Wag Hotels Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Wag Hotels Reviews

Updated 24 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Wag Hotels CEO & Board Member David Appel (no image)
David Appel
37 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Favorite Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ADP Shift Lead in West Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wag Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers Autonomy/Independence Ability to move up if show hard work Dogs and Cats Putting owners at ease their dog is well taken care of Learning about dogs/behavior/nutrition/training EVENTS Charlotte Amber and Nicole are amazing managers to work for, open, caring, empathetic, strong, stern, fair, friendly and fun! Awesome people to work for. GIRL POWER

    Cons

    turn over rate is high, some coworkers only complain and ruin morale.

    Advice to Management

    disregard all the flack and gossip and complaints. your employees have no idea how hard you guys are working behind the scenes, 24/7. I deeply admire the passion and dedication.

    Wag Hotels2019-03-18
  2. "A great place for people passionate about the care of animals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wag Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with dogs and cat every single day. You see most of the same pups and owners on a daily basis. You build a bond with each pet as well as their owner that goes past just the job.

    Cons

    Things do not last forever. Pets you know for years pass, pets move away and staff move on to new things. You definitely experience change every now and again. But there's always a new pet waiting to walk in and bond with you.

    Advice to Management

    I have always felt like management puts the well being and needs of the pets in their care first. My advice would be to keep on doing that.

    Wag Hotels2019-02-05
  3. "For the Love of Pets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wag Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are passionate about pets, great fast paced environment. Love the atmosphere!

    Cons

    It is a lot of hard work

    Wag Hotels2019-02-05
  4. "Great Team Atmosphere!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wag Hotels full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people genuinely love being here and working together. There is support and opportunities if you apply yourself and show initiative. Your voice is heard. We always look to take care of all the dogs that come in and have many different programs so there is usually one that fits.

    Cons

    That being said, we can't always say yes to every pup that comes our way, just for safety reasons. We really strive to be able to provide safe and humane care for all our Guests and it's unfortunate when we are unable to and need to send them home.

    Wag Hotels2019-01-30
  5. "Dogs come first, employees are a close second!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wag Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, Safety, Wages, Benefits, Corporate Support, Leadership

    Cons

    Working 12 hour days during Holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Be careful not to trade quality customer service for quantity of sales.

    Wag Hotels2019-01-27
  6. "Santa Clara is the best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wag Hotels part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    get to see dogs everyday Team is awesome Mangers are helpful Flexible hours Great pay Clients are good

    Cons

    Dogs bark a lot dogs sometimes poops and pee in the lobby

    Advice to Management

    No advice, Bridget and her team are great, she makes sure that we are doing things right.

    Wag Hotels2019-01-24
  7. "If you love to work with dogs, this is the place to be at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wag Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great steady schedules. Opportunity to grow and be trained in every aspect. You get to care for and play with amazing dogs! It feels like a family here! It's very organized here, as well.

    Cons

    I honestly do not have any problems, and would recommend this job to someone in a heart beat!

    Advice to Management

    Be better at correcting employees who need it. If there have been several complaints about someone because they are being lazy, they should be spoken to. These dogs are in our care. We need to make sure we have people who actually want to be here and actually care about their job.

    Wag Hotels2019-01-24
  8. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wag Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Top quality care for guests and clients, close interaction with management and corporate team, fun and positive environment to work in.

    Cons

    No cons come to mind

    Wag Hotels2019-01-24
  9. "Working with Dogs what's not to love!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wag Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Getting to interact with all breeds of dogs during the check in process and building that relationship with the dog(s) and clients. On Puppy Social days I get to see all the new puppies come through which are potential future clients.

    Cons

    It can be a little hectic at times especially during the holidays with all the check ins and outs but that is too be expected, but it can be overwhelming at times. Being blamed for things outside of our control like illness or injuries.

    Advice to Management

    Be more present and available and give reviews/raises in a timely manner.

    Wag Hotels2019-01-24
  10. "Best Job Ever!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wag Hotels part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Literally the best job I've ever had, my managers are so caring and helpful and they don't just sit in their office like some bosses, Their up and running around and helping out where ever need be. On top of excellent management, my coworkers are amazing, everyone is so nice and helpful, and willing to be apart of a real team. During my interview, it was mentioned that it's like a little family here and I honestly get that vibe everyday, so glad I became apart of this fam.

    Show More

    Cons

    Can't even think of any.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! You've build an excellent team.

    Wag Hotels2019-01-24
Found 82 reviews