Walgreens Boots Alliance Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Walgreens Boots Alliance Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
36%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Walgreens Boots Alliance Executive Chairman Stefano Pessina
Stefano Pessina
121 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They wanted to perform tasks that were not for a pharmacist(in 15 reviews)

  • "No equal opportunities /work life balance(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Pharmacist in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good rota Staff training Holiday entitlement

    Cons

    In store staff politics Was not allowed to move location

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2020-01-04
  2. "Customer Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time

    Pros

    Lovely staff, good benefits for the work you do

    Cons

    Not enough training given to staff to provide a good enough service

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2020-01-16
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time

    Pros

    Really good working hours here

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-10-24
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very good benefits, reasonably generous bonus system, good training. Huge head office is very easy to work in and lots of really good facilities.

    Cons

    Nothing really, I very much enjoyed working there. Progression in some aspects of the business is poor.

    Advice to Management

    Look after the good staff you already have. Be proactive in creating opportunities for growth and development and determine whether or not all of your roles have progression out of them. If not, consider why and what you can do to fix it.

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-09-28
  5. "Fair but expect to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time

    Pros

    Fair, well structured, hard work is recognised

    Cons

    Hours can be long at busy times

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-08-15
  6. "Ops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You get benefits like discount card

    Cons

    No equal opportunities /work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Always stand by your words and give equality and work/life balance

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-06-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Dodgy Corporate Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacist in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Salary Not much else Discount Good secure city centre location

    Cons

    Contradictions between written and verbal communications. Pressure to hit sometimes arbitrary targets bordering on bullying.

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-05-22
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens Boots Alliance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No pros at all even their discount is cheap students get the same

    Cons

    Terrible place to work in no staff & negative area manager with unrealistic demands

    Advice to Management

    Lift the ban on taking staff on & realize your managers are over worked & very stressed

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2019-04-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Deeply upset former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens Boots Alliance for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best thing about my job was my work colleagues who were fantastic,loyal,friendly,hardworking.I don't miss the stressed work environment however.

    Cons

    Too much responsibility expected of staff,unrealistic targets,overworked,underpayed,dubious management techniques,no matter what you did it was never enough.Given out to in front of customers made to feel belittled on a daily basis.I left because I nearly had a mental breakdown(all work stress related)

    Advice to Management

    Try treating staff with some respect and decency for starters.Care for colleagues and customers,I felt the only thing boots care for are profits,targets etc..

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2017-01-21
  10. "Pressured Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens Boots Alliance

    Pros

    Great training, great network of colleagues when advice needed. Employee discount and yearly bonus also. Opportunities to work in other stores.

    Cons

    Too much emphasis on targets with the aim to increase dispensed items and introduce many new services but lack of staff to cope with demand, constant sense of pressure.

    Advice to Management

    Reassess staffing levels, some managers do not seem to realise the impact lack of staff can have on patient safety, places huge pressure on existing staff.

    Walgreens Boots Alliance2016-05-11
Found 303 reviews