Walt Disney Company "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Walt Disney Company Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated 23 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Walt Disney Company President, CEO, and Director Bob Iger
Bob Iger
2,254 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes you get very long hours(in 257 reviews)

  • "Salary not high for full time employees(in 142 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Advantageous for Career Growth, Even if Your Role is Temporary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Digital Media Manager in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walt Disney Company for more than a year

    Pros

    - It's great to have the industry leader on your resume - Remote work is part of the culture - Comfortable facilities - Good tools and capable co-workers - Culture is very positive and professional

    Cons

    - There are very few opportunities to become a full-time employee, because most of the workers the company "hires" are contingent (e.g., project hires, contractors, consultants or 3rd party vendors) - There is a noticeable cultural hierarchy between the different types of workers - Often a slow pace working environment with a lot of people abusing "working" from home and sick days

    Walt Disney Company2019-12-23
  2. "Magical experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walt Disney Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture, love the perks and happy to work everyday

    Cons

    Salary not high for full time employees

    Walt Disney Company2019-11-18
  3. "Great experience, more analytics than coding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Web Designer and Data Analyst in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walt Disney Company for less than a year

    Pros

    -great pay -great team -great environment -the managers are very supportive

    Cons

    -full time only -not super web dev, a lot more analytics

    Advice to Management

    Management is great, very understanding, very friendly, however there are too many hoops to jump through to get an intern involved in tackling bugs etc

    Walt Disney Company2019-10-22
  4. "Nice company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - QA Engineer in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walt Disney Company for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Career growth

    Cons

    18 months contract . No full time conversion

    Walt Disney Company2019-09-10
  5. "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walt Disney Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy work that requires no thought

    Cons

    Run and run far.. no upper advancement, crappy hours, 30 hours is full time

    Walt Disney Company2019-10-11
  6. "Great place and environment to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Programmer Analyst in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walt Disney Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Always had something to do

    Cons

    Low chance of moving to full time

    Walt Disney Company2019-09-17
  7. "Fantastic experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cast Member 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walt Disney Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible company to work for, training was exceptional and the perks are fantastic

    Cons

    many full time workers have concerns with being paid minimum wage

    Walt Disney Company2019-08-27
  8. "Disney Interactive: a startup within a juggernaut is a weird lane to live in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Video Operations Intern 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walt Disney Company

    Pros

    - Everyone is open to having coffee/1:1s with interns. Take advantage of that access! - I did real work that I could point to and show - Several intern networking events like getting to go to Disneyland after hours - Lots of on-campus events like weekly lunches and mini celebrations for big movie releases - Free snacks and drinks. Saved a lot of money not having to buy my own fruit and protein bars.

    Cons

    - My department was highly bureaucratic and, at times, cutthroat. The interns were shielded from that, but it's weird watching a bunch of "big shots" take big shots at each other to get ahead - They gave me way more responsibility than any intern should have. I was making important business decisions that were definitely not mine to make because my supervisor didn't know how to do their job, let alone knew anything about what I was doing. It worked out for me, but I'm putting this in the Con category because leadership really shouldn't be relying on interns to do mid-manager level work. - They made the interns do this huge group project as we were nearing the end of our contract. Many of us believed it would be the only chance we had to get hired full time. We busted our butts and were all let go. Then leadership took our project and turned a profit from it and didn't credit us. So there's that...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe stop chasing trends and titles long enough to cultivate the strong talent you're supervising

    Walt Disney Company2019-08-23
  9. "The role as a Bus Driver at the parks at Walt Disney World"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bus Driver in Lake Buena Vista, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walt Disney Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work, once you get the hang of it. A somewhat helpful union. Gain experience handling customers (called "guests", at WDW). A number of free admissions to the parks for friends and family, where that is usually the number one reason to work there. Bus drivers also get paid half way decently, as hourly jobs go at WDW, more than other roles, such as being a security guard. The Bus driver position is also about the easiest job at WDW (once you get the hang of it), and it is the easiest job to get too!!!

    Show More

    Cons

    One works late hours in the the part time position. Full time can be booked 6 days a week. It is very hard, almost impossible to get a day off, unless you trade or give away your shift, which oftentimes with a little effort isn't too difficult to do. Some managers are are "by the book" and will scare you by being pulled in if a customer (a "guest" at Disney) complains about you. However, the Union does a half way decent job of protecting you, so do sign up for the Union if you decide to work there! If you have good people skills, you should be okay, and is a cinch. If you don't, don't worry, you will develop these in time. Another big hassle is their new 5 minute clock in, clock out time constraint with their point system. That can take some getting used to, if you haven't worked in that kind of environment. You get half a point for being even just a little outside that 5 minute window, and you cannot get more than 3 points every 3 months, or you get a reprimand. I think you can only get 2 reprimands, and on the 3rd, they let you go. You also do not want to have a "signal 4", which is running into something. You can only have 2 of those, and on the 3rd, they let you go.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Golly, can you be more considerate by not sending out bus drivers so close to their time to clock out, so you have to go through all the terrible hassle to avoid getting a half point?

    Walt Disney Company2019-08-23
  10. "Management Abuses Power"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Disney College Program in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walt Disney Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Free admission to parks, access to cast member events in parks, small discounts on merchandise

    Cons

    Awful management in food service - most "leaders" do not even have a clue as to how to manage their cast members. Being a CP is difficult enough with this, but being a full time cast member looks worse. Pay is low enough that food is difficult to purchase, along with rent and car payments, PLUS 10-12 hour shifts. The college program is said to benefit everyone because it "looks good" to work for Disney, but the company itself does not even help you with career resources, unless of course you want to just remain a park worker for 10 years.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    RESPECT your cast members more than you do now! You were one once before, you should understand what it's like to barely afford food and rent money.

    Walt Disney Company2019-09-12
Found 142 reviews