develops between staff and customers

    Cons

    No longer appreciates the imput of staff and colleagues

    William Hill2019-12-08
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Learning Support Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at William Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lovely place. Great friendly staff

    Cons

    Long hours. Lots of expectation

    William Hill2019-12-02
  7. "William hill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at William Hill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed Enlightening Can be challenging

    Cons

    Over entitled BPM’s Will talk about rules but will never follow them

    Advice to Management

    Try to think about your workers & not yourselves

    William Hill2019-12-03
  8. "Good communication with positions above"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Manager in Holborn, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at William Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary in terms of efforts and responsabilities and flexibility with the shifts.

    Cons

    The cons are based depending on the area where you are located.

    Advice to Management

    In the first days there is too much information to learn in a short period of time.

    William Hill2019-11-18
  9. "BPM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Performance Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at William Hill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company did me extremely well for the most part of my career with them. No major complaints until recently

    Cons

    Change management is not a strong suit

    William Hill2019-11-19
  10. "Horrendous Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CEA in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at William Hill part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great co-workers and customers.

    Cons

    Single manning, no progression, unsociable hours, working in an empty shop. Alcoholics, drug addicts and of course gambling addicts become hostile relatively easily. Junkies using toilets for heroin and management telling us it's our problem and we need to buy a replacement key ourselves.

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff with respect and your staff turnover won't be so ridiculous, pay fair wages for the psychological pressure this job creates.

    William Hill2019-12-03
Found 906 reviews